Solvay Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Solvay Engineer Reviews

Updated Sep 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 24 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Solvay CEO Jean-Pierre Clamadieu
Jean-Pierre Clamadieu
11 Ratings
  1. "Great work experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Engineering Co-Op in Bristol, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Solvay for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work culture, great lab experience, great team of people from various backgrounds, super interactive atmosphere, great research environment

    Cons

    I wish I could have interacted with more people and dealt with more projects in my time there

    Solvay2019-03-03
  2. "Good Benefits, Bad Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Alpharetta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Solvay full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay, bonus, and vacation/holiday days. Average medical/dental benefits.

    Cons

    Lots of European bias that creates a toxic environment. Most Americans are not respected or given the same opportunities. Bad managers are protected by HR. Upward mobility only works if you are part of a succession plan. Work/Life balance is a joke.

    Advice to Management

    Understand that there is more than one way to do things and that non-European opinions shouldn't be trampled just because they are different.

    Solvay2019-05-07
  3. "Chemical engineering intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Engineering in Snyder, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Solvay for less than a year

    Pros

    Very friendly cohesive place to work

    Cons

    Very competitive, a lot of industry ups and downs

    Solvay2018-10-31
  4. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Chemical Engineer in Marietta, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Solvay for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is very kind and helpful. They are always willing to talk to you and answer any questions.

    Cons

    It’s difficult to tell when I’m overstepping boundaries or should not be bothering other employees.

    Solvay2018-05-30
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent company with great compensation and work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Reliability Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Solvay full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work environment Positive work culture Strong on safety and equal opportunities Great work-life balance Stellar benefits Great compensation Excellent place for engineers and professional growth opportunities

    Cons

    Little room to make exceptions to company policies Could benefit from better, more engaged mentorship opportunities

    Solvay2018-01-22
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Don't do it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Alpharetta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Solvay full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salary and benefits. You may get a job you are unqualified for. I saw a person with a high school diploma (poorly) supervising a person with a college degree and an MBA.

    Cons

    Working for Solvay Specialty Polymers was the worst career decision I ever made. If you want to be successful at Solvay, you need to spend 80% or more of your time managing internal issues rather than doing the job that you think you were hired for. I had four managers in four years. My colleague had eight managers in seven years. If you have talent and ability, look elsewhere.

    Advice to Management

    Be aware of, and follow your own rules.

    Solvay2018-02-15
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Poor Management and Strategies and a lot of interference"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Solvay full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    None that I can see

    Cons

    Managers not very technically proficient, not available to answer any questions, no leadership, never a consistent workflow process. No opportunities for training or growth. No real benefits. No safety culture.

    Advice to Management

    Get real and start hiring the right people. Set goals and performance indicators. Get training.

    Solvay2017-10-01
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Profuction Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Engineer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Solvay full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay and benefits are good

    Cons

    No all are treated the same.

    Advice to Management

    Sama standard for all the employees

    Solvay2017-08-03
  9. "Process Engineering Co-op"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Process Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Solvay for less than a year

    Pros

    Great project diversity, process engineering, and process design experience.

    Cons

    Could not complain about the facility or the work environment. I recommend Solvay for both an intern experience and a permanent hire.

    Solvay2017-02-08
  10. "Asking more from Chemistry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Site Reliability Engineer in Vernon, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Solvay for more than a year

    Pros

    Professional growth and development. Great benefits. Intelligent and prepared staff/coworkers. Excellent safety culture. Employee appreciation.

    Cons

    Internal communication. Process and maintenance support. Mitigation of irritants.

    Solvay2017-01-16
Found 24 reviews