Socrata Reviews | Glassdoor

Socrata Reviews

Updated Jan 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 52 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Socrata CEO Kevin Merritt (no image)
Kevin Merritt
33 Ratings
Pros
  • "Extra-ordinary work-life balance(in 8 reviews)

  • "Leading market position: Socrata is the leader in government transparency and open data solutions(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "General growing pains - lack of communication across departments can be frustrating(in 5 reviews)

  • "Let's get some balance and hire some female sales leadership(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Socrata full-time

    Pros

    Great company with incredible mission and passionate customers in a space (public sector) that needs great new ideas!

    Cons

    New acquisition by Tyler Technologies will change things, but hopefully in a good way.

    Socrata2018-11-27
  2. Helpful (2)

    "I love Socrata"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Curriculum Designer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Socrata full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic people to work with, worthwhile company objectives. I'm genuinely passionate about the work we do with our customers.

    Cons

    Professional development opportunities are thin on the ground and it's basically impossible to get a raise.

    Socrata2019-01-25
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Was a fun place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Salesforce Administrator in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Socrata full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to gain experience. Great atmosphere. Great home/work balance. Flexible hours. Lots of snacks/lunches.

    Cons

    Laid off due to acquisition.

    Socrata2018-05-16
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Great People. Great Customers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Seattle, WA

    I worked at Socrata full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very admirable and civic minded mission. Government and improving society is at the center of everything Socrata does. This is a very important mission and governments really do need Socrata’s offerings in order to become data-driven organizations. Socrata spends a lot of time on the individuals and culture that make it a great place to work. Cultural values, individual reviews, technology to track kudos and... goals, a strong work-life balance focus, and a unlimited vacation policy are the facts behind the positive review

    Show More

    Cons

    Governments are tough, slow moving, and sometimes unpredictable. While the product serves a real need governments struggle with fulfilling many needs across their organizations. This lack of resources can make it hard to build a business case for the data system.

    Advice to Management

    Everyone from top to bottom in the organization should go through a government 101 training and learn what it’s like to spend a day in the life. Work with the tools and technologies that your customers work with. That will be a very humbling experience for many. The direction of the company is right and your customers are willing to go on that journey with you. Many people have staked their careers in public... service on the back of Socrata. Make sure to not lose sight of that during the journey.

    Show More
    Socrata2018-03-12
  5. Helpful (10)

    "So much wasted potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Socrata full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Bright, dedicated, mission-driven team of people across every department -Great benefits package for a company this size -The company mission, customer base, and hopeful future are the reasons many of us come into the office every day

    Cons

    -Communication from leadership to all company is abysmal, infrequent cadence to all-hands means many things haven't been talked about (sending a weekly email from the CEO that revolves about his travels is not the same as communicating a company pivot to employees) -Our leadership team is currently fractured. Middle management is left to their own devices, are given no authority, and are told to move mountains... single-handedly -There is no parental leave policy, no discrimination policy and complaints of such are treated as trivial -There's not much trust from leadership down to employees - One of our core values is Open, Honest and Self-critical, and while there is a lot of cross team collaboration that happens, there is also an abnormal amount of finger pointing -Few women in leadership, hard to get a promotion (voted by committee), sexism is rampant, and mansplaining happens in 75% of meetings -HR claims to pay at 75th percentile, but I'm not sure who's calculations they're using because according to Glassdoor and Comparably they're closer to 50% -Due to poor communication and lack of clear goals, it's hard to feel secure

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -Stop worrying about arbitrarily meeting financial goals (break even, etc.), and work instead on making the right resourcing decisions so that the goals you've set out can actually be accomplished by employees without burning them all out -Trust that you hired well. Let employees make decisions. Follow the data without hesitation. Don't run on emotions, you're a data company, use it-- believe it.

    Socrata2018-01-24

    Socrata Response

    February 1, 2018VP of People Operations

    In full transparency, sometimes these reviews are really hard to read (emotionally, not grammatically)! Part of the emotional difficulty is knowing that we have a current employee who is so unhappy. If we haven't talked already, please drop by so we can talk - confidentially - about ...

    Show More
  6. "Great people. Great mission."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Socrata full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Smart, dedicated people. Fun work environment.

    Cons

    Was going through growing pains but is now very stable.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    Socrata2018-01-19

    Socrata Response

    February 1, 2018VP of People Operations

    Thanks. Nothing else to say!

  7. Helpful (6)

    "Good people, poor leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Socrata full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The mission and what Socrata is trying to do is great. If a success, could be a game changer in the public data space. A lot of the people that are there are passionate about what they do. People Operations team cares a lot about the culture.

    Cons

    There's a weak leadership team that causes the company to spin around in circles and it is hard to get anything done. Fingers get pointed at the lower level employees, but when there is such a high attrition rate of employees, they should be looking at the top. Lots of the blame game going on, when really the leadership team needs to be focusing on getting things done. There is a nasty insider circle that the... leadership team doesn't see, about %5 of employees, that can pretty much do no harm. It causes a really toxic environment as you have hard working employees who are getting past on opportunities, whereas the insider crew has jobs that are literally made up and nobody knows what they are. Unless there are major changes in the C level and somebody is brought in who can execute, I'd be wary about the company. Classic example of a founder staying at the helm for far too long.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You always talk about there being such a high hiring bar, but you don't trust your employees to actually execute. Follow what you preach, have faith in your employees and stop micromanaging. It's a 10 year old company, it's time for operational efficiency, execution, and faith in your employees if you want to get out of the rut you are in, or else you will continue to spin around in circles, losing employees.

    Socrata2018-01-23

    Socrata Response

    February 1, 2018VP of People Operations

    There's a lot here to talk about, and as ever I appreciate the feedback. As a member of the executive team it's sometimes hard to separate what I see from my position of privilege with what others see, so I'm trying to answer in a balanced way and share my perspective while not negating ...

    Show More
  8. Helpful (2)

    "They care for their people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Socrata full-time

    Pros

    Socrata spends a lot of time on the individuals and culture that make it a great place to work. Cultural values, individual reviews, technology to track kudos and goals, a strong worklife balance focus, and a unlimited vacation policy are the facts behind the positive review

    Cons

    The major market forces that put the company on the map have slowed and we're figuring out how to find the second jetstream of growth.

    Advice to Management

    Focus

    Socrata2018-01-02

    Socrata Response

    February 1, 2018VP of People Operations

    Your con is completely fair and as you know, we're consciously moving into our second jetstream! If you're a potential interviewee reading this, please ask about how the focus of our business is changing. We will remain focussed on government, and will be addressing some new challenges ...

    Show More
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Ambitious but lots of growing pains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Socrata full-time

    Pros

    Very admirable and civic minded mission. Government and improving society is at the center of everything Socrata does.

    Cons

    Leadership consistently struggles with streamlining within their own orgs, let alone across departments. Inconsistency and unpredictability makes it difficult to succeed and develop professionally and be effective.

    Advice to Management

    Be more in tune with the daily successes and challenges of your own teams. There is a lot of visionary planning without enough attention being paid to the practicalities of executing on those visions. Less assuming more observing.

    Socrata2018-01-19

    Socrata Response

    February 1, 2018VP of People Operations

    This is great feedback and our recent survey results and open Q&A on the results concurs. There's a gap we need to close between the high level vision an operational plan (not to say that it doesn't happen but as you point out it should happen in a more systematic fashion). Part ...

    Show More
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good Company Focused on Transition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District of Columbia in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Socrata full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Open about the challenges faced as a company and working to address. Some challenges with Management being open and honest with themselves.

    Cons

    Low morale has been in place for some time. Product team does not spend enough time in the field to truly understand challenges faced.

    Advice to Management

    Revamp the product team and work to better understand what's driving customers.

    Socrata2017-12-18

    Socrata Response

    December 27, 2017VP of People Operations

    Thanks for your feedback. As you know, Open, Honest & Self-Critical is one of our values, and when I talk to recent recruits in our Bootcamp, it often comes up as something they see truly lived. On the topic of morale, and for the benefit of potential Socratizens reading this, ...

    Show More
Found 52 reviews