KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Smoker & Company

Is this your company?

Smoker & Company

Add a Review

Smoker & Company Reviews

Updated May 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 29 of over 34 reviews

2.3
33%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
Smoker & Company Founder Michael Smoker (no image)
Michael Smoker
21 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Environment

    Apr 14, 2021 - Accountant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Welcoming, great co workers, growth opportunities, understanding, salary

    Cons

    I have yet to see a downside

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Don’t take this job

    May 13, 2021 - Accountant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You will learn a thing or two, Will get experience if no one else hires you

    Cons

    Almost everything the company has to offer, from the work you do to the management, the company is just not worth working for. If you are an accounting major and absolutely no one is hiring, no one what so ever the. And only then take this job.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Amazing work environment!

    Oct 30, 2020 - Recruiter in Leola, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pays very well base on your skills.

    Cons

    nothing wrong to say about Smokers.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Worst job of my career

    May 21, 2020 - Accountant in Lancaster, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - They will hire you - The drive there has beautiful countryside - Compensation is ok until you add up the hours.

    Cons

    I will give some of the experiences that I had here: - I had to write a letter to a customer, however, I was not authorized to use the company's stationary so I had to give the letter to another person to print it out for me to then scan it to send to the customer. An accountant with a degree and experience handling very large accounts... and not trusted with stationary. - Their bonus goals are basically unattainable unless you are one of the chosen. Let me explain. In a normal firm, your billable hours are based on the hours you attribute to a customer account. You get credit for those hours whether or not the time is actually billed. Not so at Smoker. You only get credit for hours that are billed. So, for a certain customer they made a business decision to do sales tax for basically free to get the profitable income tax work. However, the income tax work was given to one employee and the sales tax work to another. The person doing the sales tax work has NONE of their time towards their goal because they aren't making a profit on it. - The above point also affects their onboarding and training. Since every hour not spent on something that can be billed is considered "wasted," they don't train new people. It once took me two days to get a manager to help on a return, meanwhile I am getting reprimanded for not completing it. My reasoning that I wanted someone else's advice so I didn't submit a incorrect return and the manager wasn't available for two days was viewed as an excuse. This also was a return type I had never seen before. - They hire people with no experience, put them in a room with you, and give that person work. So of course they ask you for help since you are next to them. It is unofficially forcing you to train them knowing it is eating into your billable time. This is also why they are an accounting firm where 12-14 hour days are considered normal in the offseason. - Whenever someone quits they routinely hold meetings bad mouthing that person and basically figuring out what negative things they will say to the customer about why their account handler left. - Finally there is the Scientology thing. And while they never come out and say it, the language used and LRH training materials from the 1950's don't add to their case.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    No limit to what you can make at this company

    Oct 14, 2014 - Accountant in Leola, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Is a good opportunity for anyone who wants to make good money in either the accounting field or sales field. I would have to clarify I am saying good money not easy money. The firm pays a base salary comparable top what other firms in the industry provide which you get for just showing up to work. Most employees are offered additional compensation for production bonus (based on work completed and/or accuracy related) which has NO CAP ON WHAT YOU CAN EARN. At least for me, since day one management and supervisors made it clear that If i did my work well and accurate at a reasonable pace i should hit my bonus, it wouldn't be easy, I would need to work, and put in extra hours to hit my bonus. Last year about 10-15 accountants hit their production bonus which made up about 70-80% of the full time staff, so hitting you bonus is far from impossible.

    Cons

    Smoker and Company is an accounting firm. Which by default, because of the industry, there are going to be times in the year that are going to be stressful and the job does not seem like sunshine and rainbows, but this is a trait more so of the industry and not the firm. Employees do work long hours in tax season, however that is a product of accountants wanting to maximize their production bonuses and get clients' work done by April 15th.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee

    A more accurate, descriptive review of the company

    Oct 25, 2015 - Accountant & Financial Adviser in Leola, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    working for the main Company (Smoker and Company) and affiliated companies gives me the opportunity to work in the field I want, but also the opportunity to cross train in other fields, related to accounting or not related, as well. This keeps me from getting burned out doing one job, and gives me a sense of professional enrichment and self actualization. The company bonus program is quantitatively calculated. Thus my bonus is not subjectively decided by management, it is entirely based upon my performance. I do work long hours some time of the year, as do other professionals in the company. However, i choose to do so, if I elected to only do the bear minimum of work I'm not going to understand getting paid less.

    Cons

    Management could have been placing more of an emphasis on advertising/ managing online presence. However, management is currently aware of this issue and is working with local tech companies to improve its online presence and advertising

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    More pro's than con's

    Jan 4, 2016 - Sales/Producer in Leola, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have worked at Smoker & Co for over 5 years and have received a raise (more then a cost of living raise) each year I have been employed. I have been given the opportunity to be paid while getting certified to sell additional products. Smoker & Co has a very generous PTO policy and each year I have more vacation then I can use. Upper management never hides behind doors and I am regularly able to contact the CEO & CFO. Being in the marketing department has me facing our competitors a lot and I never have a problem selling our services. It truly never feels like I am going to work and I thoroughly enjoy each day I have had at Smoker & Co.

    Cons

    Some tech solutions for the marketing department could increase accidental overlaps by affiliate companies.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Horrible Place to work!

    Nov 4, 2013 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    None- you are their slave

    Cons

    HR gets bonuses on how many people they hire, so they notoriously lie about all the opportunity to grow and the bonuses. They make the bonuses ridiculously unattainable and in order to get the bonus, you basically have to devote your entire life to the firm almost all year around (expect 80-100 hour weeks in tax season, all on salary because they salary all employees except for clerical). Since everyone has to be so focused on constantly working to have any chance of getting their bonus, nobody is willing to help, train, or answer questions for anyone new. They call it a "team" but this firm is the farthest from a team environment I've ever seen- it is every man for himself and backstab whoever you can to succeed. It is a horrible and degrading place to work and you are treated like a pion. Do not ever contact the owner with any kind of questions or else you will be in serious trouble- this is not allowed. I can't see how they still have any employees because either the entire accounting population of Lancaster has worked there, or they have heard to stay away. Finally, they use Sterling Management and are Scientologists.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Number 1 WORSE place to work

    Oct 2, 2014 - Manager in Leola, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I am sorry to say, but there are no pros to working for this company

    Cons

    HR lies to you to get you in the door Long hours without compensation Hires everyone as a salaried employee, so they do not have to pay overtime. Bonus plan is unachievable no direct deposit Will play games for incentives, be careful they will deduct whatever they can to lower the payout Computers, office equipment is old and worn out Use old Software If you work from one of the satellite offices, internet goes down and you have to pack up and go to the main office for the day Turn over is horrrendous most of the current employee's are disrespectful and rude, no one talks to each other. You will receive degrading and emails in all capital letters from co workers Basically you are there to make the owner as much money as possible, so it is all about billable time

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Stay away from this firm

    Jan 5, 2013 - Office Manager in Lancaster, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There is nothing positive about working for this company. To be fair, I will say that they pay a competitive salary, but not nearly enough to compensate for the overall terrible working environment and culture of the company.

    Cons

    - Extremely high employee turnover - No training or onboarding - Poor work/life balance - Unreasonable workloads given to staff - Roles and responsibilities of staff, particularly in management and administration, are not defined - Poor communication - Poor quality of service becasue of a general lack of staff training, communication and organization - High client turnover - Entirely too much emphasis placed on turning work around quickly so that the client can be billed more quickly - Too much emphasis placed on billings in general - Unattainable bonus structure based upon reaching unreasonable billing goals - Affiliated with a California-based management consulting firm whose philosophy is based upon the principles of L. Ron Hubbard and Scientology.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 29 Reviews

Popular Careers with Smoker & Company Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Smoker & Company? Share Your Experiences

Smoker & Company logo
or