SmithGroup Intern Reviews | Glassdoor

SmithGroup Intern Reviews

Updated May 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

5.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Mike Medici
3 Ratings
  1. "SmithGroup is a great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Interior Design Intern 

      I have been working at SmithGroup part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Great pay and fair hours

      Cons

      I do not have a con yet.

      SmithGroup2019-05-13
    • "Great people"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Summer Intern in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at SmithGroup for less than a year

      Pros

      Great people, highly paid, opportunities to work on big projects.

      Cons

      Not enough communication on work

      Advice to Management

      It will be nice to have a real-time assignments chart showing which person is on which task, and what are the new assignments.

      SmithGroup2019-03-19
    • "Architectural Internship"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Intern in Washington, DC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at SmithGroup for less than a year

      Pros

      Fantastic opportunities to learn from a broad range of the architectural design process. Excellent work/life balance, and team collaboration mindset.

      Cons

      You need to assert yourself, but then you can get great experiences and insight into things you might not see if you act passive and don't take initiative to get involved. Hierarchy, but socially feels quite approachable for an intern to ask a VP questions, etc.

      SmithGroup2018-08-21
    • "Mechanical Engineer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Intern - Hourly in Detroit, MI
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at SmithGroup for less than a year

      Pros

      Their internship program is packed with many lunch and learns and site visits that give you a great perspective on many different aspects within the company

      Cons

      The company is very large so you may not meet or work with many people outside of your discipline.

      SmithGroup2018-05-01
    • "Great place to retire at"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Summer Intern in San Francisco, CA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at SmithGroup for less than a year

      Pros

      Fridays off every other week. Great wine&cheese at 4pm. Amazing and large materials library. Everyone is very friendly and encouraging.

      Cons

      It is a big firm, so you sometimes can feel pretty small. Wish the firm could be more sociable.

      SmithGroup2018-04-17
    • "Good working environment, OK place to learn"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Intern in San Francisco, CA

      I worked at SmithGroup

      Pros

      Great community Nice people Good work culture Good benefits

      Cons

      Not much direction You need to look for projects to get assigned with something

      SmithGroup2017-05-22
    • "good company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Intern - Hourly in Ann Arbor, MI
      Recommends

      I have been working at SmithGroup part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      people are nice. Projects are interesting.

      Cons

      No enough parking space for everyone

      SmithGroup2017-01-28
    • "Best intro to working at a design firm"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Career Opportunities
      Former Employee - Civil Engineer Intern in Ann Arbor, MI
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at SmithGroup

      Pros

      -- The Ann Arbor office is full of great people. It's a big firm, but the office isn't very large: ~40 engineers, planners, landscape architects, and marketing. Super nice people. --Projects varied sufficiently to be interesting. Though I didn't work on a variety of actual projects, the tasks that I was assigned varied widely: working on preliminary design with the civils, concept work with the planners and LA's, post-construction...

      Show More

      Cons

      No complaints as a first internship.

      Advice to Management

      Great summer in Ann Arbor!!

      SmithGroup2016-05-15
    • "Great place for internship"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Summer Intern in San Francisco, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at SmithGroup

      Pros

      nice program for internship, diversity of working environment, lots of activities

      Cons

      lack of feedback when finished

      Advice to Management

      add a review at the end of internship

      SmithGroup2015-12-13
    • "Great Experience... great firm to work for"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Intern in Chicago, IL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at SmithGroup full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Great people, great environment, and great life-work balance

      Cons

      I cannot say anything bad about my experience, it was my first architecture related job and would love to continue working there.

      SmithGroup2013-04-02
    Found 10 reviews