Smith.ai Reviews

Updated May 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.5
87%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Smith.ai CoFounder Aaron Lee (no image)
Aaron Lee
32 Ratings
  1. "A great innovative company to work for!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Receptionist in Enterprise, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Smith.ai full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The atmosphere is fun, friendly, and upbeat. There are plenty of opportunities for growth. Management is great and they show genuine care for their employees. I feel like I actually matter as a person and I'm not just another number in the ranks. Feedback is always welcomed and often taken into consideration when making improvements within the company. Aaron and Justin are great and they truly care about the team.

    Cons

    Sometimes the job can be fast-paced but it is not difficult. You have to be alert and pay attention to posted documentation because things are constantly changing to maintain the best service possible for our Pros.

    Continue reading
    Smith.ai2020-05-25
  2. "Great Job to Have"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Receptionist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Smith.ai full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very flexible, work from home, management is usually really good

    Cons

    It's really busy and can be overwhelming

    Continue reading
    Smith.ai2020-05-19
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Best Work From Home Job"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Virtual Receptionist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Smith.ai part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    working from home, family culture, flexible hours,

    Cons

    honestly, I can't really think of any...

    Continue reading
    Smith.ai2020-05-12
  4. "One of the best companies out there"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Receptionist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Smith.ai part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun, Family, Understanding, Easy, and Amazing

    Cons

    Absolutely no cons for this job.

    Continue reading
    Smith.ai2020-05-03
  5. "I would not recommend working for this company"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Virtual Receptionist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Smith.ai part-time

    Pros

    -The opportunity to work from home.

    Cons

    -There were more cons than I have time to list.

    Smith.ai2020-05-14
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Virtual receptionist"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Virtual Receptionist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Smith.ai part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work from home; variety of shift options

    Cons

    Complete disorganization of management; illegal work practices; clique mentality among supervisors and their favorites; lazy management staff

    Continue reading
    Smith.ai2020-05-08

    Smith.ai Response

    May 11, 2020Founder, CEO

    I am sorry you feel your time with us was not rewarding. While we do take your feedback seriously, I will be addressing several statements that are untrue. To start, we do not show favoritism to our staff and try our best to apply all policies consistently, no matter what their role is with us. We hire from within the company for our specialized roles and do so based on experience, quality of work, and drive. There are a lot of moving parts behind the scenes that many people do not get to see, and they often don’t realize how hard others are working to ensure the company is running smoothly. We are very thankful for everyone on our team, and we rely on everyone to do their part. Per our policy, we require that you be prepared to start your shift at the scheduled time. In order to be prepared, you must test your equipment to ensure that it is all functioning properly. We do not require you to begin working 10 minutes early, just that you test it early enough to fix any problems that you encounter. This is no different than any other job in ensuring that you are ready to begin your shift promptly at the scheduled time. The 10 minute recommendation was created after, in our early days, receptionists would show up for shifts 1 minute before only to find out their internet wasn’t working or their computer was in the middle of an update. This is our way of recommending, “Hey, check the gas tank before you drive to work.” In regards to the comments about breaks, our policy is to staff for a maximum of 5 consecutive hours before taking a mandatory 30-minute (or longer) unpaid meal period. Because our staff is spread across North America, we follow the strictest state's regulation: no more than 5 consecutive hours worked at a time without a meal break. We also provide our staff with scheduled, 10-minute paid breaks for every 2 consecutive hours worked. We would love the opportunity to discuss your concerns further to ensure we address them properly. I’m sorry that we only heard about your concerns through this review, but as we see no record of any of these concerns being voiced to any managers prior to your departure, we think that this may have been a bad fit for both you and the company.

  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great work environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Virtual Receptionist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Smith.ai part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work from home, great work environment, friendly and helpful coworkers and management, schedule accommodating

    Cons

    None. I absolutely love working with Smith.Ai

    Continue reading
    Smith.ai2020-03-15
  8. "Easy money"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Receptionist in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Smith.ai part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Easy money to make.

    Cons

    No cons. You’re working from home doing something very easy. Don’t rely on this job as your main income.

    Smith.ai2020-03-02
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Smith.Ai Is The Best Company Ever!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Receptionist in Greenville, SC
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Smith.ai part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is very welcoming and friendly. From my initial interview down to my training. Everyone went over and beyond. They want to see you succeed. It is a big family!

    Cons

    I wish the pay was a little bit more.

    Smith.ai2020-02-01
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Everyone actually cares about you."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Receptionist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Smith.ai full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The amazing communication, the sense of being a part of a team, the feeling that my voice matters, the openness and honesty from all directions, the feedback and recognition. I've had a lot of jobs, and been in a lot of places where I was another number or another disposable piece. Here, I feel like a person who matters to the team. The lines of communication are always open, and the management is absolutely amazing. When mistakes happen, it's acknowledged and a plan of action is put in place. Feedback is welcomed and encouraged on every level, and it feels like it actually matters, rather than the lip service or some stock answer to brush off the issue. I have never seen such active CEOs. Justin and Aaron are always a visible presence. And not in the scary way. They don't disappear and ignore concerns; they are out and about paying attention to their company and listening when their employees talk! Support is plentiful and anyone can raise their voice with questions, comments, and concerns, from the newest people to the oldest veterans. And most importantly, they are on our side, and they actually mean it. If one of the clients says you did well, you get to hear about it. If one of the clients lays into you, they come to bat for you. Everyone helps everyone else.

    Cons

    You start out contracted through Upwork, and get paid a flat $100 for the first week of training. As long as you're in the US, you can move to being a regular hourly employee, but outside the US you remain a freelancer. Changes come very, very often, and you need to be flexible and able to adapt. Work is also fast paced. On busy days there can be back-to-back calls, some with needs more complicated than others. It can have the usual stresses of customer service, with upset or confusing callers. Since it's a small company, there's not much in the way of extensive benefits. The basics are covered, but there's no PTO. Most federal holidays are days off, but without pay. You're expected to supply your own equipment and troubleshoot your own technical issues, and you do not get paid for time troubleshooting.

    Continue reading
    Smith.ai2020-01-03
Found 36 reviews