Solenis Reviews | Glassdoor

Solenis Reviews

Updated Jun 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 109 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
Solenis CEO John Panichella
John Panichella
56 Ratings
Pros
  • "Very good benefits and starting salary(in 7 reviews)

  • "Well organized chemical company(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "The upper management is completely out of touch with the field employees(in 10 reviews)

  • "(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Technical Sales Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Solenis full-time

    Pros

    As an intern, you are fully immersed in the culture at Solenis. The projects I was a part of helped me gain invaluable experience that put me ahead of all my peers when looking at full-time careers.

    Cons

    There aren't any cons to this company.

    Solenis2018-10-09
  2. "Laid back, lab work, sales call"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Solenis full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Laid back, good job, supervision easy going

    Cons

    Lack of communication between management and technitions.

    Advice to Management

    Share information

    Solenis2019-06-12
  3. "A little too lean ?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Solenis full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Smaller company often offers more agility, quicker reaction

    Cons

    Sites seem very lean, concern over sustainability

    Solenis2019-05-16
  4. "Honest assessment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Mobile, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Solenis full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good technical staff, good products, good equipment

    Cons

    Slower than it should be.

    Advice to Management

    Empower the sales force

    Solenis2019-04-24
  5. "Growth opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Seattle, WA

    I have been working at Solenis full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good support from senior applications team

    Cons

    Unrealistic business plans, too slow to get things processed

    Solenis2019-04-06
  6. "Was Not Good When I Was Involved"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Solenis full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -- Fantastic internship program (how I got my start) -- Very good benefits and starting salary -- Some of the people I worked with were phenomenal and very knowledgeable in their field, whether sales, marketing or as a technical resource

    Cons

    -- Very high turnover when I worked there; a lot of people went to competitors like Chemtreat and Nalco and I eventually followed suit myself -- While the internship program is great, the training for this company is a joke; they offer sessions sporadically, but for new hires, you will struggle your first few months on the job unless you have a really good manager -- Endless decisions from the firm that bought them...

    Show More
    Solenis2019-03-20
  7. Helpful (1)

    "'Every thing on Hold'"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Solenis full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pay is good. It's a fairly agile company for one of it's size. It's a lean and flat organization with an open door policy.

    Cons

    Profitable in spite of itself.

    Advice to Management

    There is too much distraction due to the BASF merger and your people are being forgotten about.

    Solenis2019-03-14
  8. "Culture makeover"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Scientist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Solenis full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Hard working people with limited resources

    Cons

    Culture need to change in order to attract best talent . Drop the Hercules culture and progress into the 21st century. Benefits are not competitive .

    Advice to Management

    Use the opportunity with BASF merger to shift the culture to a more positive workplace.

    Solenis2019-02-08
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Commercially Challenged"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Wilmington, DE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Solenis full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good place to learn and gain functional expertise.

    Cons

    Market position is poor with better performing competitors. Leadership Team is ill equipped to bring the company forward and deliver innovation/ value to their customers.

    Solenis2019-02-02
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Run Looks for Work Elseware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Mobile, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Solenis full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    If you like change then this is the company for you. If you think it is bad just wait the splendid management team has a way to find out how to make it worse.

    Cons

    Employees are just pawns to management to obtain bonuses. Management is very short sighted and none appear to have any long term planning capabilities. There is a good old boys club and if you look at the management team many are long friends of others. They fail at one company and then they get hired at another and bring all of their friends with them. If you dont have their views then your job time is limited. Disagree...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Wake up and respect the people that fill your golden parachutes. It may surprise you that we (employee pawns) can actually achieve results and not cause you to jump from the burning plane that you set on fire if you just open your ears, close your mouths and listen.

    Solenis2019-02-22
Found 109 reviews