Cover image for Solar Transport
Logo

Solar Transport

Engaged Employer

Solar Transport

Add a Review

Solar Transport Reviews

Updated Feb 24, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 36 of over 37 reviews
3.1
56% Recommend to a Friend
50% Approve of CEO

Found 36 of over 37 reviews

3.1
56%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Solar Transport President Thomas Jones (no image)
Thomas Jones
2 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Benefits were active 45 days of hire, they have a savings program that I take full advantage of and use for family vacations and I'm home every night!(in 4 reviews)
  • "Pay seems competitive.(in 3 reviews)
Cons
    There are no cons to display at this time.
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Solid Company

    Oct 13, 2021 - Retail Fuel Transport Driver in Pueblo, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good solid company that isn’t perfect, but has always tried to make things better.

    Cons

    Not much for bonuses with new pay structure

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Solar Transport Response

    Thank you for your feedback! 2021 seen some record changing times for our Industry and right away Solar Transport's Senior Leadership Team recognized we are a company that cares, respects and values the job our drivers do daily. We quickly implemented pay increases throughout all our regions to ensure our drivers are leading the industry in wages and benefits. We have only professional drivers at Solar Transport and we will continue to treat them that way. The 2022 bonus programs are implemented in many areas for drivers from PTO to years of Service. We have stability until retirement for our drivers.

  2. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Bad chooses

    Feb 24, 2022 - Fleet Manager in Des Moines, IA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Hours of work are not bad

    Cons

    The people that work for this company

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Solar Transport team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Not Good

    Jan 17, 2022 - Clerical Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Free coke and food. Heated garage. Professional office. Lots of PTO.

    Cons

    No room to grow. Micromanaging. Open office concept.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Good Company

    May 3, 2021 - Local Fuel Hauler in Fort Smith, AR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Home every day Fairly consistent work schedule

    Cons

    Driver issues sometimes aren't addressed as quickly as they could be.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Solar Transport Response

    Thank you for your feedback, we now have local engagements for drivers to communicate directly not only to their managers but the Senior Leadership Team. We make sure there is a work life balance that exists for our drivers.

  6. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    To many rules

    Feb 20, 2021 - Truck Driver in Springfield, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great bunch of drivers to work with

    Cons

    To many rules. Always looking for ways to fire you. Supervisor hides and watches you deliver then can't wait to tell you what you did wrong. They over hire so when work slows down you barely survive. Benefits are great but way to expensive and not enough vacation time

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Solar Transport Response

    As always we want to thank our employees current and past for taking the time to submit feedback. We have taken the constructive feedback and have implemented many engagement opportunities. We have come along way in the past year and are proud of our drivers and support teams. We listen and will continue to evolve communications within all of our regions.

  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Company First; Employee's not valued

    Jan 22, 2021 - Dispatcher in Springfield, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent compensation and benefits, schedule is flexible

    Cons

    Company centered culture, employees are just numbers, no consistency, no communication, extreme lack of professionalism. Unless you are a "yes man", you well not make it long here.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Solar Transport Response

    We appreciate feedback. I believe the listed Pros here are true and should be focused on. In transportation there are positions you apply for such as dispatcher and they hold different responsibilities from company to company. Here at Solar Transport a dispatch position is one of support. We have implemented ongoing training and communications for our dispatch team so they can provide the support to our drivers and peers. We firmly believe all our roles are support roles.

  8. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Good Company

    Dec 30, 2020 - Driver in Des Moines, IA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Safety comes first at Solar

    Cons

    Benfites can be better . Health insurance is pricey

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Solar

    Sep 30, 2020 - Billing 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Family friendly and laid back

    Cons

    smaller company with a lot of room to grow

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Very Good Place to Work

    May 15, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people and management. Care about employees

    Cons

    lacks a little in the area of communication

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    if you just want to be a number, work here

    Apr 5, 2020 - Class A Truck Driver 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    you are home every day

    Cons

    you're not treated with respect

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 36 Reviews
</>Embed

Solar Transport Reviews FAQs

Solar Transport has an overall rating of 3.1 out of 5, based on over 37 reviews left anonymously by employees. 56% of employees would recommend working at Solar Transport to a friend and 41% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Solar Transport employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.4 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Solar Transport. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

56% of Solar Transport employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Solar Transport 2.9 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.1 for culture and values and 3.0 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Solar Transport to be career development, culture, benefits and the cons to be workplace, compensation, management.

Popular Careers with Solar Transport Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Solar Transport? Share Your Experiences

Solar Transport logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Solar Transport Photos

+ Add Photo
Solar Transport photo of: Corporate Headquarters
Solar Transport photo of: Solar Transport
Solar Transport photo of: Solar Transport
Solar Transport photo of: 2022 Shine
Solar Transport photo of: Driver of the Quarter
Solar Transport photo of: West Fleet
Solar Transport photo of: Certified Driver Trainer Class
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

MAUSER-WERKEKrause Group

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Solar Transport Job Seekers Also Viewed

Groendyke Transport Logo
Groendyke Transport

3.0

153 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 37 Solar Transport reviews submitted anonymously by Solar Transport employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Solar Transport is right for you.