Solopower Reviews | Glassdoor

Solopower Reviews

Updated Feb 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 reviews

2.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
9%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
Robert W. (Rob) Campbell
2 Ratings
  1. "Chemical Process Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chemical Process Engineer in Portland, OR
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Solopower full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It was great experience to work at solo power as chemical process engineer.

    Cons

    Could not start production due to late installation of tools

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Solopower2013-06-19
  2. "Fail to launch"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Solopower full-time

    Pros

    Good tech and location for factory

    Cons

    Burning candle at both ends

    Solopower2019-03-01
  3. "Fast Paced but Disorganized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Process Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Solopower full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Lots of learning opportunities - Fast paced environment - Brilliant engineers

    Cons

    - Politics-heavy - Management lacks clear direction - Not process-oriented. There's always upper management pushing on deadlines while completely missing the big picture. I should add this isn't your typical rant against upper management. A lot of upper management was basically brilliant engineers who though they could run the helm of a company. They had great technical knowledge but poor management and leadership skills.

    Advice to Management

    I was here through 2010 and it was clear after the CEO change in 2009 there were cliques building in the company. There was never really a feeling of teamwork because every group seemed to just fend for themselves. Focus on teaching the team proper problem solving skills because all that's happening is people chasing problems but creating new ones at the same time. Furthermore, the disorganization is just horrendous....

    Show More
    Solopower2017-08-10
  4. "Learned a lot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR

    I worked at Solopower full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to work on first of its kind technology. Fast paced. Decent work to life balance. Some managers were highly competent and a pleasure to work for.

    Cons

    Constantly overpromised ability to deliver and seems to be perpetually stuck in startup mode. Periods of down time in between funding when you have to find ways to look busy.

    Advice to Management

    Keep at it. Figure out a way to keep the talent when the funding gets tight. Don't try to save a few dollars on location before you figure out the process.

    Solopower2016-11-29
  5. "Hardware Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Solopower full-time

    Pros

    lots of fun, great engineering team,

    Cons

    the company got shut down, I lost my job a few years ago, really sucks, was doing terrible in the market

    Advice to Management

    San Jose offices got closed down, wish they wouldn't have so I could still have a Job

    Solopower2016-01-24
  6. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Solopower

    Pros

    Nice people, fun to work with

    Cons

    Difficult start up environment...lots of ups and downs

    Solopower2015-08-21
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Too bad I can't give zero stars"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Solopower full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My co-workers were wonderful. Most of them.

    Cons

    I have never worked for such a poorly managed company. Their way or the highway. A lot of over-puffed egos and agendas. No one willing to do whatever it takes to get the start-up off the ground.

    Advice to Management

    Grow up. Trust the employees you hired to do their jobs and use their knowledge. Get over yourselves.

    Solopower2013-09-28
  8. Helpful (2)

    "upper management clueless"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Process Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Solopower full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    solar manufacturing training is helpful to move onto a new company. Hands on learning of solar processing steps and proceures.

    Cons

    Mustafa management very money wasteful

    Advice to Management

    disposal of clueless mustafa management

    Solopower2013-09-11
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Worst company I've ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Solopower

    Pros

    The company has a unique product and mostly good employees.

    Cons

    Worst management - don't know how to manage the business. After 7 years and so much spent on its infrastructure they still haven't figured out how to sell the product. Most of all they don't know how to appreciate good hard work and they lie. They are the main cause of the company failing and no one has the courage to find a better group of people to run the business.

    Advice to Management

    Have integrity and be honest. Have more transparency and don't lie.

    Solopower2013-04-13
  10. "An Example of Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Solopower full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people doing a lot of hard work on an inspired product with lots of buzz in the industry. Lots of very creative people working in disparate directions.

    Cons

    Lack of direction, bullying, grandstanding and general disorganization on the part of management. Maybe this is the norm in a start-up, but it is not helping the cause.

    Advice to Management

    Pick a direction, stay with it, and try to be professional. The higher up in the organization you are, the more gracious you need to be to the people who helped you get there.

    Solopower2013-03-09
Found 13 reviews