SmithGroup Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Engineer

SmithGroup Engineer Reviews

Updated May 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 reviews

5.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Mike Medici
4 Ratings
  1. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Entry Level Civil Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SmithGroup full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People care about your development and want to help you get to your desired career.

    Cons

    I do not have any cons

    SmithGroup2019-04-16
  2. "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SmithGroup full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great opportunities for growth and advancement. Great culture, high energy, hard working employees. Large backlog of work and job security. Fast paced and busy. Strong focus on design excellence and innovation. Strong focus on growth. Good benefits and Fridays off.

    Cons

    Nothing too concerning to mention.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    SmithGroup2017-09-22
  3. "Intermediate Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intermediate Engineer in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SmithGroup full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A lot of opportunities to grow Professional Interviewing process Good work life balance

    Cons

    Every job has its cons, nothing that really stands out

    SmithGroup2017-04-06
  4. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer 

    I have been working at SmithGroup for more than a year

    Pros

    Loved all the different projects and interesting people.

    Cons

    Very corporate, lots of politics, don't bother if you don't like that kind of thing.

    SmithGroup2016-06-17
  5. "Best intro to working at a design firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Civil Engineer Intern in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at SmithGroup

    Pros

    -- The Ann Arbor office is full of great people. It's a big firm, but the office isn't very large: ~40 engineers, planners, landscape architects, and marketing. Super nice people. --Projects varied sufficiently to be interesting. Though I didn't work on a variety of actual projects, the tasks that I was assigned varied widely: working on preliminary design with the civils, concept work with the planners and LA's, post-construction...

    Show More

    Cons

    No complaints as a first internship.

    Advice to Management

    Great summer in Ann Arbor!!

    SmithGroup2016-05-15
  6. "Looks out for the bottom line not employee centiric"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Plumbing Engineer in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at SmithGroup full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None really. They wanted everything status quo, didn't want inovation

    Cons

    Wanted robots. Worked off a perceived cast system

    SmithGroup2014-07-29
  7. "Great People, Collaborative Environment, Not a great industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Ann Arbor, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at SmithGroup full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I liked almost everyone I worked with. The projects I worked on were very cool. The office locations are all in great urban spaces... Ann Arbor MI, Madison WI, DC, and Chicago

    Cons

    The land development industry was hit hard during the recession. Work was scarce, margins were razor thin and morale was down. It was enough to drive me away from the business. This is not the industry to pursue if you are looking for career advancement, good compensation, and a stable work environment.

    Advice to Management

    Implement a better employee training program for young new-hires with a structured Leadership/Professional development track for high potential individuals.

    SmithGroup2012-10-04
  8. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SmithGroup full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Open friendly work environment. Collaborative environment that rewards creative thinking.

    Cons

    Can be some long hours during deadline time but expected.

    SmithGroup2012-05-29
  9. "Cool"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Identity and Access Management Engineer in Kill, Kildare
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SmithGroup full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Everything hours are good and awesome

    Cons

    None idk what to really say

    Advice to Management

    Jj

    SmithGroup2019-05-22
Found 9 reviews