KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

SoftRock

Is this your company?

SoftRock

Add a Review

SoftRock Reviews

Updated Jun 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 258 of over 262 reviews

3.7
65%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
SoftRock CEO   Alec Difrawi
Alec Difrawi
184 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

403

60 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Loved it of course

    Jun 3, 2020 - Chief Executive Officer in Orlando, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great environment, great employees we play hard and work hard!

    Cons

    We only hire and keep the best of the best.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Phenomenal Company to work for filled with lots of Advancement opportunities to choose from.

    Aug 6, 2014 - Employment Specialist in Orlando, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I am proud to be apart of a great innovative, dynamic, and diverse company like Softrock. Softrock has created an amazing atmosphere for all employees during the hiring and training process. All the departments from Human Resources, Media, IT, Marketing, and Management work effectively together to create a fun and professional environment where everyone can feel comfortable, happy, and welcome. Softrock is one of the very few companies known to provide exciting events such as holiday parties, cookouts, and sports so that way everyone can come together to interact and have fun. With the positive feedback and support from Managers, Softrock has managed to grow successfully as a company since 2005 by giving everyone that comes on board an opportunity to grow and achieve a fun exciting long-term career. And last but not least, one of the best things that makes Softrock so unique and a great company compared to other companies is our CEO Alec Difrawi. Not only is Alec recognized for his hard work and dedication managing the company as a whole but also takes the time to get to know everyone individually in every department as much as possible and is aware of everyone's success. In conclusion, this is why I am proud to be working for Softrock.

    Cons

    One of the things that I least like about Softrock is the long exhausting four step process to get hired and the exhausting , stressfull 12 hour shift for two weeks training only.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    The most unique company I have ever worked for!

    Aug 14, 2014 - Employment Specialist in Orlando, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everyone is so friendly and upbeat; it makes going to work anyday enjoyable. Every trainer was throuroughly knowledgable in their roles. The process of the training allows you to realize how your role plays into the big picture. The best part is that they even provide you with the tools and one on one coaching and developing to help you be the best you can at your position. This is the first company that I have worked for that is as large as it is but yet still has that family feeling. I have to say that I feel proud to work for such a exceptionally unique company.

    Cons

    The biggest challenge was trying to get through the memorization test. Most people like myself tend to take ourselves away from distrations while trying to memorize the script. The test puts you right in the middle of the action and totally was the reason that I was thrown off and choked so badly. I knew the script but did not expect the distractions of all of the commotion going on in the call center and was not able to concentrate while being tested.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    It is what it is.

    Jul 2, 2015 - Job Advisor in Orlando, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They offer a lot in the way of employee entertainment. There's football, weekly cookouts, and video game tournaments among other things. The managers are willing to help in anyway to make sure you are performing to your maximum potential. Some of the callers are genuinely grateful for your help. Many never put a whole lot of thought into what they want to do with themselves career-wise. They promote from within frequently so there is usually space to move around within the company.

    Cons

    It is a call center. The main focus is call center work. The job description isn't the most upfront about that. Cereal begins to lose all meaning after a while. The only constant is change. Nothing stays in one place for more than a week or two. The methods of generating the calls looks deceptive. All of the calls generated are people looking for work. None are calling in about school. My job as an advisor is to convince them to at least give schooling a look. It gets a little uncomfortable doing that. The base pay is okay. I haven't been around long enough yet to see how the bonus structure works out.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Recently hired Employment Specialist

    Aug 20, 2014 - Employment Specialist in Orlando, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Wow! A totally new, dynamic, fun and progressive, high tech environment. Caught my unwavering and total interest from the moment I had the first contact by a telephone interview. On my second interview, at the site, I was blown away from the moment I stepped into the lobby. I was mesmerized and envisioned my future immediately. The culture is fantastic which promotes much employee loyalty. The diversity of the Managers and the employees is wonderful as they are professional, dedicated, eager to teach and learn as they are at being very friendly. The ability to learn is a great perk if that is one of your goals in life. Continued learning as that offered here is something that is very beneficial to anyone, young or mature, take advantage everyone!

    Cons

    The initial training is very demanding but it makes or breaks one. However, this is a good thing for the company growth and employee retention. You must be organized, responsible, disciplined and somewhat of a perfectionist otherwise it is not for you.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    SoftRock Response

    Social Media Specialist

    Agreed! Continued learning is definitely a blessing in disguise. Thanks for your comment and we’re glad you’re here!

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Accountability for your success starts and ends with you.

    Aug 6, 2014 - Job Specialist in Orlando, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I came to Softrock from a 20 year entertainment background that focused heavily on customer service with a primary focus on the "Customer." I also worked as a Yoga instructor for a 5 star hotel with a high focus on customer service with a primary focus on "Service." Thus, as a sales person I had to start from the ground floor and build from there. Softrock gave me all of the tools necessary to not only meet my goals but to aspire to be a much better asset to the company than I thought I could ever be. I cannot say enough great things about the management team from Alec all the way down to our Training managers who have made working for Softrock not only my new work environment but my new home.

    Cons

    The Cons for the company are all laid out before you from day one. We all are given expectation to meet and if you fall below those expectations then your days may be limited. However, you are given the resources and chance to turn them around.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Life as a Career Specialist at Softrock

    Feb 18, 2015 - Career Specialist in Orlando, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Softrock has a very youthful and energetic group of employees. The company works effortlessly to provide a positive environment with their lunchrooms and barbecues on Fridays. It has the look and feel of a real company.

    Cons

    The biggest challenge was to continue working for a company that was essentially a glorified call center attempting to monetize the unsuspecting public by referring them into a school or college. They market themselves as a job search service, but all the training, effort, and compensation comes from persuading people to pursue an education option. They present themselves as a software company that rocks, but once you look behind the curtains, you discover the programmers developing algorithms that scan and search the web for job seekers, and then routing them to Career Specialists that have the best script delivery and style to convert them into a qualified prospect for a college. The older employees would get the higher volume of inbound calls from unsuspecting job seekers over 55 years old. I handled over 3,500 "interviews", and more than half my calls were from people over 50 years old who were in desperate times seeking employment. These callers appreciated our 20 minutes of compassionate understanding, as scripted, but we knew we would never talk again with those individuals. That was unfortunate, because the system could actually provide a very good service if they had a real follow-up method that would help the searchers find jobs.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Beware of the Recruiters who lie

    Nov 18, 2013 - Career Specialist in Orlando, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The place is clean. They have BBQ on Fridays.

    Cons

    They over sell their culture to make up for the fact that the recruiters lie about salary. My recruiter said, "60k-85K Salaried." I made her repeat that twice and she said the same both times. The others in my group said their recruiter stated 30k plus commission. That is a lie as well. The real comp plan is $10 versus commission. Once you start making more than $10 per hour in commission, you are on a total commission only pay scale. Yep, they add 2% for showing up to work on time and another 1-2% for no compliance issues If they told top talent over the phone about the actual comp plan, we high performers would never give them a second look. You will need to memorize a script even though the script comes up with every call. They offer you the job then you have to pass the script test. If you don't pass, you do not have the job. Then once you pass the script test on Thursday, then you have to pass the final on Friday or no job. How many times are you going to offer me the job and then pull it back? Good question isn't it. If you chose to work with this organization, keep an eye out for yourself as they are only looking after themselves.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    So far so good!!!

    Aug 28, 2014 - Employee Specialist in Orlando, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    High Tech company with innovative atmosphere! Staff is very pleasant and always willing to help. It appears that advancement opportunities are very real. Many other companies promise this or allow you to believe there is plenty of room for advancement but, it rarely does happen. If you miss breakfast, there's always cereal and milk to help you get your day started. Although, I haven't had the opportunity to indulge, it's nice to know its there. It's never boring and always something going on here. So far, I love it!

    Cons

    Nothing as of yet that isn't a part of any other company. You work hard and you're rewarded, which isn't a con but some may think so. In addition, some of the holidays that I am used to celebrating are not considered PTO such as Labor day and Memorial Day. Not a real big deal but, something I have to get used to.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    It's a pleasure to work for such a progressive, dynamic company that genuinely values its employees!

    Aug 6, 2014 - Executive Hiring Manager in Orlando, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    SoftRock is truly a unique company to work for, & I would highly recommend anyone to join our team if given the opportunity. I have yet to see another company contend with the perks, culture, and overall work environment that SoftRock offers. From company BBQ's every week, intramural sports, holiday parties & other events, you always have something to look forward to. The leaders at SoftRock encourage continuous development along with contribution from all employees which, in turn, paves the foundation for the company's success. When you become a "SoftRocker", you are given the tools & encouragement to not only succeed, but to grow- regardless of what department you are in. Companies that genuinely value the opinions and ideas of employees are not always easy to find, & that is one of the many reasons why I am still happily a part of what I now consider a home away from home.

    Cons

    You may get hit by a NERF gun a few times if you venture into the tech department, so always be on alert! :)

    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 258 Reviews

SoftRock Reviews FAQs

SoftRock has an overall rating of 3.7 out of 5, based on over 262 reviews left anonymously by employees. 65% of employees would recommend working at SoftRock to a friend and 65% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, SoftRock employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.6 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at SoftRock. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

65% of SoftRock employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated SoftRock 3.7 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.9 for culture and values and 3.6 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at SoftRock to be benefits, culture, career development and the cons to be senior leadership, management, compensation.

Popular Careers with SoftRock Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at SoftRock? Share Your Experiences

or

SoftRock Photos

+ Add Photo
SoftRock photo of: Bear Day at SoftRock!
SoftRock photo of: Flag Football at SoftRock!
SoftRock photo of: Playing Plinko at SoftRock!
SoftRock photo of: Flag Football at SoftRock!
SoftRock photo of: Swimming With Whales at SoftRock!
SoftRock photo of: Fantasy Football Draft at SoftRock
SoftRock photo of: Flag Football at SoftRock!
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

Gigats
See all affiliated companies