Solvay Process Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Solvay Process Engineer Reviews

Updated Feb 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Solvay CEO Jean-Pierre Clamadieu
Jean-Pierre Clamadieu
5 Ratings
  1. "Process Engineering Co-op"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Process Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Solvay for less than a year

    Pros

    Great project diversity, process engineering, and process design experience.

    Cons

    Could not complain about the facility or the work environment. I recommend Solvay for both an intern experience and a permanent hire.

    Solvay2017-02-08
  2. "nice company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Process Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Solvay

    Pros

    nice work culture, great management, research oriented

    Cons

    politics and growth chances are less

    Solvay2016-09-20
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Fair"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Process Engineer in Princeton, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Solvay for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salary & Benefits Customer Commitment Vertical Growth Opportunities Excellent Corporate Vision Many Locations throughout North America, South America, Europe, and Asia. Dual Career Path Opportunities Available

    Cons

    Disorganized Leadership Poor Alignment and Communication between Functions and Business Units Poor Systems Integration and Planning Compartmentalized Decision Making Biased Performance Review Process Poor Practical Execution of Excellence Initiatives with Limited Resources

    Advice to Management

    Successful execution of Excellence Initiatives requires additional FTE's, as well as robust, well-organized technical systems. The corporate expectation for entities to deliver results and achieve targets for Excellence Initiatives leads to corner cutting and turning a blind-eye to negligent behavior. Two potential root causes are the direct correlation between achievement of targets and annual bonuses, and that... entities are left to fend for themselves and figure out how to implement new programs without proper resource allocation, integrated systems, or consideration for overlapping objectives from different initiatives. This causes confusion, administrative paperwork overload, one-off band-aids, and wasted resources.

    Show More
    Solvay2016-03-28
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Overall, Happy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Engineer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Solvay full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They really want to keep young talent around and it seems they are trying to liven up the environment. I work at the plant and the hours can be long if you're a perfectionist, but mostly I get to enjoy flexible coming in and leaving times. Everyone raves about our retirement plan (matching up to 9%) and it seems like there is a wide range of benefits (that I just don't appreciate yet as a young, independent... household). Signing bonus and relocation bonus were great.

    Show More

    Cons

    I think the plant is in a perpetual state of being understaffed.. but this sound like a common issue within the chemical industry. However, this presents the opportunity to be exposed to more and there is not too much micromanagement.

    Advice to Management

    Work-life balance is often said to be a focus, but I just don't see any progress in that, yet. There is a large age gap in the people employed there (<10 years and >20 years), so I think it is easy to forget that work isn't the focal point in lives of the other (younger) portion of the company. Lots of opportunity for leadership, as there are not many to compete against for the, but you have to stick with it... long-term for guaranteed success.

    Show More
    Solvay2014-06-17
  5. "Chemical Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Process Engineer in São Paulo, São Paulo
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Solvay for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Professional and personal development

    Cons

    Minimal opportunity to get work after internship

    Advice to Management

    None

    Solvay2019-02-18
  6. "Process Development Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Process Development Engineer in Lyon
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Solvay for less than a year

    Pros

    Von Anfang an wurde mir Verantwortung anvertraut, Angenehme Arbeitsatmosphaere, Sehr gute Kantine, Shuttle Service zum Arbeitsplatz

    Cons

    Englische Sprache nicht bei allen Kollegen vorhanden

    Advice to Management

    Sprachkompetenzen mehr foerdern

    Solvay2016-12-15
  7. "Un bonne entreprise dans son ensemble"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Engineer in Brussels
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Solvay full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Grand groupe avec possibilités de changement de carrière ou mutation à l'étranger, avec une certaine sécurité de l'emploi.

    Cons

    Trop de niveaux de Hiérarchie. Ce qui limite la rapidité de la mise en place des actions. Peu de compensation des déplacements.

    Solvay2016-10-06
Found 7 reviews