SmithBucklin Reviews

Updated Apr 28, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
63%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
SmithBucklin CEO Matt Sanderson
Matt Sanderson
86 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great place for someone to learn many things in a short amount of time(in 20 reviews)

  • "Great benefits and exciting fast paced office environment(in 17 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Consistently set work-life balance boundaries to maintain your sanity here(in 30 reviews)

  • "Company does not care about high turnover rate of its employees(in 16 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Gender

    This rating reflects the overall rating of SmithBucklin and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company

      Apr 8, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Teams are fast-paced but supportive, management genuinely cares about employees, very focused on diversity and inclusion

      Cons

      Because it’s a big company, it can feel disconnected across teams. Overall great company to work for regardless.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Love, love love working here

      Feb 24, 2021 - Manager in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I'm lucky enough to serve on the diversity, equity and inclusion advisory team - called the inCouncil - this was established back in 2017 however we've really picked up momentum in 2020 and 2021. The work we are doing together to enhance our culture and improve our work environment for current and future employees is incredible. It's really transformative. Its disappointing to read reviews that state we're not fast enough or are talking but not acting - I don't agree with that. What I can say is that there is senior leadership commitment to this (CEO, CHRO, EVPs sit on the committee) and we can only move so fast in a large organization. Those who have worked in change management knows that things can't change overnight. I love my work, the culture and what I get to do every day. The people are amazing. I have made great friends here.

      Cons

      When I fist joined the company I wondered about different skills levels as there were managers and executives who weren't performing and there was some favoritism. Toda however things are greatly improved. Client work can be taxing. It's challenging juggling client loads especially with COVID impacting our event strategy. But I don't see much difference between here and what my friends say about their jobs - who isn't tapped out right now?

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Entry Level Job

      Apr 22, 2021 - Senior Operations Associate in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Room for growth -Good Office environment -Opportunity to travel

      Cons

      -Hard to get raises -Managers blame lack of raises on clients budget

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good Experience, Bad Training

      Apr 12, 2021 - Associate Event Planner in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Variety of experiences and ability to learn so many different aspects of the event industry

      Cons

      lack of effective training, thrown in and expected to know what to do without anyone telling you

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Company Culture but Lack of Necessary Staff

      Apr 28, 2021 - Account Manager in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of opportunities for career growth and skill development

      Cons

      High level of burnout and not enough staff to manage workload

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good Experience

      Apr 1, 2021 - Senior Associate in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great experience, nice office, good atmosphere

      Cons

      salary is low, too much work

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      don't waste you time

      Apr 26, 2021 - Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      very friendly and welcoming coworkers

      Cons

      working there is a complete joke, if you have a college degree you are over qualified.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Uncomfortable environment with 80% amazing team members

      Feb 3, 2021 - Senior Coordinator in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There is a lot of #girlboss action in the office. Each floor seems to have at least one of the corner/offices with doors occupied by a woman. Thanks to that, you get an honest perspective on on pay, benefits, the importance of PTO, and the importance of community. I would say that if SmithBucklin weren’t so female-forward it wouldn’t be able to foster the community aspect quite as well. Maternity leave continues to improve as well.

      Cons

      Burn out. An inability for leadership to provide constructive criticism. Incredibly awkward when it comes to race. It seemed like a hard company to be a BIPOC in because of the explicit focus without follow through on diversity, equity, and inclusion.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great place to work

      Mar 5, 2021 - Sales in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great team atmosphere and upper management

      Cons

      Pay could be higher and higher comp plan

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      operations coordinator

      Apr 6, 2021 - Senior Coordinator in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work life balance year round

      Cons

      pay could be better to stay competitive

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 271 Reviews

    Popular Careers with SmithBucklin Job Seekers

    Meeting & Event Manager
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Membership and Operations Associate
    Learn About the Job

    Work at SmithBucklin? Share Your Experiences

    or