Solar Turbines Reviews | Glassdoor

Solar Turbines Reviews

Updated Jul 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 260 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Jim Umpleby
11 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Solar Turbines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Longevity of employment, fun and interesting place to work. Room for career growth

    Cons

    Since caterpillar took over solar turbines has changed immensely benefits and retirement are not the same

    Advice to Management

    Bring back the medical options and pension some of the good things that were there are now long gone thanks to caterpillar

    Solar Turbines2018-01-05
  2. "Good overall company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Controls Design Engineer in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Solar Turbines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Normal company, used to be great, still is decent. Overall a good choice in San Diego. They clamped down a bit on things after the Caterpillar buyout.

    Cons

    After the Caterpillar buyout they started cutting perks, it used to be a quirky and interesting, fun, place to work. During my 3.5 years there I saw it getting more and more corporate. If you're looking for a good job, it's a good option though. Though not a huge amount of room to grow.

    Advice to Management

    Buy Solar back from Caterpillar. Focus on innovation and making Solar an interesting place to work, with a vision behind it. Right now the vision is just to help Cat's bottom line.

    Solar Turbines2018-01-01
  3. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Solar Turbines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People are treated like family. Flexibility on schedules and work times are big priorities for the company. I have always had great leaders and managers, but like any company its not perfect. Great 401k match, and a nice big bonus when the company does well.

    Cons

    Solar needs to be a little bit better at paying high performers, but they are often restricted by corporate structures.

    Advice to Management

    invest more money in your pipeline for new talent. I know we have great talent now, but that won't last long with retirements and millennials moving into the workforce.

    Solar Turbines2017-12-22
  4. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Solar Turbines full-time

      Pros

      great pay for an inter

      Cons

      I have nothing bad to say

      Solar Turbines2017-12-07
    • Helpful (2)

      "Culture lacking in safety, innovation, diversity, and anti-discrimination"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Mechanical Engineer in San Diego, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Solar Turbines full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      San Diego is a beautiful place to work. Many men there that have been there for their entire career. They are good at offering advice and other activities to advance careers.

      Cons

      Disrespectful culture, as can be seen in many of the reviews, especially the one where the former employee rates one the pros as many “loose” girls.

      Advice to Management

      Eliminate much of the middle managers. The company will have no expertise as young people find no demonstration for advancement as they witness the middle age technical specialists leave for better environments. Encourage smart, experienced specialist to take leadership training to become the face of the company’s future.

      Solar Turbines2017-12-30
    • "Excellent company that cares about its employees"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Safety Manager in Wexford, PA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Solar Turbines full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      They allow for flexible thinking, which enables people to showcase their strengths and grow their department. Fellow employees are down to earth, caring and understanding. Company still holds holiday parties and family work picnics. Company values safety and employee satisfaction.

      Cons

      I️ should’ve never left this company. Companies that value their employees and lead with positive people grow in the right direction. Solar Turbines is a rare A+ job. Don’t believe me? Leave the company and you’ll see what I️ mean, you’ll always regret it.

      Advice to Management

      Keep investing in your employees and leading with positive thinking and modeling. Happy employees = stronger business.

      Solar Turbines2017-11-14
    • "FSR"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Financial Service Representative in Lafayette, LA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Solar Turbines full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Great company to work for! Good pay and benefits

      Cons

      Long hours and travels

      Advice to Management

      None

      Solar Turbines2017-11-15
    • Helpful (1)

      "Supply Chain"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA

      I worked at Solar Turbines full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Good benefits. Most other employees very nice to work with and good teamwork.

      Cons

      Worked there 20 years and was terminated by a manager that did not like having an employee with a disability working for him.

      Advice to Management

      Listen to your employees and not just protect managers.

      Solar Turbines2017-12-15
    • "Great Company with Excellent Values"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Central Human Resources Manager in San Diego, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Solar Turbines full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Solar is a great place to work that has strong leadership and is built on Values. There is an emphasis at Solar on living our Values in Action (similar to Code of Conduct) that drives our behaviors and guides us in what is acceptable behavior with our customers, our supplies/vendors and each other. Solar provides a wide variety of career opportunities and many employees have enjoyed long term employment in various areas...

      Show More

      Cons

      San Diego is an expensive city for the Solar headquarters.

      Solar Turbines2017-11-07
    • "Good Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Solar Turbines full-time

      Pros

      People, Environment, and the willingness to keep you employed when business is slow.

      Cons

      Applied for 3 positions internally, although I was more than qualified, I was continuously denied the job because "you don't have a degree." The folks that got the job over me, they had no degree as well. I will be back with my degree.

      Solar Turbines2017-11-14
    Found 260 reviews