KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

SolarCity

Part of Tesla
Engaged Employer

SolarCity

Add a Review

SolarCity Employee Reviews about "great company"

Updated Mar 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 391 of over 2,379 reviews

3.4
56%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
SolarCity CEO & Co-Founder Lyndon Rive
Lyndon Rive
1,624 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "They were all great people and easy to relate with.(in 168 reviews)
  • "The reward to work ratio is fantastic and the benefits are very good.(in 147 reviews)
  • "It's also pretty good pay for a starting position in this field of work when 'panel pay' bonuses are considered(in 96 reviews)
  • "Great atmosphere and culture.(in 89 reviews)
  • "Great HQ and coworkers.(in 41 reviews)
Cons
  • "Bad management and must drive your own vehicle to every jobsite(in 144 reviews)
  • "I was lucky to have a great manager but that's because he has integrity.(in 77 reviews)
  • "No training plan in place.(in 61 reviews)
  • "Commission is paid at the end of the next month after the solar installation (seems like years for most sales reps to get paid.)(in 54 reviews)
  • "Upper management is aware of this and do nothing about it.(in 51 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of SolarCity and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "great company"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great company with a bright future!

    Oct 15, 2015 - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The team is comprised of forward thinking people doing tremendous work for a great cause. Everyone seems to be willing to learn new technologies and the company is great about encouraging that. It has a startup type feel without the risks that come with being a startup. As solar becomes more and more prevalent, there are very bright things in SolarCity's future.

    Cons

    As the company grows, it is starting to get away from its roots and get more corporate. It seems like lately there has been a larger focus on making a profit and cutting costs tied to potential legislation changes and that has slowed morale a little bit.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Employee

    awsome

    Oct 29, 2015 - Direct Energy Consultant in Orange, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    SolarCity Is a great company that really take care of the customer and the employee. great company to be a part of.

    Cons

    there is a lot of accountability of your self, which you would expect from a sales job

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Disappointed after 2 years in Sales

    Feb 9, 2016 - Field Energy Consultant in Livermore, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very independent role with trust for you to preform. You can set your own working schedule. If you are hitting all your numbers you probably will not even know who your manager is. Growing company in an exciting field. Very cool to be part of an Elon Musk company and under the leadership of Lyndon and Pete. High potential.

    Cons

    Work life balance. First 6-12months expect to be working 6 to 7day weeks to build your pipeline. The attitude from higher management is what have you done from me lately. Very number focus with lack of training. They will expect you to sell 20-30 year contracts immediately out of training. Leads to a bad customer experience. A common analogy for training "its like drinking out of a fire hose." Revolving door of employment, very little team bonding. Had a since that sales people where not valued. I overheard managers saying they had to do the "Good Stuff" before letting me go. I was with the company for almost 2 years. Operations and sales still have to figure communication down fallings.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Say Yes to a better Work Place

    Jul 24, 2015 - Documentation Generation Specialist in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    SolarCity has a great culture, which stems from their core values. This is a company that cares about the world and its employers. This company is the product of some of the greatest minds and game changers in the world and it shows. The company attracts kind people that have created a comfortable, fun, and productive environment that you'll want to be a part of. Immediately I was welcomed into the SolarCity family and it just keeps getting better. I love feeling productive and that I am making a difference in the world with every job I work. I received great training and the company is constantly improving and open to all suggestions from every employee. If you want to help save the environment or just be in the fastest growing company in one of the fastest growing industries then you can't beat Solarcity!

    Cons

    Maybe I haven't been here long enough but so far there really are none. Every startup has to work through challenges especially when they grow exponentially, but here the challenges are handled with grace and a good attitude. You must be open to change to work here but that's what life is about so it's great training in acceptance and challenging yourself! The more you love a challenge and change the easier ever life will be.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Amazing, best company I've worked for in my lifetime.

    Jan 22, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Ontario, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The pay is wonderful, I have great benefits. I got my first check on the first pay day I was working, benefits after 30 days. Everyone in the company that I've that the pleasure of meeting so far is very friendly and helpful. The room for growth is exponential. And were helping the environment one family at a time.

    Cons

    Working weekends, but they are flexible in scheduling and always willing to work with you.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Chew you up and spit you out

    Dec 20, 2013 -  in San Mateo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I loved SolarCity at first. Great co-workers and my job itself was challenging and fun. And to be part of a movement that is helping our planet felt good too. I saw this company as a place I would like to retire from and I am relatively young.

    Cons

    Then the honeymoon was over. You were told you weren't working fast enough or doing enough. I was told "you don't have to work harder, but smarter." Meanwhile, tools weren't provided to do so and you ended up working long hours at a low salary pay. I worked many 10-12 hour days. People were burned out and the stress and tension in the air made it tough to work there. While I loved the employees I worked with, the lack of work/life balance really takes a toll. Management is really poor in certain departments and unless you're in sales, training is quite poor. If you have any issues or go to HR, they are no help and very disorganized as well. It's appalling as HR is pretty cut and dry and not a new industry like solar. No excuses there.

    Continue reading
    20 people found this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Field Energy Specialist - FES

    Oct 29, 2015 - FES in Sacramento, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Overall the company is flexible and willing to work with your schedule to a point. They give you all the tools to succeed - laptop, wireless gateway, backpack, etc. You will usually work in a Best Buy or Home Depot and spend you day talking to people as you try to generate leads for the company. The base pay is ok at $30k a year, with $175 bonuses if one of your leads goes through.

    Cons

    Solar City uses a shotgun approach to generating leads. They are much more interested in quantity rather than quality. This means that while you try to generate leads that will actually go through, the company is more concerned with how many leads you generate. Solar City is a company that does not seem to believe in a work to life balance. They are willing to pay for your time if you bring in review, but they will try to squeeze everything out of you if they can, and never look back. When you start working for Solar City, they will put you in the worst places to generate leads while the veterans get the choice locations. If you are willing to put in your time and grind with nothing in return, the end result is presumably a spot in the better locations, but that is not always true. This is compounded with very high production expectations makes this a hard pill to swallow.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    I'm inspired and excited to work for such an amazing company!

    Aug 22, 2014 - Senior Field Energy Consultant in Santa Cruz, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I get to get paid for supplying a service that doesn't cost anything and every day I'm saving people on their energy bills. Not only that, the service that I'm providing is helping save the environment and our planet! I also get to meet great people every day and help them join our movement toward cleaner cheaper energy. I'm can't say how proud I am to work for such an innovative and supportive company that has their head in the right game!

    Cons

    My position is a Sr. Field Energy Consultant. My job is driving around to different homes to help promote our product. It is a very demanding job. There is hardly a day that I do not function or perform my duties. Although, every day that I am working, I am doing something that I truely believe in and having fun while I do it. As much as I do work, I love my job so I don't feel like I am working.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    SolarCity Response

    SolarCity Recruiting

    We are happy to hear you share our sense of pride in SolarCity. SolarCity is a movement, composed of the “great people” you mentioned. It’s not easy saving the world and we truly appreciate the hard work you have put in. Thank you for your feedback on management. We are focusing on making sure our management team is great across the board.

  9. 4.0
    Former Employee

    A Company with Values

    Dec 8, 2014 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    SolarCity has values. Everyone cares about the emission and takes great pride in being a part of this company.

    Cons

    There is quite a bit of disorganization within the region and outside as well. Departments don't communicate well and training is lacking.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    You are a Number

    Oct 14, 2014 - Field Energy Advisor in Fresno, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Surrounded by people who really care about what they do. Everyone at Solarcity is motivated and eager to advance in the company. It is a rapidly growing company and an industry leader with undoubtedly the best notoriety in solar. The executive team is very inspiring and cares deeply about the company and the future of energy use.

    Cons

    Lower Management is often very pressuring on the entry level teams. Numbers in the sales departments and operations departments are everything. Long hours were encouraged and overtime is not awarded, though it is sometimes necessary to succeed. Morale can be low on the team because of turn over and pressure to meet minimum expectations. Often, there is a disconnect between headquarters and regional offices. The culture and enthusiasm of the executive team is not synonymous with lower management. Very cut and dry expectations.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 391 Reviews

Popular Careers with SolarCity Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at SolarCity? Share Your Experiences

or

SolarCity Photos

+ Add Photo
SolarCity photo of: Best Places to Work 2014
SolarCity photo of: SolarCity's Annual Banana Split Contest
SolarCity photo of: Enjoying some lunch in our Break Room
SolarCity photo of: Install_NY
SolarCity photo of: SolarCity Recruiters at a Career Fair
SolarCity photo of: Enjoying the weather and view at our HQ
SolarCity photo of: We take our Banana Split Contest very seriously!
See All Photos