Smith.ai Reviews

Updated Apr 27, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
85%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Smith.ai CoFounder Aaron Lee (no image)
Aaron Lee
42 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work from home has been a blessing during covid 19(in 17 reviews)

  • "There is a lot of opportunities for growth within the company and feedback is encouraged(in 5 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "You’re working from home doing something very easy(in 5 reviews)

  • "The work environment is fast paced, if you do not work well under pressure, you likely will not be a good fit(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Company Great Atmosphere

      Feb 22, 2021 - Virtual Receptionist in Dothan, AL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The teamwork is amazing. The environment is relaxed.

      Cons

      You work remotely so you'll probably never meet your awesome coworkers in person.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      A company still in beta it seems...

      Apr 8, 2021 - Virtual Receptionist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work from home Convenience of no commute

      Cons

      Rushed training Pay is pretty low No pay unless you pass the first werk

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Dec 1, 2020 - Virtual Receptionist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Working from home -Flexible schedule - Friendly co-workers and environment -Management is involved and easy to talk to -Opportunities for growth -Company continues to improve and grow. Ahead of the curve in this current climate, where more companies are looking to remote employment.

      Cons

      -The pay. Most work from home jobs offer more to start. More is expected from us than we are compensated for in my opinion. Bonuses and raises are available but that doesn't do much when you start out at $10/hr. I overlook this fault by considering it a trade-off for convenience and flexibility. Offering better pay may encourage productivity, better attendance, and retain better employees. -Overwhelmingly busy most of the time. If you can't handle back to back calls, don't bother. -Call outs, lots of call outs. Contributing to the previous listed Con.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      I love this place

      Jan 27, 2021 - Receptionist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working from the comfort of your own home. The employees and management are really friendly. The path to grow at Smith is laid out clearly and opportunities arise all of the time.

      Cons

      I wish I had more hours.

      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Company needs some work

      Jan 13, 2021 - Receptionist in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work from home and consistent paycheck.

      Cons

      Typical company that is outsourcing overseas for cheap labor. Management is a joke. When you give them information on someone stealing company time with proof they shrug it off or say they have to do "research" and then you end up being the one hauled into meetings with bogus claims of doing something wrong. When you try to defend yourself they just make up excuses but you can tell that they are grasping for straws to make you be quiet about the real issues. If you argue too much they usually admit it but say they just have to follow protocol for complaints. They say "well they are cheap labor so they get away with more." Funny they can't follow protocol when they have actual proof of stealing. They are also losing business at rapid paces but when you bring them suggestions to help you again get the "research" line when you know they aren't going to do anything about it. There has been research for months on certain things that would take 5 min to fix.

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      I recommend applying

      Sep 30, 2020 - Virtual Receptionist in Yorktown, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Training is paid and involved enough that you really get an idea of the expectations of the job. The pay is good. My coworkers are welcoming and helpful. Each call has clear instructions that you always have access to, and you have plenty of training on how to field calls that don't apply to those instructions for whatever reason. Support is just a message away. The owners are personable and I've never had a bad experience with any of my supervisors or colleagues. Most importantly for me, no one expects you to break your back for the company.

      Cons

      If you have a lot of noise pollution in your home or surrounding areas, it may be hard to do this job. A solid and reliable internet connection and a computer that can run the server, as well as a private place to work, are requirements.

      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      I work at Smith

      Jan 12, 2021 - Virtual Receptionist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible Work from the comfort of your own home. Super friendly co-workers. Your work-life balance is great when you work 4 hours a day!

      Cons

      The high call volume for months due to mass numbers of receptionist calling out (but that's job security).

      4 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Virtual receptionist

      May 8, 2020 - Virtual Receptionist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work from home; variety of shift options

      Cons

      Complete disorganization of management; illegal work practices; clique mentality among supervisors and their favorites; lazy management staff

      Continue reading
      16 people found this review helpful

      Smith.ai Response

      Founder, CEO

      I am sorry you feel your time with us was not rewarding. While we do take your feedback seriously, I will be addressing several statements that are untrue. To start, we do not show favoritism to our staff and try our best to apply all policies consistently, no matter what their role is with us. We hire from within the company for our specialized roles and do so based on experience, quality of work, and drive. There are a lot of moving parts behind the scenes that many people do not get to see, and they often don’t realize how hard others are working to ensure the company is running smoothly. We are very thankful for everyone on our team, and we rely on everyone to do their part. Per our policy, we require that you be prepared to start your shift at the scheduled time. In order to be prepared, you must test your equipment to ensure that it is all functioning properly. We do not require you to begin working 10 minutes early, just that you test it early enough to fix any problems that you encounter. This is no different than any other job in ensuring that you are ready to begin your shift promptly at the scheduled time. The 10 minute recommendation was created after, in our early days, receptionists would show up for shifts 1 minute before only to find out their internet wasn’t working or their computer was in the middle of an update. This is our way of recommending, “Hey, check the gas tank before you drive to work.” In regards to the comments about breaks, our policy is to staff for a maximum of 5 consecutive hours before taking a mandatory 30-minute (or longer) unpaid meal period. Because our staff is spread across North America, we follow the strictest state's regulation: no more than 5 consecutive hours worked at a time without a meal break. We also provide our staff with scheduled, 10-minute paid breaks for every 2 consecutive hours worked. We would love the opportunity to discuss your concerns further to ensure we address them properly. I’m sorry that we only heard about your concerns through this review, but as we see no record of any of these concerns being voiced to any managers prior to your departure, we think that this may have been a bad fit for both you and the company.

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Awesome Work From Home Job

      Nov 3, 2020 - Virtual Receptionist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible schedule, part-time and full-time availability, always opportunities for growth, supportive management and co-workers, option to work holidays, decent pay

      Cons

      Back to back calls can be a little overwhelming, but it doesn't happen too often

      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Nice company

      Nov 21, 2020 - Receptionist in Glendale, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly environment easy job and caring

      Cons

      There are no cons with this company

      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 51 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Smith.ai Job Seekers

    Virtual Receptionist
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Customer Service Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Work At Home Telephone Customer Service Representative
    Learn About the Job
    At Home Customer Service Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Work At Home Customer Service Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Smith.ai? Share Your Experiences

    Smith.ai logo
    or