KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Solopress

Engaged Employer

Solopress

Add a Review

Solopress Reviews

Updated May 4, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20 of over 20 reviews

3.0
49%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Solopress Managing Director - Since 2019 Simon Cooper (no image)
Simon Cooper
3 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Colleagues are friendly(in 3 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great place to work

    May 4, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very helpful and friendly staff, everyone is very welcoming. This job has exceeded any expectations I had.

    Cons

    I'm still relatively new but so far don't have any cons to say!

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great company

    Apr 26, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lovely people, great work culture, room to progress

    Cons

    System isn’t the best and can be frustrating at times

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Ok

    Sep 27, 2021 - Administrative Assistant in Southend, Scotland
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Colleagues are very nice and friendly

    Cons

    Not great pay and awkward shifts

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Forward-thinking company

    Feb 4, 2020 - Copywriter in Southend-on-Sea, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Ambitious, progressive company. Great office culture.

    Cons

    Parking is difficult, nowhere nearby for lunch

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    It's fine but not great

    Oct 2, 2019 - Designer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good location Good variety of work

    Cons

    No lunch breaks Bad pay

    1 person found this review helpful

    Solopress Response

    Human Resources

    Thank you for your review. Firstly, we're pleased to hear you were happy with the variety of work whilst working in our design team; Solopress' design team sees a huge variety of requests from our customers and we believe they are well equipped to supply to our customers' needs. We are however sorry to hear that you wouldn't recommend Solopress as a place to work. We've made some exciting changes recently which have been guided by asking our employees what they want to see from the business. As a result of this we have implemented a PAID break, which we have seen has been hugely appreciated across the company, along with our other changes which we hope will continue to improve our working culture.

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee

    An amazing place to work.

    Apr 16, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Bright open offices. Friendly staff. Excellent chances to widen knowledge.

    Cons

    Parking. Sometimes workloads can be a little stressful.

    2 people found this review helpful

    Solopress Response

    Human Resources

    What a great review! We’re glad you feel Solopress is an amazing place to work, we think so too! It’s good to have you with us.

  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    A stop-gap job for the thick skinned only

    May 8, 2019 - Designer in Southend-on-Sea, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Friendly colleagues, always paid on time, an experience to help you appreciate your next company, free tea and coffee, great cleaner.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, Solopress is a paranoid driven boys club that believe a blanket "No" will solve any issue. Management are masters of the 'blag' who are seasoned pros at delay tactics and political truth bending to appear caring and professional but ultimately do not lift a finger unless there is a PR angle for social media. The core issues of the culture are no parking (unless you're a director or a visitor), questionable breaks and lunches, you are always monitored via CCTV and screen recording, targets are unrealistic with strict consequences, no communication from directors and management and many other more minor day-to-day issues. Probably most telling of all is the 'boys club' culture. Specific employees are favoured by management and is advertised on a near daily basis with handshakes. As expected none of which are female and there is only a single female present in management (Head of HR) amongst a heavily dominated male hierarchy. A lot of key talent has left the business as a result and it's clear to see there are many that remain only because of circumstances such as location and available working hours but are just waiting for the right time to move on.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    Solopress Response

    Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we value your feedback and are pleased to see that you found your Solopress colleagues friendly. We’d also like to thank you for giving a well-deserved acknowledgement to a member of our fabulous cleaning team. We are really sorry however to hear about your overall experience while working for Solopress and your comments have been forwarded to our Managing Director. We are committed to making Solopress a great place to work and with this in mind, have recently launched our new employee engagement survey. The survey will assist us in fully understanding what changes may need to be made to create an all-round positive employment experience.

  8. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Don't Bother

    May 6, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Your salary (no annual reviews though)

    Cons

    Strict work environment and management

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Solopress Response

    Human Resources

    Thank you for your review, we’re sorry to hear you wouldn’t recommend Solopress as a place to work. Solopress is making a lot of changes currently; we’ve just launched our brand-new employee engagement survey which we hope will give us a full understanding of where our teams feel we need to improve, but also what our teams enjoy about working here, our changes will then be based on the outcome. We’re committed to making Solopress a great place to work and look forward to our employees seeing these changes in the near future.

  9. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Only staying because of my bills

    Jan 22, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people are lovely although cliquey.

    Cons

    I’ve never worked somewhere so poorly run in my life. No breaks, unreachable stats and KPI’s, being monitored 24/7 and being told off for talking to your neighbour - it’s like being in a prison.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Solopress Response

    Human Resources

    Thank you for your review of Solopress. We’re glad you find the people lovely, we think so too! We’re sorry to hear that you feel our staff are not respected, our management team work closely to try and create the best working environment for our employees. If you feel this is not the case our HR team are always available to discuss any issues you may have. In addition, we do have a break structure in place which is communicated during our induction process, we would welcome the opportunity to go over this with you again. We really value all feedback from our staff, and we will take your comments into consideration going forward.

  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great company with great people - Moving in the right direction

    Dec 5, 2017 - Office Staff in Southend-on-Sea, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great teams, Friendly people, great IT set up, always busy and lots to do

    Cons

    No on site parking (although plenty close by)

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 20 Reviews

Popular Careers with Solopress Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Solopress? Share Your Experiences

Solopress logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

  • Designer(2)
  • Office Staff(2)

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist