Solo Cup Reviews | Glassdoor

Solo Cup Reviews

Updated Jan 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 126 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
28%
Recommend to a Friend
32%
Approve of CEO
Solo Cup CEO Robert M. Korzenski
Robert M. Korzenski
61 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits(although theyare dwindling)(in 10 reviews)

  • "good people work there, that is the best reason(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management is the dirty diaper(in 9 reviews)

  • "Moving to Michigan because Dart Container Company purchased them(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Loved working here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL

      I worked at Solo Cup for more than a year

      Pros

      Managers were friendly, loved most of the people in the office that I worked with.

      Cons

      Far commute for me living in the city, but nothing really to be done about that.

      Solo Cup2015-11-09
    • "Decent job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Maintenance Technician in Augusta, GA

      I worked at Solo Cup full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Union based, off weekends, paid holiday

      Cons

      Favoritism, bad management, no overtime

      Solo Cup2019-01-28
    • "Solo Cup no longer Exists"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lake Forest, IL

        I worked at Solo Cup full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Organization was flat and the "old timers" were nice and very and eager to help the younger generation.

        Cons

        Solo Cup was not making money. Constant pressure on costs. Poor or no merit increases. Poor Benefits.

        Advice to Management

        Not Relevant. Management did not know to Manage so they sold Solo Cup to Dart

        Solo Cup2018-04-30
      • "Manager"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Manager in Chicago, IL
        Recommends
        Negative Outlook

        I worked at Solo Cup full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Salary, Benefits, work life balance, good opportunities for advancement

        Cons

        Weak management, tend not to take advice from non-manager employees

        Advice to Management

        listen to employees closer. Utilize their suggestions

        Solo Cup2017-05-08
      • "Maintenance Lead Electrician"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Supervisor/Lead Electrical Mechanical Trainer in Manchester, NH

        I worked at Solo Cup for more than 10 years

        Pros

        Almost 30 years started as Sweetheart Cup Co, formerly Maryland Cup Corp. Competitive wages and benefits.

        Cons

        Sweetheart brought by Solo and they dropped the Sweetheart branding, site closed do to foreign work @2010

        Advice to Management

        Now owned by Dart Container Corp. Looks like they kept the Solo branding, good report back from others who were able to relocate and stay with company. Review does not reflect Dart Container Corp as I was no longer working when they procured Solo Cup.

        Solo Cup2016-12-01
      • "Not terrible, but not great"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Dispute Analyst in Lincolnshire, IL

        I worked at Solo Cup for more than a year

        Pros

        - Salary is competitive - 401K - Enjoyed working with my managers

        Cons

        - Not many growth opportunities - Morale was low in my department

        Solo Cup2016-11-30
      • "Senior Benefits Analyst"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Negative Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Solo Cup

        Pros

        Good Benefits and pay. Worked with a great bunch of people.

        Cons

        Company was bought out by a competitor

        Solo Cup2016-11-21
      • "Supply Chain"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Supply Chain in Highland Park, IL
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Solo Cup for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Solo offers good benefits except for profit sharing.

        Cons

        X-Functional activities are more difficult

        Solo Cup2016-08-30
      • "A Great Company"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mount Prospect, IL
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook

        I worked at Solo Cup full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Great work environment, great benefit and health care plans, good organizational structure, all in all, Solo was a great company to work for.

        Cons

        Given the financial situation at the company, the great team of Design Engineers and new product development professionals were not able to explore new markets and create unique new products.

        Advice to Management

        New product development was always something the company excelled at. Even through tough times, the company should have still had a focus on establishing new products.

        Solo Cup2016-07-07
      • "Frightened of change"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Graphic Production Artist in Owings, MD
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook

        I worked at Solo Cup full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        I learned a lot. Very willing to train people. Had some excellent coworkers

        Cons

        Boys club. It's hard for a woman to succeed in some departments. Very conservative company, afraid of change and sometimes their own shadow. Capricious marketing department, can't stick with a decision to save their life, plus they lack communication among their own department. Very frustrating to work with. Spent many years receiving only 1% or less raise.

        Advice to Management

        Make some decisions and stick with them. Don't be afraid to try something different. Stop trying to copy competition, instead differentiate yourself in the market.

        Solo Cup2016-06-09
      Found 126 reviews