SmithBucklin Reviews

Updated Apr 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.6
35%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
SmithBucklin CEO Matt Sanderson
Matt Sanderson
70 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great place for a recent graduate to get hired since you get a variety of experience off the bat, especially if you are placed on a good team(in 18 reviews)

  • "Great benefits and exciting fast paced office environment(in 16 reviews)

Cons
  • "Consistently set work-life balance boundaries to maintain your sanity here(in 29 reviews)

  • "Change that - or we we will continue to see high turnover(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Conservative company but getting better"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Washington, DC
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SmithBucklin full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Big company that feels smaller than it is - great leadership and they seem to listen to their employees. Interesting work in association management, and plenty of opportunity to travel, network, and progress. Have made progress catching up to the 21st century when it comes to parental leave.

    Cons

    While they've made progress catching up to the modern world in terms of parental leave, it's still wanting. 30 days paid leave for mothers and 2 weeks paid leave for fathers is not enough. It still places undue burden on the mothers specifically. Health insurance is also insufficient for a family. You'll find yourself deferring care because of cost. I urge leadership to overhaul this structure to attract and retain talent.

    SmithBucklin2019-12-18
  2. "Good learning ground"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Marketing Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SmithBucklin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some senior leaders here are excellent. Many good peers in management. For younger workers this is a good company to gain experience. For mid-level managers and above the slow decision making and cultural politics may be frustrating, but if your client has good leadets it can make all the difference in your work experience here.

    Cons

    Politics (but that exists within a lot of organizations) Slow decision making

    SmithBucklin2020-04-04
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Just skip it, there are better opportunities elsewhere"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coordinator in Chicago, IL
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at SmithBucklin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You’ll learn a lot and quickly

    Cons

    The company culture is abhorrent and the expectation couldn’t be more unrealistic

    Continue reading
    SmithBucklin2020-04-25
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to start out, but the company can improve a lot"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SmithBucklin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place for a recent graduate to get hired since you get a variety of experience off the bat, especially if you are placed on a good team. You also get to meet some pretty great colleagues.

    Cons

    They claim to be making "changes," but these "changes" are very slow to happen because they are not progressive enough. There are many managers and directors that do not know how to manage a team at all. They only look out for themselves and if you overstep them in any way, they are not afraid to toss you off your team. If you care about diversity, this is not the place that has it.

    Continue reading
    SmithBucklin2020-03-26
  5. "Good company to start your career"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Education Coordinator in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SmithBucklin full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Team oriented, gain practical skills

    Cons

    Poor pay scale, poor benefits

    SmithBucklin2020-03-03
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Nothing out of the ordinary."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registration Associate in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SmithBucklin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They offered flexible work accommodations and the location was great.

    Cons

    While they pride themselves on being forward thinking and evolving, all the forward momentum lets a lot of things fall through the cracks. The work culture is stagnant, and associates are often treated like scape goats. Their on-boarding process is trial by fire. Whether it was the busy season or the off season everyone always seems burned out.

    SmithBucklin2020-01-30
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Only Come to Leave Quickly"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant, Retail in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at SmithBucklin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    gain lots of experience, some interesting clients

    Cons

    terrible benefits no balance in work load

    SmithBucklin2020-01-29
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Worst job I’ve ever had"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate - Senior Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at SmithBucklin full-time

    Pros

    Location and office space is nice, lots of new grads so easy to meet people but don’t get too attached because they all leave early

    Cons

    The worst place I’ve ever worked. Can’t even begin to tell you how many Sundays I spent crying thinking about going into work Monday. Regardless of if your role is client facing or internal, you are screwed because management has such unrealistic expectations of you and your ability and yet they are “too busy” to coach you or help you with any type of patience. Because of my lack of experience, I legitimately thought this was how business was run until I left and found a company that treats you like a human being and actually wants you to succeed. They dangle promotions over your head and then give a “raise” that’s a complete joke and border line insult. Once I put my two weeks in, I didn’t even bother to finish a project assigned to me because I felt so angry at this company and I didn’t want to help SmithBucklin anymore, they took so much toll on my mental health. The more time I spend away the better I realize I have it now. My manager was without a doubt the worst part of my experience and I’m so glad they are no longer a part of my professional life.

    Continue reading
    SmithBucklin2020-01-17
  9. Helpful (2)

    "It's okay.."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SmithBucklin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get a lot of experience in a short amount of time. If you're lucky enough to land on a good team, the people are usually pretty nice.

    Cons

    Growth exists but it tends to be very slow moving. The company doesn't offer many perks of working there other than paying your salary on time. This is a place you work at for no more than 2-3 years and then leave for something better... Cause there's definitely something better out there.

    Continue reading
    SmithBucklin2019-11-23
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Glad I am not the only one"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SmithBucklin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Met great people and got great experience that helped in the long run after leaving.

    Cons

    Management does not set up employees for success. They tell employees to speak up regardless of level and the second you speak up, your job is at stake. SmithBucklin has no problem dropping their employees because it is an at will company, so if they don't like you or you don't agree with management, there is a good chance you will get fired for it with a days notice. Finally, there is no diversity at this company if that is something you are looking for.

    Continue reading
    SmithBucklin2019-11-09
Found 237 reviews