Sobel & Co Reviews | Glassdoor

Sobel & Co Reviews

Updated Dec 2, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
1 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "great culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Accountant in Livingston, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Sobel & Co full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun/friendly environment. The firm has an admirable culture, the staff actually encourage and build each other up, instead of aggressively competing against one-another.

    Cons

    The firm does not cover any of the expenses for the CPA exam, but they do allow you to take a day off to take your test, without having to use your vacation days.

    Sobel & Co2017-06-28
  2. "Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Sobel & Co full-time

    Pros

    The people are really nice and are always willing to help you.

    Cons

    Easy to feel overwhelmed with the amount of work.

    Sobel & Co2018-12-02
  3. "Semi Senior"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sobel & Co full-time

    Pros

    Competitive pay and fun culture

    Cons

    Long hours and high expectations

    Sobel & Co2018-10-11
  4. "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Sobel & Co full-time

      Pros

      Create culture, nice co-workers, positive vibes

      Cons

      I can not think of any

      Sobel & Co2018-07-08
    • "Construction Administrator"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Construction Coordinator in Boca Raton, FL
      Recommends

      I have been working at Sobel & Co full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great management with values and family importance

      Cons

      Little to no advancement. Long wait for raises

      Sobel & Co2017-04-13
    • Helpful (1)

      "Good culture for a CPA firm"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Staff Accountant in Livingston, NJ
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Sobel & Co full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Preface by saying things may have changed since its been a while since I worked there. However most of the key players are still there so I'm sure most if not all of what I have to say in this review is probably still applicable. - Of the handful of CPA firms I've worked at, this was the only one where the partners didn't come across as if they were better than the staff and demanded to be treated as such. A very...

      Show More

      Cons

      The only drawback is the managers/supervisors. Admittedly it's a tough job because you're the middle layer between partner and staff. Still those I worked with, with only one exception ,were not very good about communicating and providing necessary feedback .A lot of times kept in the dark about important goings on about an engagement and feeling "out of the loop". Specifically rather than address an issue when it was...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Keep growing the company as you've been doing while not losing the unique culture you've created. As noted in the "Cons" section though just need to hold managers more accountable. If they're not working with their staff to address issues and simply blaming the staff come review time that isn't managing. It's just blame shifting to CYA.

      Sobel & Co2017-03-19
    • "Great and Getting Better"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Accountant in Rockaway, NJ
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Sobel & Co for less than a year

      Pros

      The firm listens to its people and strives for improvement. The past year, partners, managers and staff have spent considerable time on initiatives to ensure a positive work environment, enhancing technology, employee engagement and departmental organization. Communication has improved on firm strategy and the tasks at hand being worked on.

      Cons

      Firm still needs to improve communication on expectations and that work is spread around in more strategic ways.

      Advice to Management

      keep communicating and keep pushing positive change forward. remain mindful of the impact change has on the organization.

      Sobel & Co2016-02-27
    • Helpful (4)

      "Good learning firm."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Sobel & Co for more than a year

      Pros

      There is an open door policy with all partners

      Cons

      Middle management is very back stabby. most managers will not hesite to bad mouth one staff to the other

      Advice to Management

      get rid of this back stabbing culture that is being born

      Sobel & Co2015-12-17
    • "If you're going to do hard time in public, this is the place to do it."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Audit Senior in Livingston, NJ
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Sobel & Co full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Wonderful place to work with new challenges everyday. You will learn a lot of stuff you had no intention to learn about in the first place. Great leadership. Energetic and diverse staff. Very active in the community.

      Cons

      Benefits are ordinary. Easy to forget where you/others sit.

      Advice to Management

      Stop making us play musical chairs.

      Sobel & Co2015-10-23
    • "Staff Auditor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Semi Senior Audit in Livingston, NJ
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Sobel & Co full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Fun, friendly, and supportive work environment.

      Cons

      Lots of driving, lots of required overtime.

      Advice to Management

      Work-life balance does not exist in the audit department.

      Sobel & Co2015-09-30
    Found 17 reviews