Cover image for SolarWinds
Logo
See All Photos

SolarWinds

Engaged Employer

SolarWinds

Add a Review

SolarWinds Reviews

Updated Dec 2, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 991 of over 1K reviews
3.8
74% Recommend to a Friend
SolarWinds President and Chief Executive Officer Sudhakar Ramakrishna
77% Approve of CEO

Found 983 of over 1K reviews

3.8
74%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
SolarWinds President and Chief Executive Officer Sudhakar Ramakrishna
Sudhakar Ramakrishna
193 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

497

70 Comments

Tech

468.3K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=SolarWinds~100286
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of SolarWinds and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Best company I have ever worked for!

    Sep 23, 2022 - Senior Account Executive in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I think SolarWinds is an amazing place to work! I've been in the industry for over 25 years and can honestly say that this is the most fun I have ever had at work! The CEO is a man of his word and fully embodies the CARE (collaborative, accountable, ready, and emphatic) mantra. The team I'm a member of is cohesive, driven, and hard-working. We win together, we lose together, and we have fun together. The install base at SolarWinds is pretty awesome, customers love the product as it solves critical business issues and simplifies day to day operations. It is intuitive, easy to use, and cost effective. Great place to work and I would highly recommend to anyone who is looking for a challenging yet exciting opportunity!

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    A Good Place to Work for those who are Self-Starters

    Nov 23, 2022 - Technical Marketing Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    1. Talented coworkers 2. Friendly atmosphere 3. Seldom need to put in longer than usual hours

    Cons

    1. A variety of managers who have a say in what you do, sometimes with competing interests 2. Lots and lots of teams to coordinate with 3. Financial challenges in the overall IT market that are keeping the stock price low.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the SolarWinds team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Place to Work!

    Oct 31, 2022 - Recruiter/Talent Acquisition in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - People-first culture - Great work environment - Great benefits and unlimited PTO - Good work/life balance with hybrid/remote opportunities - Talented team and great colleagues/co-workers

    Cons

    None that come to my mind

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great company!

    Nov 11, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great colleagues for support role.

    Cons

    Career opportunities and advancement are slow to come by.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great experience

    Oct 25, 2022 - Treasury Analyst in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great team and company to start my career and gain experience.

    Cons

    Small teams result in a lack or growth potential.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Honestly, Don't Bother

    Nov 24, 2022 - Account Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Having been here a while, the best I can say is free lunches 2x weekly (pre-covid), coffee & snacks. And a paycheck but that's about it, sadly.

    Cons

    Not many good managers or upper leadership. Lots of power games & politics even with the new leadership. The new leadership brought in his own group of people and pushed everyone out. But cronyism still abounds with the new folks and remaining old guard. If you don't play the game and measure up as someone they think is worthy of promoting, you will get passed over and over until you either just believe them and think you have no value, or finally get fed up and leave. Not many people of color or LGBTQ, with the exception of a few they "highlight" to make sure people think they are woke. They aren't. The company has had it's heyday many years ago and will never be that again. Honestly, don't t bother.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Good company

    Oct 18, 2022 - Applications Engineer in Charlotte, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great company and pays well

    Cons

    I don't have anything negative to say

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Place To work

    Oct 17, 2022 - Account Executive 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great Customer base and the new CEO has a great vision.

    Cons

    Segmented Sales teams and it can be hard to have changes and customisations made as the org is so large

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Nice but could use some updating

    Sep 22, 2022 - Marketing 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Many resources to succeed and support from many angles.

    Cons

    Old school working from the office

    1 person found this review helpful
  11. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    It was just okay

    Sep 26, 2022 - Senior HR Generalist in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I had a mediocre experience here. pay was meh, bonus was decent, and my manager was okay.

    Cons

    The only way to get promoted is to kiss up to others.

    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 983 Reviews
</>Embed

SolarWinds Reviews FAQs

SolarWinds has an overall rating of 3.8 out of 5, based on over 1,040 reviews left anonymously by employees. 74% of employees would recommend working at SolarWinds to a friend and 65% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 9% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, SolarWinds employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.8 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at SolarWinds. This rating has improved by 4% over the last 12 months.

74% of SolarWinds employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated SolarWinds 4.0 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.8 for culture and values and 3.7 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at SolarWinds to be culture, benefits, coworkers and the cons to be career development, senior leadership, management.

Popular Careers with SolarWinds Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at SolarWinds? Share Your Experiences

SolarWinds logo
or

SolarWinds Careers

Cover image for SolarWinds

SolarWinds: We Make IT Look Easy The job of the technology professional is hard. Technology is pervasive, complex and always changing. End...More

  • We Work To:
  • Join Our Team
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

SolarWinds

48 days ago

Culture
We prioritize Solarian’s holistic wellbeing. Our Wellness group centralizes on embracing Work-Life Blend & Fostering Holistic Wellness for our Internal communities. From yoga sessions, fitness challenges, or mental health webinars, we are always encouraging Solarian’s to be the best versions of themselves.
Wellness & Wellbeing | Life at SolarWinds Series
www.youtube.com
See all

SolarWinds Photos

+ Add Photo
SolarWinds photo of: SolarWinds Global Headquarters
SolarWinds photo of: SolarWinds headquarters lobby
SolarWinds photo of: Austin Office Lobby
SolarWinds photo of: SolarWinds Headquarters Lobby
SolarWinds photo of: Return to office celebrations at SolarWinds headquarters in Austin, Texas
SolarWinds photo of: Austin Solarians celebrating being together again for our return to office
SolarWinds photo of: Return to office celebrations
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

SolarWinds Job Seekers Also Viewed

VMware Logo
VMware

4.2

9,890 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 1,040 SolarWinds reviews submitted anonymously by SolarWinds employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if SolarWinds is right for you.