Smith Protective Services Reviews | Glassdoor

Smith Protective Services Reviews

Updated Apr 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Smith Protective Services CEO Clayton J. Smith (no image)
Clayton J. Smith
7 Ratings
  1. "Doormat"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Smith Protective Services

    Pros

    Lot of hours site jobs easy enough

    Cons

    They do with you what they want treat you like a doormat

    Continue reading
    Smith Protective Services2016-11-09
  2. "Ok for short period"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Armed Security Guard in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Smith Protective Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some people are great others are rude. *front desk especially rude at times* very flexible with home life situations. Management is very nice as long as you're pleasant.

    Cons

    Banks are horrible. And pay is low. What you make when you start is nearly the same as what you make when you leave. And that's not very much. Virtually no room to expand your career here which really sucks. More of a first time job for older teens young adults and seniors.

    Continue reading
    Smith Protective Services2016-07-15
  3. "machinist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Lathe Operator, Pipe Inspector in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Smith Protective Services for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Job security and a pleasant work environment. This company has good bosses and benefits. Always has work. Nice city the job is in.

    Cons

    The pay is not the best. The pay is not the equivalent to other companies in the industry. The shop is not air conditioned and the fans that are used leave something to be desired.

    Continue reading
    Smith Protective Services2016-07-10
  4. "Attitudes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Commission Officer in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Smith Protective Services part-time

    Pros

    Direct deposit is the only

    Cons

    Attitudes,treat you like u beneath them,discrimination, and quick to fire you over anything as little as not wearing a seatbelt.

    Continue reading
    Smith Protective Services2016-05-23
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Needs new mgmt and employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Dispatcher in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Smith Protective Services full-time

    Pros

    I would have to say some of the people you work with

    Cons

    No pay raise, discrimination, harrassment, etc

    Continue reading
    Smith Protective Services2016-02-17
  6. "Great job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends

    I have been working at Smith Protective Services

    Pros

    Awesome experience as a security guard.

    Cons

    There's no downside to working at smith protective services.

    Smith Protective Services2015-07-11
  7. "So long as you have a pulse, Rent-a-Cop..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Officer in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Smith Protective Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Smith wasn't too bad honestly. Pretty tough to get fired from the company, just show up on time and have a pulse. Almost always work alone with no supervision. Not physical or mentally taxing, not really work. Typically a lot of down time. Pay isn't great, but they do offer more than minimum wage with overtime in a lot of cases. Also do a pretty good job of trying to find a post to suit your needs. Uniforms are provided and I never noticed any payroll deductions for them. If a situation should arise, dispatch responds fairly quickly in sending back up patrol units and local law enforcement if necessary.

    Cons

    Paychecks have to be picked up at the Smith office, direct deposit isn't offered. Mostly low wages. Serious lack of upward mobility. Gets pretty boring depending on the post. If you're working at a post and the contract comes to an end, could be a while before you're put to work again somewhere else. Posts can often be a good driving distance from your home. The badge they give you is plastic and looks like it could be purchased at a dollar store, and gives you no authority. Little to no respect from the general public. Expect to be called "rent-a-cop" and things of that nature.

    Continue reading
    Smith Protective Services2014-08-16
  8. "Unthinking and short sighted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Officer in Fort Worth, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Smith Protective Services part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great for part time employment. Need a second job and extra spending cash? This place is great for that.

    Cons

    Not to give too many details - since I still pick up shifts here and there. Looking for stable work conditions, appreciation for what you do, respect, or rational thought? You WON'T find it here. I can only speak for the Fort Worth office, to be fair. I've worked for this company for over 3 years and during most of that time I would have rated it a 4, however I learned that the only reason for THAT is because I had VERY limited contact with the office personnel. I picked up a vehicle from the office AFTER it had closed and turned it and my paper work in BEFORE it opened. I almost never spoke to or saw these folks. Pay depends on the post. They are short sighted, unorganized, and tend to drive good officers away and burn bridges. Understand that in their eyes, you're a screw up waiting to happen and they will treat you as such. Their problems mean everything and yours mean nothing. You're a replaceable cog. They offer vacation pay however if you request it they send you a check for a weeks pay AROUND the time of your hire date. So if you take a vacation in, say, May but you were hired in September you won't get your vacation pay until September. They do not tell you this.

    Continue reading
    Smith Protective Services2014-07-05
  9. "Smith Protective Services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Officer in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Smith Protective Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Being fired is next impossible unless you commit a felony or are the cause for loss of a client account. All the joy of working in a professional dicipline without any application of professionalism.

    Cons

    The Operations Manager is responsible for dicipline of hundreds of Security Officers in the Houston Office (no way he can do this). Your pay check will be held until you report to the Operations Manager for discipline. There is no direct deposit of paychecks. There is no real chance for rebuttal if you are accused of wrong. You are unlikely to be promoted. Your pay may eventually be cut without reason. To make sure you have not left the job site you have to call in to dispatch by phone once per hour. They say they have medical insurance but never show you any enrollment forms or information despite asking for years. If there is an issue the employee gets positive feedback from managment but nothing ever happens. The most embarassing Security company I ever worked for!

    Continue reading
    Smith Protective Services2013-07-19
  10. "Smith Protective - limited view"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Unarmed Security Officer in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Smith Protective Services part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you can get the 12 hour shifts and don't mind working nights its great. Leaves the rest of the week open to do any number of other things. If you get a patrol post and actually show them you can and will do your job they leave you alone to do it. I've heard a lot of horror stories from other guards and I've run across a patrol supervisor or two who have been less than ideal to deal with however from the post I've worked I have few complaints.

    Cons

    On the website they advertise having paid vacations, vision, and dental plans as well as 401k plans. If they have these there well hidden and not for the regular officers. Also when you first start make sure you know what you are getting paid and get it in writing. Some times the office manager will promise one rate but you'll find something very different when you get your check. I got my situation resolved however it raised a red flag. Just be aware its a possibility.

    Continue reading
    Smith Protective Services2012-08-03
Found 20 reviews