Soho VFX Reviews | Glassdoor

Soho VFX Reviews

Updated Mar 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 28 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Berj Bannayan
23 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing VFX Studio"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Compositor in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Soho VFX full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It's one of the best places to work in Toronto in my opinion. I worked here for 7 years and had a great time. People make this place, there are great talented artists who are very easy going and extremely approachable.

    Cons

    Studio definitely needs a little more communication between production and artists. Production coordinators need to communicate better to the artists

    Advice to Management

    little more communication between production and artists

    Soho VFX2019-03-27
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Soho VFX"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Visual FX Artist in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Soho VFX full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    It has a good environment where artists can work together and don't feel stuck in a cubicle. There is a nice work life balance and artists do socialize out of work as well. Also the studio is flexible with things going on in your life and can help figure out solutions. The projects vary from A list movies and some shows to average. Usually there are no really bad projects. The studio is open to people expanding or evolving...

    Show More

    Cons

    The only thing that is a negative is that one artist abused their sick leave and then the studio took it down from 10 sick days down to 2 sick days. Which really sucks.

    Advice to Management

    Soho really strives to have a family environment but that feeling gets tainted by only having 2 sick days. I mean kids are cesspools and one is bound to feel crappy at least one day a season. And then If you get really sick or something goes wrong 2 days is not enough.

    Soho VFX2019-02-21
  3. "It's what you make of it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - VFX Artist in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Soho VFX full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Laid back non corporate environment that allows people to be themselves. Minimal office politics. Majority of people here are friendly and helpful. Flexible hours. Management reasonable at accommodating requests. Owners involved in daily operations, so hard work and individual contribution is recognized. Increasingly better projects. Occasionally social events and beer Fridays. It's what you make of it. Attitude is...

    Show More

    Cons

    Not for everyone. If you're looking for constant praise and titles this place will disappoint. Soho is not big on titles so to an outsider, individuals competence and track record can be confused with favoritism. If you're a junior early days might seem overwhelming due to lack of training. This varies between depts. Some of the best vfx artists I've known started at Soho as juniors but have moved on, so talent retention...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Facilitate more communication between departments. Delegate technical oversight early on during pre production which is sometimes missing.

    Soho VFX2019-02-22
  4. Helpful (15)

    "Bottom feeders of the industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Animator 

    I worked at Soho VFX full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    no pros at all, be warned this studio has major cultural and professional problems.

    Cons

    A vile group of employees that management turns a blind eye to and actually encourages back stabbing, bullying . The most negative work environment I have ever seen in any industry. With supervisors that believe in making anyone that is a threat to them look bad as publicly as they can to keep the herd inline. It is not uncommon to see fights and racist behaviour but because they are “talented artists” they can...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Train your producers and managers on how to manage people correctly and stop turning a blind eye to vile behaviour. It’s not strongest survive, it’s mob mentality rules. Listen to your employees and evolve your pipeline. It’s a joke. Get some company values, because your work environment is a cancer on the industry.

    Soho VFX2019-03-19

    Soho VFX Response

    March 27, 2019CEO

    On behalf of Soho VFX, I would like to apologize for your negative experience while working at our company. We have strict policies in place regarding discrimination and harassment; violations of those policies are treated with zero tolerance. Unfortunately we were not made aware ...

    Show More
  5. "Texture artist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Soho VFX full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    So far the best studio I have ever worked at so far. 1: flexible work hours. 2: great projects. 3: comfortable work environment. 4: good amount of works(85% of the time I have something to work on without over time) 5: friendly coworkers. 6: it is 5 munites walking from go train station, so it is great if you don't live in downtown.

    Cons

    a few down side 1: the pay is only ok, but you can balance it out by doing some freelance or enjoying life since it is not a super busy company. 2: the pipeline and software isn't the the most updated, but for we do it holds up fine.

    Advice to Management

    nothing really to complain, sometime the I feel like the pipeline and the software are little behind, so some empoyees may feel little bit zoned.

    Soho VFX2019-02-21
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Toxic work environment, out of date tools"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Soho VFX full-time

    Pros

    - They try to keep overtime to a reasonable level - Some good people, but they leave when they realize why the environment is so toxic - Christmas party is great.

    Cons

    - Very toxic work environment, run by a clique of artists that have worked there way too long and it shows to the point it’s just strange and disturbing. (If you work there you’ll know what I mean). Lack of values means they are proud to be horrible. - Pipeline is stuck in early 2000’s when any suggestion of updating certain things, you’re shut down and shunned because they been doing it this way for years so it’s...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the “characters” there. They create a toxic work enviroment when the owners or HR aren’t around, when they know they can get away with anything creating an environment that people are not comfortable in. Pay overtime. Simple.

    Soho VFX2019-02-10
  7. Helpful (3)

    "President is Toxic!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Coordinator in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Soho VFX full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The CEO who leaves the day to day operations to the President is a terrific guy, the staff are very friendly and talented

    Cons

    The President is awful. Negotiates overtime, employees always lose. It is not uncommon for him to throw fits .

    Advice to Management

    Have the CEO handle daily operations. Compensate employees according to labour law.

    Soho VFX2019-02-13
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Good to start in the industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Soho VFX full-time

    Pros

    Not that much overtime.flexible environment,nice people and amazing manager,good place to start learning, good benefits if you are fulltime.

    Cons

    Salary is less than in other studios, they do not offer food if you do overtime, coffee sucks,not many sick days.

    Advice to Management

    Offer food to your employees if they do overtime.specially late nights

    Soho VFX2018-01-22
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Committed to disorganization and mediocrity. Spooky from day one."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Soho VFX full-time

    Pros

    Internal pecking order and total lack of awareness can be entertaining at times. Free fancy juices.

    Cons

    Severe issues with lack of consistency and communication. Anti-collaborative environment. This is not a place where you grow and move on but more of a place where people stay in the same place and don't progress. Inefficient workflow on so many levels. High turnover and rude management practices.

    Advice to Management

    Work on your manners and common decency. Get over yourself.

    Soho VFX2018-01-18
  10. "Good studio right after the school."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Animator in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Soho VFX full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible time to keep the balance between work and life. Good location in downtown. Some interesting projects. Good management and supervisers and coordinators.

    Cons

    Not that high salary. Not many talented artists around. Expensive area around to rent for staying. Often there is heavy vfx garbage projects.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up that good working.

    Soho VFX2017-06-12
Found 28 reviews