Society Consulting Reviews | Glassdoor

Society Consulting Reviews

Updated Jun 12, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 53 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Chad Richeson
28 Ratings
Pros
  • "There are a lot of great people working at Society Consulting(in 4 reviews)

  • "Company events and afternoon happy hours(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "The 401k match is only 1% with 3yr vesting, and the health plan basically discourages you from insuring your dependents(in 5 reviews)

  • "Treated employees hired to do contract work as contractors(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "one of the best consultancies I've worked at."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Society Consulting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good office environment with flexible options for telecommuting and otherwise. The work-life balance here is great! Decent benefits, great bunch of people, and a willingness from ownership team to solve any workplace or cultural concerns.

    Cons

    It's consulting work, so if you're longing to own a program and drive deep strategic vision, you should be looking at one of their clients, not at an agency. You can get pigeonholed into samey, silo'd work if you don't develop yourself outside of working hours. Sometimes management has been defensive about feedback, but they do rally and come with heartfelt intention to improve the workplace.

    Advice to Management

    Y'all are going great - keep thinking big! It's all about redefining the big data space in the next century, moving past the webspace into IOT work.

    Society Consulting2016-04-09
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Wanted to believe"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Business Manager in Bellevue, WA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Society Consulting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Love the culture, work environment

    Cons

    Treated employees hired to do contract work as contractors. Treated us well, but regarded as disposable. Lots of talk about culture, but didn't apply to those of us who were rented out.

    Society Consulting2018-06-12
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good Experience and Professional Challenges"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Society Consulting full-time

    Pros

    Solid leadership constantly striving to help employees grow their professional skills and experience. Flexible schedules to match client projects. Social company with many events and networking opportunities.

    Cons

    Limited selection of client projects. Heavy on the Microsoft projects and few clients with long term contracts. If you are in-between projects you are placed "on the bench" waiting for your next project.

    Advice to Management

    Continue building your client base. Keep up the great work and promoting consulting skills and experience through added training.

    Society Consulting2018-03-16
  4. "Great place!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Society Consulting

    Pros

    Great people! Smaller place with great culture!

    Cons

    Recently they move to downtown Seattle.

    Society Consulting2017-10-30
  5. Helpful (4)

    "BEWARE BEWARE BEWARE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Society Consulting

    Pros

    Dine at nice places and the consultants are skilled

    Cons

    The count of those that marked "helpful" under the negative reviews as opposed to the positive reviews tells you everything you need to know! BEWARE NO MATTER WHAT EXCUSES THEY TELL YOU. THEY LIE!

    Society Consulting2017-04-05
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Love Society, Dislike who Acquired them"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Los Angeles, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Society Consulting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Consultants not located at HQ work remotely serving clients in their local market. Coworkers were great to work with as a team on a project Provide hardware (laptop, dock station, monitor) for desk set up if remote

    Cons

    Things turned sour for me after Society was acquired by EY. It didn't feel like the right fit since Society is not in the accounting/finance/risk business. True, this big 4 firm has a consulting/advisory arm but still, it didn't feel right. It is THE reason why I am seeking another job at the moment. The big 4 firms make me feel as if I should be so grateful for the chance to work with them. I am not fresh out...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I don't have any since previous management is no longer the true management. The firm that acquired Society is so large I actually have no idea who is and who isn't management ha.

    Society Consulting2017-03-04
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great place if starting in consulting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant/Program Manager/Business Analyst in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Society Consulting full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Small company, with lots of opportunity for knowledge sharing and socializing. Good plan for growth.

    Cons

    Can be a bit cliquish.

    Society Consulting2016-11-12
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Fun company, work hard/play hard atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance Department in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Society Consulting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun atmosphere, cool building. Company events and afternoon happy hours. Company pays for stocked kitchen and some breakfast and lunches. Happy working environment. You work hard, they will reward you. Allows friendly dogs.

    Cons

    work life balance was off - maybe different for others in different departments. Long hours worked and for salary (no additional benefit but still a requirement of the job). No real access for development and moving up in the company.

    Society Consulting2016-10-28
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent company, one of the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Society Consulting full-time

    Pros

    Flexible, lots of smart people, treat their employees very well

    Cons

    This is not really a con, but the culture is a bit youth-focused and cliquey. The management team tends to just hire their friends for all internal positions, so there was very much an "in-crowd", including the owners, who were always going to Hawaii together, etc. Awkward for those of us who were not included.

    Society Consulting2016-10-10
  10. "Great mid-sized consultancy in customer experience space"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Society Consulting full-time

    Pros

    Open, collaborative environment. Friendly management. Very good relationship with clients. High job security as far as consultancies go (stable).

    Cons

    Client portfolio could be more diverse

    Society Consulting2016-08-09
Found 53 reviews