Softway Reviews | Glassdoor

Softway Reviews

Updated Aug 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 93 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Softway CEO Mohammad Anwar (no image)
Mohammad Anwar
78 Ratings
  1. "A company that supports me professionally and personally - Equally!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softway full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people. The people. The people. It is a very diverse office and everyone treats each other like humans. Softway is a special place and that is a fact. The culture is unmatched. For Softway, the culture is organic. It's not forced. It's not company lunch or happy hour or team bonding events (we do have these but this doesn't create our culture). It's how we treat each other on a day to day basis - with... authentic communication and interactions. The culture lives inside of each person that works here. The biggest impact on me that Softway has had for my personal life is I am able to be a mother and successful in my career with out feeling like I am failing at one or the other at any given time. There is no mom guilt here. If my child is sick all I have to do is communicate it to my team, go get him from daycare and finish my day at home. I have worked for companies in the past that would allow me to do this but then hold it over my head later - NOT SOFTWAY! And I am SO THANKFUL because my child gets sick often. That being said they do offer flexible hours and remote days. The benefit packages are up there with the best as well. Softway truly puts it's people first. They live their mission statement of bringing humanity back to the workplace - it's not just words on a website or a wall. When you have struggles professionally or personally your teammates are there for you in a very genuine way as well. I can't brag on the people that make up this team enough. They are all uniquely awesome and very talented.

    Show More

    Cons

    Softway isn't perfect. They do have some growing pains like any company. But unlike most - they are open to the feedback, suggestions and ideas. They are constantly trying to change and improve. One area they can improve is career paths and inputing some processes. They don't want to run like a typical corporate office but some structure would be nice.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing. I love working here, feeling successful in my role at the office and at home, working with the team you have built, being empowered by my leadership and having my thoughts heard.

    Softway2019-08-28
  2. "For the first time in my life, I can truly say I love my job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softway full-time

    Pros

    Softway is different from any company I’ve known or come to learn about from others. It’s hard to put into words, let alone a review, because no one can really express or explain enough for someone to understand what it's like to work here with this team. This family. On the surface, I can see how there are things that can come off a bit disheveled. Our organization is still trying to figure things out and make... things better for ourselves every single day. You can see it in the CEO and the leadership team. The persistence, the drive and motivation they project to everyone is inspiring. If something works, they go for it. And if it doesn’t, it’s a learning experience and they make sure to go in a different direction or change something. Everyone here looks at failure as a learning opportunity, so feedback is always appreciated and welcomed. If you don't provide feedback or speak up, don't expect anything to change. Pretty simple. To me, there is no such thing as a perfect business or a perfect formula on how to run a company, so I’m not sure why all these reviews speak like they’re experts. But what I do know is that the people here actually care about you. They care about work you, personal you, and the future you with all your goals in mind. The managers will do whatever they can to set you up for the success that you want as long as you are willing to work for it too. And that says more to me as an individual and employee trying to better myself in work and in life than anything else.

    Show More

    Cons

    Of course, with everything great comes with some negative aspects. I won't sugarcoat anything. Your job will be hard at times because you’re juggling a lot, and there will be days that are harder than others, but the support your team will give is amazing. No one will let you struggle and if they can do anything to help you, they will. All you have to do is ask. And we need better oatmeal options for breakfast.

    Softway2018-08-02

    Softway Response

    December 4, 2018Communications Director

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are a family first and foremost that cares about each other. It’s incidental that we work together and find answers to puzzles together. That’s what makes working at Softway fun! We will consider your request for better oatmeal options.

  3. "A great place to work and grow."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softway full-time

    Pros

    Softway is a challenging place to work. We have challenging projects with clients that are hard to please and looking four our guidance and expertise. For those that love a good challenge, this is the place for you. The challenges we do face come with a healthy dose of accountability and teamwork. People here band together and solve problems as a team. Even the CEO. He’s first one in, last one out. Always serving... his people. Sometimes, when it comes to food, he’s literally serving us out of his own lunchbox. People genuinely care about you. A desire to learn and grow isn’t frowned upon. It’s a learning and growing culture and it won’t look the same as it does today six months from now. To me, that’s exciting. It’s also diverse. Built from the ground up to be as inclusive as possible. I don’t like to throw the “L” word around much, but I genuinely love Softway.

    Show More

    Cons

    It’s stressful. Not gonna lie. If you’re not up for a pedal to the medal approach, you will not have a good time. Basically, people who aren’t self-starters or willing to learn on the job will find it difficult.

    Advice to Management

    Keep learning and growing. Keep putting your people first. We can see that you’re trying hard to change the culture for the better.

    Softway2018-06-01

    Softway Response

    June 18, 2018Communications Director

    Thank you so very much for recognizing our growth and making a public testament to the progress we are making!

  4. Helpful (2)

    "An honest, maturing company with committed leadership."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Graphic Designer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softway full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is great freedom at the company that allows a creative to be flexible and flourish, and an openness and transparency that you can only find in a family-like environment. The employees are talented and dedicated, and there is a real desire to make the best work possible. I've been working at Softway for over 2 years and have seen many ups and downs, but the constant drive in the company is growth and... betterment. The management, and the CEO specifically, really does cherish the company and it shows in the commitment to push through tough decisions and be honest about the circumstances. There were rough times when the company was struggling to regroup and redirect in a healthier, more prosperous direction, and it was hard - not going to lie. But one of the things Softway has in it's employees is commitment to making something of ourselves and maturing. Currently, with the changes we've made along the way, we're starting to see the pay off of holding strong and working hard. The management is committed to their employees, and is diligent with showing each one they're appreciated. The company is still growing, and it's a labor of love. The atmosphere is one that's like a family who can be open and honest, and loves the work they do and the people they do it with.

    Show More

    Cons

    Not a "con" but you do have to put in the work to see results here. There are all the opportunities put in place to engage and move forward, but you do have to take an initiative and be outspoken about things that concern you because this is a past paced company. Management DOES value helping their employees, but because of the busyness and volume of work, you DO have to make sure you block off time and make an... effort to reach out to get the ball rolling; it's a two way street. This experience at this company is largely what you make of it.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep inviting the production teams to initial brainstorming meetings to get some ideas, it'll help encourage the critical thinking needed in the beginning stages of a project and helps creatives develop more well-roundedness so theres growth in collaboration skills. Some better telecommunication devices. :)

    Softway2017-03-24

    Softway Response

    April 13, 2017HR associate

    Thank you for your review. True, that Softway offers a wide scope of initiatives that encourage self-driven individuals to venture into various domains of cross-learning. Your suggestion on involving the production teams as part of the initial brainstorming sessions has been identified ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Digital Agency in Transformation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softway full-time

    Pros

    Great, warm people across US and India. The hospitality and graciousness across both teams is noticed from your first day. Eagerness to learn and improve at organization and individual levels makes it palatable/possible for positive change and growth. The current efforts to improve processes, collaboration and tools across critical functions will allow for empowerment and decisiveness at all levels within the... organization for better business outcomes. These changes are not coming top-down but those closest to the work are leading and informing these improvements and roll-outs to ensure feasibility and practicality (unlike other businesses where managers make uninformed decisions purely from Excel and PPT). There is a large focus on culture and people to ensure there is creativity, innovation and opportunity from CEO down. Client work challenges all parts of the business (creative, strategy & tech) to stretch and grow their expertise. Plus, internal product/app development allows for chance to try new things and learn completely new skills. Biryani Fridays! (Yes, we order and eat together family-style a few Fridays out of the month.) Oh, and we joke around a lot with each other. Sense of humor is a must here.

    Show More

    Cons

    Not really cons, but with any growing/changing environment, longer hours are necessary on some occasions (which the CEO does not want to be the norm). With new process comes change that requires new ways of working and collaborating (breaking habits and perceived comfort/ease). Client deadlines/requirements require flexibility and sacrifices at times, which may not be ideal or the best solution for the... project.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep changing and learning. Stay focused on the outcomes (business and client) and talent. Discipline, transparency and empathy should continue to be the trajectory for success, not hierarchy or closed-door policies like other businesses.

    Softway2016-04-16

    Softway Response

    May 16, 2016Communications Director

    WOW! Thank you for being so thorough and open with your feedback! You seem to have a lot of insight into the culture and brand we are trying to build and it means so very much that you have taken the time to tell us that we are on the right path. With all of the changes we are making, ...

    Show More
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing People and Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softway

    Pros

    - Very friendly environment to work and more importantly, learn in - The people are incredible and very talented. Youthful and diverse atmosphere - Upper level management has always been supportive and flexible. They are honest and have the best of intentions - Flexible work schedule that is accommodating - Very little politics and a flat hierarchy where open communication is the norm - Regardless of your... background or experience, your opinion counts and you can make a difference - Teamwork is everywhere and every employee will put in the extra effort. Passion is definitely there

    Show More

    Cons

    None. At times, the workload can be challenging but this is a part of working in a young company and actually challenging yourself to grow. I enjoy coming to work everyday.

    Softway2016-03-04

    Softway Response

    December 4, 2018Communications Director

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us! We value our employees and are committed to creating a good workplace culture.

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Account Coordinator/Recruiter 

    I have been working at Softway

    Pros

    People, including management, are flexible, your opinion counts, you feel you have an impact on the business, open communication, management and ELT are easily accessible and ready and willing to help. Progressive and dynamic group of people.

    Cons

    I can't think of any real issues. I enjoy coming to work everyday.

    Softway2015-12-03

    Softway Response

    February 15, 2016HR associate

    Thanks for sharing your feedback. We’re glad to learn that you see work as play and know that your opinion is counted. Fluidity and adaptability is what makes Softway stand apart from most other companies. Unlike many bigger corporates, our flat hierarchy facilitates open communication ...

    Show More
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Honest Company with good people behind it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Project Management & Quality Assurance in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softway full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone at the office is fun and friendly, with a very youthful atmosphere throughout. With all the different projects going on, there's always plenty to share and plenty to learn from. Everyone pitches in to get things done, and it always feels collaborative and positive; even when things are tough. Management included, everyone genuinely cares about their work and each other.

    Cons

    There's not a lot of experience throughout the organization, and things can get hectic at times. It definitely takes a proactive and adaptable person to succeed in the environment, as things are always changing and problems will come up. Things are done more organically than procedural, and it can be hard to keep up.

    Softway2015-08-18

    Softway Response

    December 4, 2018Communications Director

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are evolving and continue to respond to the changing business environments to set us up for success.

  9. "Awesome Company, Vision, People, Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softway full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I have been with the Softway for a long time and have seen the ups and downs due to recessions. Even during the most difficult of time Softway has never abandoned its principles and always supported the employees. This is the most fulfilling work I have been involved with as every suggestion is heard and incorporated into the company. The management has always been supportive and provides a lot of motivation. The... work schedule is flexible and works best for me. It is an open and creative environment, but is it demanding at times as each person is expected to achieve their potential. The president and the leadership team are always motivating and providing positive encouragement. There is always something interesting going on and coming to work feels more like a second home.

    Show More

    Cons

    - There is too much freedom and flexibility, and it is taken for granted at times. - Leadership always approaches issues positively and are taken advantage off. - Too many chances are given to under performing employees to improve.

    Advice to Management

    Continue doing what you are doing. The president has a great vision and mission, and I appreciate all the efforts he and the leadership team makes to provide a positive and creative working environment. I am happy to be a part of this company.

    Softway2015-06-19
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Exciting, Fulfilling, and Supportive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softway full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    An exciting company that gives the opportunity to work on interesting projects with high profile clients. The fast-paced working environment, coupled with supportive coworkers and management make this a perfect space to hone your craft. The senior management is helpful, down-to-earth, and involved (but does not micro-manage).

    Cons

    None. I know what it's like to have a dead end job that is soul sucking. This is definitely NOT one of them. I finally feel like my career has started rather than just another job.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to be encouraging and involved.

    Softway2015-03-31

    Softway Response

    June 11, 2015Communications Director

    Thank you very much for the feedback and encouragement. Your support is valued and appreciated!

Found 93 reviews