KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Solar Transport

Is this your company?

Solar Transport

Add a Review

Solar Transport Reviews

Updated Jan 17, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 35 of over 36 reviews

3.3
58%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Solar Transport President Thomas Jones (no image)
Thomas Jones
2 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Solid Company

    Oct 13, 2021 - Retail Fuel Transport Driver in Pueblo, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good solid company that isn’t perfect, but has always tried to make things better.

    Cons

    Not much for bonuses with new pay structure

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Solar Transport Response

    Thank you for your feedback! 2021 seen some record changing times for our Industry and right away Solar Transport's Senior Leadership Team recognized we are a company that cares, respects and values the job our drivers do daily. We quickly implemented pay increases throughout all our regions to ensure our drivers are leading the industry in wages and benefits. We have only professional drivers at Solar Transport and we will continue to treat them that way. The 2022 bonus programs are implemented in many areas for drivers from PTO to years of Service. We have stability until retirement for our drivers.

  2. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Not Good

    Jan 17, 2022 - Clerical Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Free coke and food. Heated garage. Professional office. Lots of PTO.

    Cons

    No room to grow. Micromanaging. Open office concept.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Good Company

    May 3, 2021 - Local Fuel Hauler in Fort Smith, AR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Home every day Fairly consistent work schedule

    Cons

    Driver issues sometimes aren't addressed as quickly as they could be.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Solar Transport Response

    Thank you for your feedback, we now have local engagements for drivers to communicate directly not only to their managers but the Senior Leadership Team. We make sure there is a work life balance that exists for our drivers.

  4. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    To many rules

    Feb 20, 2021 - Truck Driver in Springfield, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great bunch of drivers to work with

    Cons

    To many rules. Always looking for ways to fire you. Supervisor hides and watches you deliver then can't wait to tell you what you did wrong. They over hire so when work slows down you barely survive. Benefits are great but way to expensive and not enough vacation time

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Solar Transport Response

    As always we want to thank our employees current and past for taking the time to submit feedback. We have taken the constructive feedback and have implemented many engagement opportunities. We have come along way in the past year and are proud of our drivers and support teams. We listen and will continue to evolve communications within all of our regions.

  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Company First; Employee's not valued

    Jan 22, 2021 - Dispatcher in Springfield, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent compensation and benefits, schedule is flexible

    Cons

    Company centered culture, employees are just numbers, no consistency, no communication, extreme lack of professionalism. Unless you are a "yes man", you well not make it long here.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Solar Transport Response

    We appreciate feedback. I believe the listed Pros here are true and should be focused on. In transportation there are positions you apply for such as dispatcher and they hold different responsibilities from company to company. Here at Solar Transport a dispatch position is one of support. We have implemented ongoing training and communications for our dispatch team so they can provide the support to our drivers and peers. We firmly believe all our roles are support roles.

  6. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Solar

    Sep 30, 2020 - Billing 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Family friendly and laid back

    Cons

    smaller company with a lot of room to grow

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Good Company

    Dec 30, 2020 - Driver in Des Moines, IA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Safety comes first at Solar

    Cons

    Benfites can be better . Health insurance is pricey

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Very Good Place to Work

    May 15, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people and management. Care about employees

    Cons

    lacks a little in the area of communication

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    No advancement and disrespectful management.

    Jan 29, 2020 - Fleet Manager in Des Moines, IA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Three years ago i would have had plenty of pros.

    Cons

    I have worked for Solar over 5 years. When i started i was told by management, coworkers and friends that the company was thriving with plenty of advancement opportunities. After giving it my all day in and day out rarely missing work. I quickly found out that it is not the case and there was no advancement opportunities, you were stuck in the day to day slug where you are not appreciated. Solar Transport has some of the worse equipment in the trucking industry. They are very unreliable and fleet management is not given the equipment to perform the job duties. I would never recommend this job to anyone. Stay away!

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    Solar Transport Response

    Recruiting Manager, Drivers

    Your comment concerning equipment is completely unfounded. The average age of equipment is 3.5 years. This is by no means even close to being worse equipment in the industry. Additionally there are advancement opportunities and they are based on performance.

  10. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    By the book only when it benefits

    Oct 2, 2019 - Fuel Delivery Driver in Tulsa, OK
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The pay fluctuates wildly but the safety bonuses, quarterly bonuses and christmas fund are good.

    Cons

    Day to day operations on the ground can be sketchy at times. Bringing issues up to management leads to no resolution. When a problem arises, drivers are left holding the bag. Quick to discipline, slow to correct issues faced on the ground.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 35 Reviews

Solar Transport Reviews FAQs

58% of Solar Transport employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Solar Transport 2.9 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.1 for culture and values and 3.1 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Solar Transport to be career development, culture, benefits and the cons to be workplace, compensation, management.

Popular Careers with Solar Transport Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Solar Transport? Share Your Experiences

Solar Transport logo
or