SolarCity "great people" Reviews | Glassdoor

SolarCity Employee Reviews about "great people"

Updated Jul 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
53%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
SolarCity CEO & Co-Founder Lyndon Rive
Lyndon Rive
1,623 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay; Great People; Amazing Mission - this is a really great company to work for if you love Elon this is the place for you(in 100 reviews)

  • "Great place great people and atmosphere(in 96 reviews)

Cons
  • "No work/life balance, poor training(in 103 reviews)

  • "Sometimes you work late or long hours to accommodate customer schedules(in 77 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at SolarCity full-time

    Pros

    Great people. Great product. Management was very helpful and there are so many opportunities for advancement.

    Cons

    There weren't really many cons with working here. Maybe the working hours were a bit strenuous if you were in management but aside from that it's a great environment.

    Continue reading
    SolarCity2017-11-15
  2. "Good company, fast paced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse 

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and a great environment

    Cons

    Hectic days and unpredictable schedule

    SolarCity2019-01-30
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Solar City lacks committment to employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great enthusiasm, great people, good product

    Cons

    Micromanaged, lack a firm marketing course.

    Continue reading
    SolarCity2018-08-06
  4. "Solar Installer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Solar Installer in Merced, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing opportunities. Work ends when the job ends. Panel Pay(Bonus). Great People. Absolutely loved the job.

    Cons

    Company told a location that they had work coming, but closed down on everyone. Only Downfall I saw. Honesty goes a long way.

    Continue reading
    SolarCity2018-06-01
  5. "Great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Clerk in Pinebrook, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great technology, great people, great work.

    Cons

    Do not have any. At the time things were a bit all over the place, but that was because of Tesla Energy merger.

    Continue reading
    SolarCity2017-12-21
  6. Helpful (2)

    "if you need the experience and are ready to work hard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Department in Newark, DE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some really great people work here! Also, uncapped earning potential. Benefits are incredible.

    Cons

    no work-life balance. None. At. All. Unstable industry. Company lead by a buzz inventor; a lot of managers promoted too early/ without experience. we are paying for our past mistakes/ lack of care. Was good when the solar gold rush was rolling through this area, but be wary. Decent entry level sales experience, but don't expect to make all the money they promise you.

    Continue reading
    SolarCity2017-12-06
  7. "Working as a PV Installer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - PV Installer in Denver, CO
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working outside, great people, nice benefits.

    Cons

    Repetitive, no upper ward mobility, little motivation to stay with the company.

    SolarCity2017-11-06
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Not everything is as it seems."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Energy Consultant- Sales in Lancaster, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay. Ok Benefits. Met some really great people most if which are no longer employed by SolarCity.

    Cons

    Sales quota is difficult to meet unless you are misleading customers and/or using unapproved marketing/sales presentations. Those that make quota are put on a pedestal and management pretends they don't know about the misleading info they are providing customers. What you are told during the interview process and even in training is a far cry from what the actual job is like.

    Continue reading
    SolarCity2017-07-19
  9. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Solar Consultant in Albany, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    met great people, enjoyed doing the presentations

    Cons

    Everything would change on a daily basis

    Continue reading
    SolarCity2017-06-13
  10. "Was great most of the time get used to a lot of secrets so much for transparency that they always harp on."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Crew Lead in Chico, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, good pay, learned a lot very fast paced. Good training programs, incentives are good lots of overtime. Safety is a priority I always felt I had the right equipment to get a job done safely

    Cons

    Long hours stringent deadlines and always low manpower for given jobs. Often the right hand doesn't know what the left is doing at the same time.

    Continue reading
    SolarCity2017-06-09

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 96 reviews