SnapShot Interactive Reviews | Glassdoor

SnapShot Interactive Reviews

Updated 25 Apr 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 28 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
SnapShot Interactive CEO Mark Scrivner (no image)
Mark Scrivner
17 Ratings
  1. "Would recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SnapShot Interactive full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good environment and friendly team and clients

    Cons

    None. All positive things to clash

    SnapShot Interactive2019-04-25
  2. Helpful (3)

    "A good place to do good work with good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Web Developer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at SnapShot Interactive full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    * The team: The building at Riverside Drive is packed full of folks who are unbelievably talented and unmatched in their general goodness. You won't find a better crew anywhere else. * Support from the top: Throughout my tenure, I always felt supported by my bosses. I have had very candid and very honest conversations with both of the owners and my direct manager, and never once did I feel unheard or fear... reprisal. Being a boss can often be a thankless job, but I always appreciated mine at SnapShot. * Open doors: As mentioned above, open conversations are very well supported and, as long as they are constructive, well appreciated. Quarterly planning meetings are long after a while, but they do provide a platform for everyone to speak up about things that the company needs to work on, and the company has tackled some seriously hairy challenges because of it. * No two days are the same: This is a pro for some and a con for others, but this is agency life. Sometimes things happen fast, but that's one of the things I love about the business. We always pulled together as a team to make things happen and make clients happy. * Big improvements have been made on remote work flexibility, and those attitude shifts should not go unnoticed. I hope to see that flexibility continue to expand for all of the great folks that still work there.

    Show More

    Cons

    * The speed / quality / price struggle is certainly real, and at times it feels like a race to the bottom. I would have said this was a much bigger problem about a year ago, but it feels like they were finding their stride during my past few months. * During my time I advanced a lot in my career, but that was largely because I pushed for the things I wanted and charted my own course to a degree. It's not always... clear what the next step looks like, and if you're seeking a promotion and not the type of person who can figure out a path for yourself, you might struggle a bit. I hope the leadership team prioritizes a clearer company-wide growth ladder so that others don't feel some of the struggles I felt trying to climb it for myself. * Processes can sometimes feel simultaneously too rigid and too flexible. This is a really hard thing to verbalize in a coherent way, but I do feel like each department would benefit from a fresh look at standard operating procedures. Many of the recurring challenges we dealt with stemmed in one way or another from broken processes, naturally as a byproduct of the company's growth. Good problems to have for the company overall, but they can be frustrating for the people in the thick of it.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep on hiring great people and trust them to deliver as they always have. Make sure those same people know their worth and give them a clear growth path to follow, with timelines, expectations and benchmarks explicitly stated.

    SnapShot Interactive2018-08-13
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Best place I've ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SnapShot Interactive full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working here I've made contacts that will be lifelong friends. I had the opportunity to lead a fantastic team. You'll be given tools that will help you throughout your career and professional development. A quarterly business coach comes in to assist in planning ways to make the company better. Stocked La Croix kept me hydrated, and coffee is brewed throughout the day. If you like working outside of the crazy... downtown traffic, this is a great location.

    Show More

    Cons

    Unfortunately for me, there wasn't a clear path to my future growth within the company, although I suggested and felt I had proven my worth and dedication. This is a job that is said to be a special place for special people, which I absolutely agree with. Due to this, a side effect is turnover. This is a challenge for current employees who need to pick up slack or spend time training new hires who may have not been... vetted enough to see if they will truly fit in. I know that leadership and team leads were taking the appropriate steps to help alleviate this.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Do everything in your power to keep your A players.

    SnapShot Interactive2018-08-12

    SnapShot Interactive Response

    August 14, 2018Co-Founder, President

    Thank you for the feedback here. We apologize that you felt that there wasn’t a clear path outlining your growth with us. This is actually something we are working hard to improve on in real-time as we work hard to keep the team we have in place. Historically we have been a flat ...

    Show More
  4. Helpful (1)

    "SnapShot Is A Wonderful Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SnapShot Interactive full-time

    Pros

    Everyone here is amazing. I like literally every single person that I work with. There's very little gossip and basically no cliques. The best way that I can describe what it's like here is to send you to the "Meet The Team" page on their website. Most companies list the CEO, President, VPs, Directors, Managers, then team members in that order. SnapShot is listed alphabetically. I can go to Mark, the CEO, and... tell him that I need his office for a conference call. He'll smile, say "Sure!", take his laptop to the main room, and keep working. I can need some help making a deadline and ask Ben to help design a Powerpoint slide and he'll get it done that day. Ben is the President. I have literally pulled in the president of the company to do graphic design and he doesn't even blink... it's not even a weird request. Things like these happen every day at SnapShot. The employees brought up a company retirement plan at a few quarterly company meetings and now we have a matched IRA. The employees brought up insurance at quarterly meetings and now we have company insurance that they add money to every paycheck.

    Show More

    Cons

    It can be disorganized at times, but that has been raised in quarterly meetings and is currently being addressed.

    Advice to Management

    Writing here anonymously, I would say that there are no things that I would say here that I wouldn't feel completely comfortable about saying directly to management. I would recommend that as we continue this amazing growth, carve out time to spend with the individual teams that you don't interact with much over the course of your daily routines. Take the devs out for a night. Take the PMs bowling. Take the... sales team to Top Golf. Take the video team to karaoke (bring ear plugs.) I think that spreading that love would go a long way towards company cohesion.

    Show More
    SnapShot Interactive2018-08-06

    SnapShot Interactive Response

    August 14, 2018Co-Founder, President

    Thank you for your feedback! We love to hear that you enjoy working with us here at SnapShot. As you know, we try to create an environment where everyone is challenged and engaged in the work they do. This starts at the top for sure with Mark and myself. Its funny, we used to do all ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (9)

    "Don't expect to feel valued here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SnapShot Interactive full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You'll form really close bonds with your coworkers here, in the way that people who go through a collectively traumatic experience come out on the other side as life-long friends. You'll have a quarterly forum to voice your opinions and constructive feedback, although if you peel back too many layers they will gaslight you until you realize "no, it's not all in my head. I'm a talented individual and this is not how... businesses should be run," and hand in your resignation. Perks: -Coffee -Beer -Newly renovated office with lots of parking

    Show More

    Cons

    A certain Snapshot blog post (Quality, Speed, Price… Can you have it all?) sums it up: Snapshot thinks they are the "unicorn" that can deliver a well-made product faster and cheaper than their competitors. Obviously, unicorns are mythical, and to believe oneself is a unicorn is delusional. The iron triangle is basic economics and Snapshot may think they are delivering, but it only sometimes works because the bar for... "well-made" is very low. So good on you if you end up with something to show for your work here, and I'm sorry about all the overtime you probably put in to pull it off. Occasionally a well-made product is actually delivered on time, and I'd be willing to bet they lost a handful of employees in the process. This is not recognized as a cost because every single human employed here is seen as disposable, never mind the very real cost of hiring and onboarding their replacements. There's a lingering recession mindset towards hiring here: there will always be some new grad hungry for the job (refer back to things being "well-made.") Also: -No retirement plan -Sub-par insurance -Bare-minimum PTO package

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop telling yourselves that the business issues and turnover rate is typical of "agency life." Learn what it means to value your employees. It's more than just telling them they rock.

    SnapShot Interactive2018-07-20

    SnapShot Interactive Response

    July 30, 2018Co-Founder, President

    First, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback during your time with us. With you having been here for over a year, I wish the reflection was better and want to clearly say how much we appreciate all the help and advice you gave us over your tenure here to get us to where ...

    Show More
  6. Helpful (3)

    "It's a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SnapShot Interactive full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I worked there for almost 3 years. I really enjoyed that everyone works together to help one another. It's also a very positive place to work, which is great. I got presented with a tremendous opportunity so I had to leave. Otherwise, I would have stayed.

    Cons

    I don't have anything negative to say.

    Advice to Management

    None.

    SnapShot Interactive2018-05-16

    SnapShot Interactive Response

    June 14, 2018Social Media and Content Strategist

    Thank you for your review! We appreciate your feedback and wish you the best in your new endeavor!

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great people and culture - but be prepared for a really fast paced environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SnapShot Interactive full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people & culture. Ability to learn a lot. Your voice is heard. Your ideas are heard. Fun/casual work environment.

    Cons

    Can be really be fast-paced. Long hours at times. Ability to jump in out of projects, meetings, and deadlines on the fly is a must.

    SnapShot Interactive2018-04-15

    SnapShot Interactive Response

    June 20, 2018Social Media and Content Strategist

    Thanks for your review! We appreciate your feedback. :)

  8. Helpful (1)

    "The best people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at SnapShot Interactive full-time

    Pros

    Such great people working here.

    Cons

    Nothing of importance to share.

    SnapShot Interactive2017-11-28
  9. Helpful (4)

    "It seemed too good to be true...and it was"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at SnapShot Interactive full-time

    Pros

    * Majority of co-workers are smart, hard-working, and multi-talented * Opportunity to quickly build your portfolio with some large, interesting clients * Beautiful office * Great East Nashville location * Meetings are held on time and kept short *Lots of positivity and enthusiasm in team/company meetings *Video team is a well-oiled machine with a great leader

    Cons

    *All agency environments will work you hard, but even for an agency the workloads for many positions here are unrealistic and not sustainable; it's taken for granted that most people will work lots of unpaid overtime (especially if you want to meet your mandatory personal goals on top of your client workload). This creates unnecessary mistakes/burnout/turnover, and they've lost some really wonderful people because... of this. *Most of my co-workers - especially engineers - felt underpaid compared to their peers at other companies. *This company creates beautiful videos, graphics and websites, but doesn't have process/expertise in place yet to do big picture marketing strategy, branding campaigns, market research, etc. the way agencies like GS&F do. This makes it a better environment for young creatives to build their project portfolios, and a less ideal environment for professionals age 30+ who want to build a portfolio of multi-platform campaigns or demonstrate effective strategy through data. * Culture is only skin deep. You will get lots of high fives, and be asked to dance for staff videos, and people will yell "You Rock!" at every morning meeting, but when it comes down to the real day-to-day work, if a client's unhappy, most people will throw you under the bus in a heartbeat to save themselves. And that includes leadership.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Walk your talk

    SnapShot Interactive2017-11-27
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Take it with a grain of salt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SnapShot Interactive full-time

    Pros

    The biggest pros would be experience and steady income. They tend to hire people who are a little under qualified, so this could be good for you if you're starting out.

    Cons

    The culture always felt laid on top, as if you heard culture was important so you added in a lot of it but generally functioned the same way. Not a lot of work life balance, expected to stay a little late each day even if nothing particularly pressing is going on, or if something comes up over a weekend you're expected to be there even if last minute. Never felt like enough time was allotted for a project to shine,... everything was a rush getting out the door. The benefits package was pretty bad for a full time gig.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Value your employees and reward them when they do well.

    SnapShot Interactive2017-07-16

    SnapShot Interactive Response

    July 17, 2017Co-Founder, President

    As a former employee of the company, we greatly value your feedback in the process and hope you are doing in well in your new endeavors! We appreciate your recognition of us helping individuals growing their careers at many different stages from just starting out to more senior levels ...

    Show More
Found 28 reviews