SoftRock Reviews

Updated Jun 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
65%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
SoftRock CEO   Alec Difrawi
Alec Difrawi
185 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free food on Fridays and soda/ popcorn machines(in 17 reviews)

  • "I really like how approachable everybody is in this work environment(in 17 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours, it's a long day to reach 6 hours of talk time(in 18 reviews)

  • "Sure, it's better than minimum wage, but some weeks you might not make much more than(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Loved it of course

      Jun 3, 2020 - Chief Executive Officer in Orlando, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great environment, great employees we play hard and work hard!

      Cons

      We only hire and keep the best of the best.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Phenomenal Company to work for filled with lots of Advancement opportunities to choose from.

      Aug 6, 2014 - Employment Specialist in Orlando, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I am proud to be apart of a great innovative, dynamic, and diverse company like Softrock. Softrock has created an amazing atmosphere for all employees during the hiring and training process. All the departments from Human Resources, Media, IT, Marketing, and Management work effectively together to create a fun and professional environment where everyone can feel comfortable, happy, and welcome. Softrock is one of the very few companies known to provide exciting events such as holiday parties, cookouts, and sports so that way everyone can come together to interact and have fun. With the positive feedback and support from Managers, Softrock has managed to grow successfully as a company since 2005 by giving everyone that comes on board an opportunity to grow and achieve a fun exciting long-term career. And last but not least, one of the best things that makes Softrock so unique and a great company compared to other companies is our CEO Alec Difrawi. Not only is Alec recognized for his hard work and dedication managing the company as a whole but also takes the time to get to know everyone individually in every department as much as possible and is aware of everyone's success. In conclusion, this is why I am proud to be working for Softrock.

      Cons

      One of the things that I least like about Softrock is the long exhausting four step process to get hired and the exhausting , stressfull 12 hour shift for two weeks training only.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      a fish rots from the head down

      Nov 27, 2018 - Sales Agent in Orlando, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      some great coworkers. bar-b-ques on fridays and flag football and fun culture in a wannabe google way (but not nearly as good, obviously)

      Cons

      a fish rots from the head down, and the ceo is a convicted felon (fraud). he created a company to trick people into thinking they were applying for jobs but in reality all we were doing was trying to get them to enroll in for profit schools. the same for profit schools that are in the news for ripping students off and closing.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      The most unique company I have ever worked for!

      Aug 14, 2014 - Employment Specialist in Orlando, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everyone is so friendly and upbeat; it makes going to work anyday enjoyable. Every trainer was throuroughly knowledgable in their roles. The process of the training allows you to realize how your role plays into the big picture. The best part is that they even provide you with the tools and one on one coaching and developing to help you be the best you can at your position. This is the first company that I have worked for that is as large as it is but yet still has that family feeling. I have to say that I feel proud to work for such a exceptionally unique company.

      Cons

      The biggest challenge was trying to get through the memorization test. Most people like myself tend to take ourselves away from distrations while trying to memorize the script. The test puts you right in the middle of the action and totally was the reason that I was thrown off and choked so badly. I knew the script but did not expect the distractions of all of the commotion going on in the call center and was not able to concentrate while being tested.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      It is what it is.

      Jul 2, 2015 - Job Advisor in Orlando, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They offer a lot in the way of employee entertainment. There's football, weekly cookouts, and video game tournaments among other things. The managers are willing to help in anyway to make sure you are performing to your maximum potential. Some of the callers are genuinely grateful for your help. Many never put a whole lot of thought into what they want to do with themselves career-wise. They promote from within frequently so there is usually space to move around within the company.

      Cons

      It is a call center. The main focus is call center work. The job description isn't the most upfront about that. Cereal begins to lose all meaning after a while. The only constant is change. Nothing stays in one place for more than a week or two. The methods of generating the calls looks deceptive. All of the calls generated are people looking for work. None are calling in about school. My job as an advisor is to convince them to at least give schooling a look. It gets a little uncomfortable doing that. The base pay is okay. I haven't been around long enough yet to see how the bonus structure works out.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Recently hired Employment Specialist

      Aug 20, 2014 - Employment Specialist in Orlando, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Wow! A totally new, dynamic, fun and progressive, high tech environment. Caught my unwavering and total interest from the moment I had the first contact by a telephone interview. On my second interview, at the site, I was blown away from the moment I stepped into the lobby. I was mesmerized and envisioned my future immediately. The culture is fantastic which promotes much employee loyalty. The diversity of the Managers and the employees is wonderful as they are professional, dedicated, eager to teach and learn as they are at being very friendly. The ability to learn is a great perk if that is one of your goals in life. Continued learning as that offered here is something that is very beneficial to anyone, young or mature, take advantage everyone!

      Cons

      The initial training is very demanding but it makes or breaks one. However, this is a good thing for the company growth and employee retention. You must be organized, responsible, disciplined and somewhat of a perfectionist otherwise it is not for you.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      SoftRock Response

      Social Media Specialist

      Agreed! Continued learning is definitely a blessing in disguise. Thanks for your comment and we’re glad you’re here!

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Accountability for your success starts and ends with you.

      Aug 6, 2014 - Job Specialist in Orlando, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I came to Softrock from a 20 year entertainment background that focused heavily on customer service with a primary focus on the "Customer." I also worked as a Yoga instructor for a 5 star hotel with a high focus on customer service with a primary focus on "Service." Thus, as a sales person I had to start from the ground floor and build from there. Softrock gave me all of the tools necessary to not only meet my goals but to aspire to be a much better asset to the company than I thought I could ever be. I cannot say enough great things about the management team from Alec all the way down to our Training managers who have made working for Softrock not only my new work environment but my new home.

      Cons

      The Cons for the company are all laid out before you from day one. We all are given expectation to meet and if you fall below those expectations then your days may be limited. However, you are given the resources and chance to turn them around.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Life as a Career Specialist at Softrock

      Feb 18, 2015 - Career Specialist in Orlando, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Softrock has a very youthful and energetic group of employees. The company works effortlessly to provide a positive environment with their lunchrooms and barbecues on Fridays. It has the look and feel of a real company.

      Cons

      The biggest challenge was to continue working for a company that was essentially a glorified call center attempting to monetize the unsuspecting public by referring them into a school or college. They market themselves as a job search service, but all the training, effort, and compensation comes from persuading people to pursue an education option. They present themselves as a software company that rocks, but once you look behind the curtains, you discover the programmers developing algorithms that scan and search the web for job seekers, and then routing them to Career Specialists that have the best script delivery and style to convert them into a qualified prospect for a college. The older employees would get the higher volume of inbound calls from unsuspecting job seekers over 55 years old. I handled over 3,500 "interviews", and more than half my calls were from people over 50 years old who were in desperate times seeking employment. These callers appreciated our 20 minutes of compassionate understanding, as scripted, but we knew we would never talk again with those individuals. That was unfortunate, because the system could actually provide a very good service if they had a real follow-up method that would help the searchers find jobs.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Terrible

      Mar 18, 2019 - Account Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None to speak of ...

      Cons

      Everything others have said is true

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Beware of the Recruiters who lie

      Nov 18, 2013 - Career Specialist in Orlando, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The place is clean. They have BBQ on Fridays.

      Cons

      They over sell their culture to make up for the fact that the recruiters lie about salary. My recruiter said, "60k-85K Salaried." I made her repeat that twice and she said the same both times. The others in my group said their recruiter stated 30k plus commission. That is a lie as well. The real comp plan is $10 versus commission. Once you start making more than $10 per hour in commission, you are on a total commission only pay scale. Yep, they add 2% for showing up to work on time and another 1-2% for no compliance issues If they told top talent over the phone about the actual comp plan, we high performers would never give them a second look. You will need to memorize a script even though the script comes up with every call. They offer you the job then you have to pass the script test. If you don't pass, you do not have the job. Then once you pass the script test on Thursday, then you have to pass the final on Friday or no job. How many times are you going to offer me the job and then pull it back? Good question isn't it. If you chose to work with this organization, keep an eye out for yourself as they are only looking after themselves.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 260 Reviews

    Popular Careers with SoftRock Job Seekers

    Employer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at SoftRock? Share Your Experiences

    SoftRock logo
    or