Solar Turbines Intern Reviews | Glassdoor

Solar Turbines Intern Reviews

Updated Jun 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 reviews

4.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Jim Umpleby
1 Ratings
  1. "Great Company Great Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Intern in San Diego, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at Solar Turbines

    Pros

    Great company culture with a lot of talented individuals. Company parking lot downtown and free. Very useful for socializing after work or on the weekends.

    Cons

    I didn't quite get enough work. I spent a lot of time waiting for new assignments.

    Solar Turbines2017-01-13
  2. "internship experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern - Hourly in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Solar Turbines for more than a year

    Pros

    Work-life balance is good. Managers are flexible and welcome to discuss the project. Company sponsored well to educate employees . Easy to get access or download new software programs or tools. Overall, I had great experience and get personal growth.

    Cons

    Lack of communications among different departments.

    Advice to Management

    It would be better if there are more conversation between each departments to let employees know the whole situation of the company

    Solar Turbines2015-02-09
  3. "Interned at Solar"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in San Diego, CA
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Solar Turbines for less than a year

    Pros

    - great, friendly people who are willing to help you out or answer any question you have - decent pay for an intern position - company is doing better and better each year

    Cons

    - the office environment is sort of depressing, not a very welcoming and creative place - seems like everything is bogged down by Caterpillar's big company bureaucracy - with more business coming to the company, employees are working extra

    Advice to Management

    Improve the office environment to make it a better place to come in every morning. It feels dark and depressing.

    Solar Turbines2015-01-30
  4. "Great introductory work experience, compensation, and hours."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Solar Turbines

    Pros

    Rotational programs allow for experience in many areas over the course of your career. Employees are responsible for certain aspects of each project and with with others in the department to share findings and budgets in order to ensure that projects are profitable and other strategic discussions. Annual conferences are held to that include employees from international offices, great way to learn about e successes and...

    Show More

    Cons

    Althought there is a rotational program, each rotation does not necessarily result in promotion. Each employee is promoted about once every 1.5 - 3 years.

    Solar Turbines2012-04-01
  5. "Great Place To LEarn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Solar Turbines part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A lot of training to gain experience.

    Cons

    Repetitive Job, since it takes a lot to learn new things.

    Solar Turbines2019-05-05
  6. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Engineer Intern in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Solar Turbines for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly colleagues, learn a lot of new things

    Cons

    Nothing worth to mention about

    Solar Turbines2018-04-03
  7. "Excelente Engineering Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Tijuana, Baja California

    I worked at Solar Turbines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Constant challenges and intresting projects.

    Cons

    Corporate environments that can seem retro

    Solar Turbines2017-12-29
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Intern in
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Solar Turbines

    Pros

    Good Pay Nice people Flexible schedule Located in San Diego, which is probably the nicest city in US

    Cons

    Old and boring Makes me feel like i cannot do much

    Solar Turbines2012-03-06
  9. "Experiencia laboral"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern in Tijuana, Baja California
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Solar Turbines for less than a year

    Pros

    EL área de trabajo es bastante agradable, se te dan todas las herramientas para elaborar las actividades, el ambiente laboral es bastante amigable e intentan incluirte en su circulo social, brinda muy buenas prestaciones y es muy fácil aprender cosas nuevas.

    Cons

    ninguna mala expriencia durante mi internado.

    Advice to Management

    Lo recomiendo en todos los aspectos

    Solar Turbines2019-06-27
Found 9 reviews