SolarCity Field Energy Consultant- Sales Reviews | Glassdoor

SolarCity Reviews

Updated Aug 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2339 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
SolarCity CEO Lyndon Rive
Lyndon Rive
1608 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Field Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity

    Pros

    Flexible Schedule. Company car. Laptop.

    Cons

    Management are pushy and rude. Favoritism. Quotas. Too many changes to company rule, literally every quarter the rule changes.

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your sales. Fix bad management.

    SolarCity2018-08-21
  2. "So sad to see it gone and so many losing their jobs."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time

    Pros

    The people were so passionate, they cared so much for each other and the work that they were doing.

    Cons

    Some of the exeuctives who were added in the last couple of years were sorely lacking in diversity skills and had questionable backgrounds.

    Advice to Management

    don't give up on solar!

    SolarCity2018-07-13
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Solar Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time

    Pros

    I enjoyed working at solar city

    Cons

    You work very long days

    Advice to Management

    keep up the good work

    SolarCity2018-07-18
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Surveyor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at SolarCity full-time

    Pros

    Working for Solarcity was great. Bonus per job made for scalable benefit-to-increased work ratio

    Cons

    Pressure on surveyors instead of on sales

    SolarCity2018-06-27
  5. "Inspection Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at SolarCity full-time

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities to move up. It's nice to work for a solar company that is helping the environment. Most coworkers are great.

    Cons

    Management is pretty good but often overworked so concerned may take awhile to get addressed.

    Advice to Management

    Happy employee's will work harder. Make sure to be observant to the guys around you and what will help them out.

    SolarCity2018-06-23
  6. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Roseville, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I loved working here the environment was the best.

    Cons

    no complaints everything was good.

    SolarCity2018-06-21
  7. "energy consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at SolarCity full-time

    Pros

    Its for a just cause, freedom in work schedule and amazing co workers

    Cons

    Crazy management, at the time a seperate company was stealing our jobs and we couldnt figure out why so many projects were canceling, hutr the pay check.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on empowering employees, making threats and treating them like children is weird

    SolarCity2018-06-20
  8. "Retail energy consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Elmsford, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management was great everybody treated each other fair

    Cons

    It was a numbers game

    Advice to Management

    Don’t put so much pressure upon hiring

    SolarCity2018-06-18
  9. "Solar Installer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Solar Installer in Merced, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing opportunities. Work ends when the job ends. Panel Pay(Bonus). Great People. Absolutely loved the job.

    Cons

    Company told a location that they had work coming, but closed down on everyone. Only Downfall I saw. Honesty goes a long way.

    Advice to Management

    Honesty is key. Keep them in the know. Happy employees create great work.

    SolarCity2018-06-01
  10. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - FES in Clarksburg, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Contest that were fun. My team was like a family.

    Cons

    Constant change, that is why it was called the solar roller coaster.

    Advice to Management

    Most managers were awesome. A few hardly ever worked or came into stores

    SolarCity2018-05-16
Found 2339 reviews