Softway Reviews | Glassdoor

Softway Reviews

Updated Aug 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 93 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Softway CEO Mohammad Anwar (no image)
Mohammad Anwar
78 Ratings
  1. "A company that supports me professionally and personally - Equally!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softway full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people. The people. The people. It is a very diverse office and everyone treats each other like humans. Softway is a special place and that is a fact. The culture is unmatched. For Softway, the culture is organic. It's not forced. It's not company lunch or happy hour or team bonding events (we do have these but this doesn't create our culture). It's how we treat each other on a day to day basis - with... authentic communication and interactions. The culture lives inside of each person that works here. The biggest impact on me that Softway has had for my personal life is I am able to be a mother and successful in my career with out feeling like I am failing at one or the other at any given time. There is no mom guilt here. If my child is sick all I have to do is communicate it to my team, go get him from daycare and finish my day at home. I have worked for companies in the past that would allow me to do this but then hold it over my head later - NOT SOFTWAY! And I am SO THANKFUL because my child gets sick often. That being said they do offer flexible hours and remote days. The benefit packages are up there with the best as well. Softway truly puts it's people first. They live their mission statement of bringing humanity back to the workplace - it's not just words on a website or a wall. When you have struggles professionally or personally your teammates are there for you in a very genuine way as well. I can't brag on the people that make up this team enough. They are all uniquely awesome and very talented.

    Show More

    Cons

    Softway isn't perfect. They do have some growing pains like any company. But unlike most - they are open to the feedback, suggestions and ideas. They are constantly trying to change and improve. One area they can improve is career paths and inputing some processes. They don't want to run like a typical corporate office but some structure would be nice.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing. I love working here, feeling successful in my role at the office and at home, working with the team you have built, being empowered by my leadership and having my thoughts heard.

    Softway2019-08-28
  2. "Good ..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Softway full-time

    Pros

    Good learning and good work culture

    Cons

    No cons to mention..all good

    Softway2019-07-17
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Gives freedom to work like you want, Welcomes new Ideas, Fun&Food Loving!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softway full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Freedom is a big one, you can work as you want, from wherever you want, come and leave whenever you want, work from home - Casual work environment - Breakfast and Dinner - You can reach out to anyone to discuss anything - Fun, Food, Sports loving - Appreciates and tries out new ideas from the team - Latest tools to work with, you get powerful Laptops / MacBooks as per the project's requirement, other tools... like JIRA, Google (Business Account) that makes your life so much easier.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Two months notice period :(

    Softway2019-02-22

    Softway Response

    March 14, 2019HR associate

    Thanks for sharing your experience of Softway. We're glad the Softway culture is growing on you :)

  4. Helpful (6)

    "Don't believe the 5 Star reviews"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Softway full-time

    Pros

    some people are fun to work with.

    Cons

    I'll start by pointing out the obvious. Every time someone writes a negative review on here, magically a few days later there is a 5 STAR review posted, most likely by someone from the little "group" that everyone writes about here. I haven't been here that long and I won't be here much longer. This place is a cancer that only breeds back stabbing and distrust. If you plan on getting a job here, DON'T TRUST ANYONE,... there are very few people that are trust worthy of anything. They have 1 account that matters to them and every decision they make is for that account. They talk a big game about trying to find more and "diversify their portfolio" but it's all lies. Also, that 1 account is really boring and corporate, the projects we get from them are really limited in any form of creativity. Now lets talk about the different departments. If you get hired as a PM (really high turn over from what I have heard and I understand why), you will be humiliated in public meetings and you won't get to "manage" anything. You're a note taker that takes the brunt of the punishment when things go wrong with projects. If you get a job in the UX department, you'll be expected to produce mediocre work and the leadership here is condescending. If you get hired in the creative department you will never receive any creative brief or even any proper information as to what you need to do, just figure it out. If you choose the Accounts department, you'll have your hands tied behind your back each day because they will turn down every opportunity you present to them. there's no money to be made here when you work on commission yet they only care about one account. I'm sure that when they try to recruit you, they will try to preach about how this place is a big family and everyone loves each other. It's a beautiful curtain but it's not what lies behind. They will probably even ask you to sit in on some presentation about how we all need to love each other, which is very awkward to listen to when you see what happens day-to-day here. It would be nice if they would actually DO what they are asking everyone else to do. To touch on what everyone else has written on here. Yes there is a group of favorite employees that have brown particles in their teeth. Yes, there are many inter-office relationships that make work awkward. No, there is not a single bone of real love or care in this place for anyone, they act just as every other business does. Money is the priority here, lets not try to say otherwise.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop writing false reviews just to keep your rating up and bury the negative ones. You guys are so full of yourselves that you can't see that this is really a terrible place to work. And don't tell me to go "talk to a director I trust" because there are none.

    Softway2018-12-12

    Softway Response

    January 4, 2019Communications Director

    It's unfortunate that you feel this way. All feedback is good feedback and we appreciate your candor. As for the roles, we’ve been doing a lot of intense team workshops that have identified gaps that we’ve started addressing in 2018. But we’ll definitely look into this more, talk ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (1)

    "The Company Who cares for their People!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Creative in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softway full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - Excellent, second-family level culture - CEO is a great inspiration for most of the employees, He is a great Human being and a genuine person, He is very straight forward in giving feedback, never encourage politics of any kind. I had been to USA office in 2016, And I saw him working 16 hours a day, the first person to come to the office and last person to leave the office. For me he is a great inspiration and... a true leader, he sacrificed a lot for Softway being an employee we don't understand, he deserve a lot more love and respect. I had visited his home when I was in US, he introduced me as his friend to others, He treated me so well I had never expected that, I can say he has impacted my life, lot of positive things in my life has happend just because of him, but he never expected anything in returns. He is the only CEO I have seen who asks for feedback about him from the employees. - Leadership Team is young and always ready to adopt changes. In my experience, you can give feedback anytime to anyone and you will see the changes. They all have the "golden heart". In the tough time when Softway's business was down in 2016 few of the leaders came up and did not take their pay raise and that says a lot about what Softway means for them. We breathe Softway!!! - Respected within it's niche - Transparent management team - Small team benefits: Voice is heard, I've never felt like a number - Challenging projects and Healthy competition - Competitive pay compared to other company - A truly incredible roster of talent - I think this is the only company where, if somebody is asked to leave due to their performance issues management pay them one month salary and ask them not to come to office so that they can search for job, and many times management helped them to find job. I will say people are so lucky to work for Softway where management thinks about their employees so much.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Still a young company, so sometimes things change quickly or aren't fully thought out. However, management is quick to act when gaps are brought up by staff.

    Advice to Management

    There's not much to say - the struggles are understandable, organizational growing pains are to be expected. The culture here is incredible and management has been foundational in making this an exceptional place to work. Thank you for everything you do for the employees!

    Softway2018-08-04

    Softway Response

    December 4, 2018Communications Director

    Thank you for taking your time out to write a review. It’s true that we have a visionary leader who is inspiring and demonstrates true leadership skills. We believe in leading by example and we’re continually working on bettering ourselves and being the best employers out there. We ...

    Show More
  6. "For the first time in my life, I can truly say I love my job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softway full-time

    Pros

    Softway is different from any company I’ve known or come to learn about from others. It’s hard to put into words, let alone a review, because no one can really express or explain enough for someone to understand what it's like to work here with this team. This family. On the surface, I can see how there are things that can come off a bit disheveled. Our organization is still trying to figure things out and make... things better for ourselves every single day. You can see it in the CEO and the leadership team. The persistence, the drive and motivation they project to everyone is inspiring. If something works, they go for it. And if it doesn’t, it’s a learning experience and they make sure to go in a different direction or change something. Everyone here looks at failure as a learning opportunity, so feedback is always appreciated and welcomed. If you don't provide feedback or speak up, don't expect anything to change. Pretty simple. To me, there is no such thing as a perfect business or a perfect formula on how to run a company, so I’m not sure why all these reviews speak like they’re experts. But what I do know is that the people here actually care about you. They care about work you, personal you, and the future you with all your goals in mind. The managers will do whatever they can to set you up for the success that you want as long as you are willing to work for it too. And that says more to me as an individual and employee trying to better myself in work and in life than anything else.

    Show More

    Cons

    Of course, with everything great comes with some negative aspects. I won't sugarcoat anything. Your job will be hard at times because you’re juggling a lot, and there will be days that are harder than others, but the support your team will give is amazing. No one will let you struggle and if they can do anything to help you, they will. All you have to do is ask. And we need better oatmeal options for breakfast.

    Softway2018-08-02

    Softway Response

    December 4, 2018Communications Director

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are a family first and foremost that cares about each other. It’s incidental that we work together and find answers to puzzles together. That’s what makes working at Softway fun! We will consider your request for better oatmeal options.

  7. "Good to kick start with your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softway full-time

    Pros

    For a fresher it's a great opportunity to learn new technologies and explore. Friendly environment. Time flexibility. Always on the tip of the toe to help when stuck.

    Cons

    Need to improvise in terms of cafeteria and infra.

    Softway2018-07-31

    Softway Response

    August 2, 2018HR associate

    Thank you for sharing your experience! We are getting our office space revamped and hopefully should have these concerns addressed soon!

  8. "Good place for technical growth but lacks professionalism."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softway full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. Opportunities to explore and learn the technologies you are interested in. 2. Good place to grow yourself technically, especially for freshers. 3. Some projects are being implemented in cutting edge technologies, good place to learn and enhance your skill set.

    Cons

    1. Majority of the people lack effective communication. 2. Too much flexibility has decreased the professionalism in employees. 3. A few people at higher designations are not deserving.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on improving the communication and professional skills of employees.

    Softway2018-07-25

    Softway Response

    December 4, 2018Communications Director

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We want to attract the best talent out there and provide challenging work opportunities to grow our employees. We are also rolling out training programs for employees. We trust in our employees and give them the flexibility in work ...

    Show More
  9. "A company that has a will to adopt and change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Web Developer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softway full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. The quote "Mistakes have the power to turn you into something better than you were before.” best suites Softway. It is trying in all possible ways to correct its past mistakes. 2. Employees are motivated to learn new things. 3. Good work culture.

    Cons

    1. Should improve the incentives.

    Advice to Management

    1

    Softway2018-07-25

    Softway Response

    December 4, 2018Communications Director

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are definitely a work in progress, but we’re headed in the right direction, by introducing many employee-friendly policies and keeping our focus on being the best workplace.

  10. Helpful (4)

    "Lacking sincere leadership and fairness to everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Softway full-time

    Pros

    Great business opportunity and future company growth

    Cons

    The CEO is a game player. If you aren't a favorite you will get stabbed in the back. You will get belittled in public and his favorite "buddy" will talk down to you. The CEO is not a truly honest person. If you suck up you move up. To have no real management experience before starting his own company, he feel he knows it all.

    Advice to Management

    They won't listen, because Mo and his buddy run and decide everything.

    Softway2018-07-17

    Softway Response

    August 2, 2018HR associate

    Thank you for your feedback. Mohammad is someone who values feedback as it's helped him correct relationships and grow over the years. Known to be transparent and someone that values every relationship, we encourage you reach out to him or any other person from the leadership team ...

    Show More
Found 93 reviews