Sofology Reviews | Glassdoor

Sofology Reviews

Updated Jun 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 130 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Sally Hopson
8 Ratings
Pros
  • "Love speaking to the customers and finding them their perfect sofa(in 10 reviews)

  • "Fab working environment, fun and friendly : ) we have a great team here too so makes working so nice(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "I worked in customer service at the head office(in 7 reviews)

  • "Bonus is paid on conversion which is not fair because you get in a store so many people that don't have the smallest intention to buy a sofa(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "I enjoyed working here, but needed a better work life balance also didn’t appreciate the way sales were tracked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Consultant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sofology full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management always willing to take time to hear staff out, they help as much as they are able to Generous bonus structure Friendly fun and professional working environment Team and individual incentives offered regularly Great discounts on various stores/websites/partner companies Dental and health care plans available New CEO has made a lot of positive changes to the company Good digital platforms to access...

    Show More

    Cons

    Bank holidays and weekends are a must Pressure on staff to sell but don’t want them to be pushy with customers Even if you hit the sales targets given, staff are only given bonuses according to if they reach the minimum targets for the stores net promotor score Scope for progression is tough, they will usually look to promote one person at a time per store which can take up to 2 years. As well as sales targets you...

    Show More
    Sofology2019-06-12
  2. "Happy to work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Paisley, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sofology full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great potential to make money. Like the company concept and values. Fun place to work.

    Cons

    Working every weekend no negotiations on that front I know it’s retail but every other big retailer I’ve worked for has allowed a bit of flex to be completely honest to many staff at the weekend.

    Advice to Management

    Enough staff to have one weekend off a month

    Sofology2019-06-01
  3. "Don't do it!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Assistant in Sheffield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Sofology full-time

    Pros

    Some of the guys are sound you work with.

    Cons

    Bad management,bad pay,bad equipment, will employ anybody despite being utter rubbish, people in higher roles that ain't got a clue ,if you fit in with management you will be ok ,staff treated differently.

    Sofology2019-06-09

    Sofology Response

    June 10, 2019

    Hi there, Really sorry to hear you did not enjoy your time with us. If you would like to discuss this further, please pop us an email at recruitment@sofology.co.uk. Many thanks

  4. "A breath of fresh air. I love it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sofologist in Gateshead, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sofology full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Having come from a different industry I had no idea what to expect however I was surprised just how great it is to work here. The staff are great, management really have your back too. The pay varies on store performance, basic salary is what you would expect but some months you can have some amazing payslips. Really gives you a sense of pride taking that money home to your family. If you have the right attitude...

    Show More

    Cons

    Working every weekend is tough and as you’d expect it’s just a part of the industry. However it’s not great especially if you have kids. Having said that though, the management are actively listening and doing things based on what we tell them and I have no doubts this will be addressed at some point. It’s a pretty minor con on the overall scale of things and I have faith things can only get better.

    Advice to Management

    Lots of progress has been made and they genuinely listen and change things based on what we tell them. Keep it up because it’s a fantastic place to work.

    Sofology2019-05-02
  5. "Liars liars liars liars liars"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sofology full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly team good colleagues in store

    Cons

    Bonus payout is a con. Works on a sliding scale of percentages such as conversion linked to pay. Which means the more people who walk through your door the less bonus you get.

    Advice to Management

    Too busy looking after themselves so no point

    Sofology2019-05-25

    Sofology Response

    June 10, 2019

    Hi there, Really sorry to hear you did not enjoy your time with us. If you would like to discuss this further, please pop us an email at recruitment@sofology.co.uk. Many thanks

  6. "Nice company to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Sofology full-time

    Pros

    Good bonus scheme in place

    Cons

    under a lot of pressure

    Sofology2019-05-02
  7. "Sofology Rotherham"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sofologist in Rotherham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sofology full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    We have an exceptional manager. He is consistent and fair minded manager that is always willing to support his staff in their success. He is open minded and driven and keeps the staff up to date on team performance and new information. The management team work hard and well together for the benefit of all.. It is unusual in today’s retail environment but I must say it’s a pleasure to work in this store!

    Cons

    My only concern was that my expenses claim took a while to be paid. But this was more about understanding the system procedure. The manager did everything possible to resolve the issue.

    Advice to Management

    Continue what they’re doing passionately, “ You said we did!”

    Sofology2019-04-09
  8. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Golborne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sofology full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for with lots of room to progress within the business. Managers are very friendly and are on hand to help.

    Cons

    working till 8 on some shifts

    Advice to Management

    keep up the good work.

    Sofology2019-04-02
  9. "Customer Sales Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service in Golborne, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sofology full-time

    Pros

    The people are friendly. Help is always given if you ask for it. Always a nice atmosphere

    Cons

    Could all communicate a little better

    Advice to Management

    not applicable

    Sofology2019-03-26
  10. "Sales Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in Blackburn, England
    Recommends

    I worked at Sofology part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great bonuses to earn every month, friendly environment with no commission pressure

    Cons

    Have to work every weekend and evening shifts also.

    Sofology2019-02-20
Found 130 reviews