Softheon Reviews | Glassdoor

Softheon Reviews

Updated April 26, 2017
49 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

4.4
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Softheon Chairman and CEO Eugene Sayan
Eugene Sayan
35 Ratings

49 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

  1. Featured Review

    "Move Over Google"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Stony Brook, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Stony Brook, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softheon full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great Opportunities
    Great Mobility
    Great Team
    The work we do matters
    Great opportunities for charitable endeavors and R&R
    More than just a job
    We seem to learn from other companies that came before, or are currently successful, and try to implement the best elements from each

    Cons

    Big commitment
    The work we do has real consequences

    Advice to Management

    This company has evolved in my short time here, we are heading in the right direction.

    Softheon Response

    Nov 2, 2016 – Founder & CEO

    "People need to work in a vibrant, challenging, exciting environment. I think Softheon has that in spades. We don't make silly apps, we make real software that impacts many people's lives for the ... More


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Softheon"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Assistant in Stony Brook, NY
    Current Employee - Office Assistant in Stony Brook, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softheon full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Awesome Company to work for!
    I love to be part of Softheon! There care about they employees, they give us Lunch (great lunch) and Snacks (yummy snacks) everyday =)
    Softheon is a great place to work for!

    Cons

    Its not challenge a lot!
    I like everything about my job and my co-workers.
    Softheon is a great place to be working for.

    Advice to Management

    My manager is great! Everybody is friendly.
    Softheon is a Great Company!

    Softheon Response

    Nov 2, 2016 – Founder & CEO

    We think you are GREAT too.. :)


  3. Helpful (4)

    "Stay Away"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Stony Brook, NY
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Stony Brook, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Decent compensation package and catered lunches

    Cons

    Terrible management, not much room for growth, poor HR, uncomfortable culture, high turnover rate, false reviews online

    Advice to Management

    Those in senior management contribute to the high turnover rate. Pick management and HR roles much wiser.

    Softheon Response

    Feb 15, 2017 – Founder & CEO

    Foremost, appreciate your feedback and constructive criticism. It is true that Softheon has a demanding (and to a some uncomfortable) yet rewarding culture. Just as your most memorable teacher ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Great place to start and continue a career."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition in Stony Brook, NY
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition in Stony Brook, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softheon full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Softheon is a place that will allow you to follow your passion, and take the lead on projects and initiatives. You will work with a hard working, dedicated group of people, who all have the same common goal.

    Biggest Pro may be the various events and things that the company hosts. From Softheon Olympics to the daily catered lunch's, this place really cares about their employees, and has a fun and active culture.

    Cons

    Like most job's, you will be asked to give it your all. You need a certain mindset to work here, and if you don't have it, you will struggle.

    Advice to Management

    Keep growing the team. Continue to promote the culture and encourage all employees to find their passion at Softheon.


  6. "Summer at Softheon"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Stony Brook, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Stony Brook, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    - The company has a wonderful team environment.
    - Everything is very fast paced, so I learned a lot very quickly.
    - Softheon takes a lot of measures to ensure that employees are comfortable and happy in the workplace.
    - Lunch is catered in everyday and there are tons of snacks available all day long
    - Everybody is very accessible, including upper management

    Cons

    We are located in a shared building, so common spaces (lobby, break rooms, bathrooms, etc.) are all shared with building personnel and other small companies.

    Advice to Management

    As the company continues to grow, make sure that you don't lose the team environment! That is part of what makes Softheon so special, but it will get harder to maintain as the company gets larger.

    Softheon Response

    Aug 15, 2016 – Founder & CEO

    Although CEWIT has been an amazing facility, we hope to break ground on Softheon Building sometime soon. It will be an amazing facility, nothing short of Google or Facebook - that is our commitment ... More


  7. "Awesome Company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Web Development Intern in Stony Brook, NY
    Current Employee - Web Development Intern in Stony Brook, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    1. Great work environment (very supportive and family-like)
    2. Great people
    3. Opportunity to work with many departments
    4. Always something to do
    5. Everyone is always learning
    6. Great Projects
    7. Ability for Growth
    8. Ability to move positions/ responsibilities
    9. Softheon provides lunch every day
    10. There's a wall of snacks and stocked fridge for all
    11. Company-Wide events & Softheon Olympics (for more info you should apply!!)
    12. Ability to talk directly to the company's CEO
    13. Get to know everyone in the company

    Cons

    1. Not a large company (could be a pro for some)
    2. Located in a building that's not their own (need permission to do company-wide events)

    Advice to Management

    I never encountered any problems with management during my time here, so my advice to them would be to just keep doing what you are doing.

    Softheon Response

    Aug 15, 2016 – Founder & CEO

    One of our rules at Softheon is: STAND TALL, DON'T LOOK DOWN! Stand Tall - because we are very proud of the innovation, hard work, and commitment to enable million+ people access to ... More


  8. "Cool company, casual atmosphere, great learning experience"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Stony Brook, NY
    Former Employee - Intern in Stony Brook, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    As an intern, there are a lot of things that Softheon does really well. It creates a cool atmosphere among its employees. It's super casual. There's not a strict hierarchy, and I never felt like superiors pulled rank on me, which created an air of openness. As a result of this, it's easy to take initiatives. If you're coding, and there's a software platform you want to explore and implement, you are totally free to pitch it to your superiors, learn, and use it. If you want a look at healthcare and software development, this is a cool place to get the exposure.

    Cons

    Location. If you're not on Stony brook's campus or in Suffolk County, it's not exactly in the center of things.

    Advice to Management

    While a lot of the currently implemented technologies are really modern, I would recommend having interns work on updating some of the more dated technologies that are still used by the company.

    Softheon Response

    Aug 15, 2016 – Founder & CEO

    I sense we got only 4 stars because of our location; and, you are right about Stony Brook. It is not in the center of things. Then again it is a good place to plant some roots and to raise a family ... More


  9. "Challenging yet Rewarding"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Stony Brook, NY
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Stony Brook, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Softheon full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I am a Software Engineer that has been working at Softheon for 2.5 years. Softheon provides a unique experience to learn and continue to learn about the aspects of software engineering -- and I do mean LEARN. This is all done in fast-paced team environment. You may be working on one portion of the software stack but you will most certainly be exposed to its components.

    There are several opportunities to be challenged and challenge yourself. It is rewarding to see what you and your team are capable of and what you can create.

    Cons

    Occasionally it may be difficult to prioritize work.

    These may be considered cons to people who are unprepared: Work hard, take criticism and think.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to cultivate company culture.


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Stony Brook, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Stony Brook, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Softheon full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great opportunity for recent graduates looking to gain experience in a fast paced environment. There are some great opportunities to get a wide range of experience and become a well-rounded employee.

    Cons

    Hours can be very long, with tight deadlines and short timelines, but this teaches you to become flexible and adaptable to difficult situations.

    Advice to Management

    Encourage more growth opportunities, help employees find what they love, and continue to build and foster company culture.

    Softheon Response

    Feb 1, 2016 – Founder & CEO

    As Peter Drucker once said "Culture eats strategy for breakfast", we are in agreement on the culture aspect. Thanks again for the feedback. Walk in, call, or email your ideas on how to make us ... More


  11. Helpful (1)

    "Managing Director"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Stony Brook, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Stony Brook, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softheon (More than a year)

    Pros

    Tremendous opportunity for growth. If you have the desire to succeed and work hard you will be rewarded for your efforts. Softheon is a growing company in the industry and presents a great opportunity for career growth to some experienced or even non experienced professionals. Culture is important at Softheon and if you are willing to find a passion in something you do there is a role within this organization.

    Cons

    This is not a typical 9-5 job. There can be long days but the rewards outweigh the hours. With clients across the country not all are on the same work schedule so there are times when late nights are required.

    Advice to Management

    Keep building the senior management team.

    Softheon Response

    Jan 28, 2016 – HR Administrator

    Thank you for your feedback and review. We are committed to creating career growth opportunities for our employees and helping employees finding what they are passionate about. We appreciate our ... More


Showing 49 of 51 reviews
Reset Filters