Social Interest Solutions Reviews | Glassdoor

Social Interest Solutions Reviews

Updated April 4, 2018
29 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Social Interest Solutions President and Chief Executive Officer Robert Phillips
Robert Phillips
6 Ratings

29 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Endless Opportunities!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Social Interest Solutions full-time

    Pros

    All ideas are taken into consideration, even if they don't fit within the current state of a project.

    Cons

    The endless resources and understanding of career growth!

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up, good work!

    Social Interest Solutions Response

    Mar 21, 2018 – Executive Director, Communications

    Thank you for sharing your perspectives, and we are happy that SIS can help you continue to grow in your career! We will be sure to share your feedback with leadership.


  2. "Well Intentioned Company with Horrible Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Coordinator in Sacramento, CA
    Former Employee - Project Coordinator in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Social Interest Solutions full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The people who work at SIS are hard working and want to make a difference.

    Cons

    The management is completely incompetent. A year into a reorganization they officially declared that they have four #1 priority projects. They talk a grand strategy and lofty ideals, but their actions contradict the "really really clear" message.

    This inability to establish tactical priorities has ramifications all the way down. Every project is under-resourced and every resource is overworked. It is not uncommon for some employees to work through the night, and management sends demands for work while employees are tucking their kids into bed.

    I tried to identify opportunities for improvement and was told on three separate occasions that I could present my work to leadership. And on every instance I was delayed and then blocked before I could present. Leadership pretends they are open and receptive, but really they are closed down and territorial.

    Lastly, the recent 5 star reviews are plants if I ever saw them.

    Advice to Management

    Quit talking honeyed words, and actually show some action. Don't say there won't be layoffs and then have a huge round of them unannounced. When everything is a priority and every person is a client nothing gets done.

  3. Helpful (4)

    "Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oakland, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oakland, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Social Interest Solutions full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Words cannot explain how much I enjoy working for such an amazing company. (no really) I was a little hesitant to join this organization because of the influence of past reviews. Thankfully, I trusted my gut instinct and made the decision to accept a position here. With the new CEO, leadership, and trajectory, there is no stopping this non-profit. For the first time in my career, I feel as if I am make a direct impact to the community and doing my part to change lives.

    Cons

    I am too close to a tasty cupcake shop.

    Social Interest Solutions Response

    Feb 25, 2018 – Executive Director, Communications

    Thanks for sharing your experiences, and we appreciate your contributions to SIS!


  4. Helpful (2)

    "SQL Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SQL Developer in Sacramento, CA
    Current Employee - SQL Developer in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Social Interest Solutions full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    SIS is beginning to turn the corner. While the pay and benefits are competitive what’s more exciting is that they’re getting back to focus on using technology for good.

    Cons

    There’s a lot of moving around people right now which is causing some people to fear what’s next. The processes still are set which makes your work unpredictable.

    Advice to Management

    The new CEO is doing well so far of getting us back on track and ready to be a stronger organization

    Social Interest Solutions Response

    Feb 1, 2018 – Executive Director, Communications

    We are also excited about the renewed focus on our mission. Thank you for your contributions to SIS!


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Pathetic leadership old and new."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    If you like to work in a sweat shop with no regards to professional or personal life, then great place to work !

    Cons

    Could write a book why not to join this organisation. Complete disservice to customers. No regards to process, ad hoc patches that break 10 other things and the cycle goes downhill from there. HR is a joke. Very high turnover.

    Advice to Management

    Very simple. Quit !! Seriously consider and do everyone a huge favor. Advice is given to people who listen and understand.

    Social Interest Solutions Response

    Feb 27, 2018 – Executive Director, Communications

    Thank you for your feedback, and we’re sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience. We are refining processes for customers and employees to provide the best, innovative solutions and we... More


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Worst organization ever..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sacramento, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Social Interest Solutions full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    They pay me. Some people are friendly and nice. Easy going environment, no hard rules.

    Cons

    Filled with Cons. Team leads hire incompetent people based on their contact who knows nothing and do nothing. They easily promote incompetent people if they get pleased (nothing to do with your work). Too noisy work environment. Always running and shouting around to fix things that wouldn't have been broken in the first place if they would maintain a sane process. Insane weird requirements are always coming and going. Top management is the worst I have ever seen. They are always talking about strengthening the pillars of the organization, but don't see them decaying away.

    Advice to Management

    Control your process and streamline it. Right now its crazy. Asking employers to do thing immediately without any process and always running ad-hoc orders doesn't make the organization efficient. You will only loose your reputation to the client and market.

    Social Interest Solutions Response

    Feb 1, 2018 – Executive Director, Communications

    Leadership is taking action to ensure that we strengthen and clarify processes for all employees. Regarding the noise issues that you mention, we’d like to know how we can assist you and help improve... More


  7. Helpful (2)

    "Business Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Sacramento, CA
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Social Interest Solutions full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    -Great benefits
    -Christmas to New Years paid time off
    -This is a company with purpose and working here really makes a difference in someone’s life.

    Cons

    Still need to refine processes, and move away from keeping track of everything on an excel.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work! This past year and the changes that the new CEO has brought on has been great.

    Social Interest Solutions Response

    Jan 22, 2018 – Executive Director, Communications

    Thank you for your feedback! Your contributions help SIS better the lives of people who use our solutions. We will share these comments with leadership to help streamline processes. Best, Jessica

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Disorganized."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sacramento, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Social Interest Solutions full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good benefits. But don't think of staying too long in this company. Not beneficial for your career. If you are just moving around, it's tolerable.

    Cons

    This company is a total chaos. Business team is the one of the worst I have ever seen in my career. No clue on what's going on. Always trying to fix things with random fixes rather than thinking about sustainable solutions. Management can unnecessarily put pressures on the employees. Most unhelpful and unreachable IT department, not sure how they get away with it. No coding standards.

    Advice to Management

    Bring competent people. Opt for long term solutions. Treat all employess equally.

    Social Interest Solutions Response

    Jan 4, 2018 – Digital Communications Strategist

    Feedback like yours is valuable and thank you for sharing your insights as an employee at Social Interest Solutions. Our goal is to provide all employees with a positive work experience and the... More


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Really bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sacramento, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Social Interest Solutions full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    If you interested and hardworking, you can learn a lot.

    Cons

    Company hire peoples who doesn’t k ow what needs to happen and zero quality leadership. Then they play politics to survive and plan how they can fire old hardworking peoples.

    Advice to Management

    All from HR to Business to Dev - run politics to survive. Please run company for a cause. Best of wishes. Please admire real hardworking peoples not which is getting nominated by politics. I hope new CEO helps.

    Social Interest Solutions Response

    Jan 18, 2018 – Executive Director, Communications

    We appreciate your feedback, and our new CEO is taking action to make sure our culture aligns with the vision and mission of the company. If you would like to contact us, please feel free to email me... More


  10. Helpful (2)

    "Help Desk Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Social Interest Solutions full-time

    Pros

    The employees are nice and hardworking.

    Cons

    The management has no clue what is going on and changes constantly.


Showing 29 of 45 reviews
Reset Filters