Sonatype Reviews | Glassdoor

Sonatype Reviews

Updated 13 May 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 30 reviews

4.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Sonatype CEO Wayne Jackson (no image)
Wayne Jackson
23 Ratings
  1. "Great small company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Development Specialist in Tysons Corner, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sonatype full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture and a great place to work.

    Cons

    Time to promotion can be lengthy.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    Sonatype2019-05-13
  2. "Collaborative , Productive & Fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Researcher in Remote, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Sonatype full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great communication since everyone is remote - Supportive and helpful team members - Team members are ready to take initiative and volunteer for tasks at hand - Knowledge sharing

    Cons

    - No 401k match - Onboarding is somewhat haphazard

    Sonatype2019-04-02
  3. "ADR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ADR in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sonatype full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great opportunities for hungry sales hunters

    Cons

    Needs more staff to cover work load

    Sonatype2019-04-02
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Best place I've worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Sonatype full-time

    Pros

    - Bottom up leadership. Engineers have tremendous influence on everything from technical decisions to development process. Few things are dictated by management. - 100% Remote - Extremely talented co-workers - Incredible growth

    Cons

    - No 401k match - No unlimited PTO

    Advice to Management

    Wayne should increase his interaction with the engineers.

    Sonatype2019-02-01
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent, high growth software business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sonatype full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Sonatype has a long history of rapid growth and is a recognized leader in its market. If fast-paced start-ups offering loads of responsibility are your thing, it is worth checking out. - While still relatively small compared to many tech giants, the size of the firm allows employees to take on many new responsibilities and to easily work cross functionally to get work done. This is a place where you can bring... your exceptional experience while continuing to learn new skills from opportunities and others around you. - The culture of the business is one where everyone strives to improve upon their success and prior results. Not many folks are happy with the concept of "let's just keep doing it the same way, because we were successful the last time around". People truly strive to be best-in-class for both development of personal and corporate benefit. - The vibe across the sales and marketing organization is positive and energetic. Our employees love working together, joking around, attending regular happy hours, and heading out to lunch at one of the local spots around Tysons. - High growth provides many opportunities to build upon successes of previous years with more resources and team members to support efforts. - The company is well-respected by its industry peers and has build a reputation of being a solid partner for many. Its community outreach efforts are second-to-none in the DevOps market. - The company boast strong net promoter scores from its rapidly growing installed base. Customers are easy to find and talk to, helping employees capture customer requirements and feedback necessary for roadmaps and sustained growth. - The company has delivered many industry first within its product roadmap which are often emulated years later by competitors. While some employees would love new products to come to market even faster -- the truth of the matter is that net new innovation is hard work.

    Show More

    Cons

    - The office space in Tysons is awesome, open, and vibrant, yet cramped. That is pretty much the result of high growth and rapid hiring. The office space is continuously expanding to accommodate the fast pace of growth. - Traffic around the DC office is similar to many metro areas...not good. Employees can take advantage of fairly liberal work from home policies, with some working from home one to two days a... week.

    Show More
    Sonatype2019-01-02

    Sonatype Response

    January 8, 2019Director of Global Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing this feedback. We are indeed rapidly expanding and our office is getting fairly tight, however, we have expansion plans underway for our Tyson's Office. This should be completed by May 2019.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Be Challenged, Encouraged, Developed, and Impactful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sonatype full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Sonatype is the most challenging, fun, and impactful company I've worked for in my career. You will work on solutions that solve interesting problems in a growing market, with leadership that truly understands (and perhaps pioneers) that market. The customers you'll be benefiting with those solutions are all around you and you probably won't realize it. You'll be working around individuals that know their... stuff and are passionate about their contributions. Your input will matter. - Relatively flat organization focusing on peer relationships rather than managerial hierarchy. - The shallow leadership org chart focuses on mentorship and development, empowering you to do what's best. - Company commitment to improvement with 10% time to work on something you think is important (a new idea, learn a new skill, etc) - 100% Remote as a company value. Leadership has a published philosophy on working remote works instead of just throwing it out as an attractive benefit. - Empowered teams. Teams choose how they work best in their own domain within a small set of company standards and minimal processes. - Grow into

    Show More

    Cons

    - Recent rapid growth has revealed some scaling issues that are still being adjusted - 100% remote isn't for everyone. - I have to provide my own coffee. - Interview process can be intimidating to some

    Advice to Management

    Continue focusing on mentorship, development, and communication

    Sonatype2018-07-24

    Sonatype Response

    January 8, 2019Director of Global Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing this feedback, we're always seeking to get better. We have recently brought on board a new VP of HR to support us as we continue to scale the business. Additionally, we hired a Director of Global Talent Acquisition who is updating our interview process. ...

    Show More
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Best job I've had, hands down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sonatype full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Non-intrusive, respectful and trusting management - Professional and friendly colleagues - Work on real, useful products that actually help our clients - Your voice counts - Fully remote

    Cons

    I guess fully remote work is not for everyone, but I know I'd rather not step foot in another office again.

    Sonatype2018-05-16
  8. Helpful (1)

    "You make an impact here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sonatype full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    innovation, Customer driven, great leadership

    Cons

    More investment in development though what we have achieved is incredible. I guess you could never spend enough!!!!!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the momentum and invest as much as you can in development.

    Sonatype2018-05-06
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Modern. By far the best. If you're in tech, you NEED to be here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Researcher in Fulton, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sonatype full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I'm amazed how well they are able to scape up the Remote Work model and maintain the consistency in maintaining the 'open' culture vibe across the company. The type of work is indeed very interesting too, no matter what team you're on! Very innovative. I specially recommend the place for tech folks - whether in software development, data, security research or product planning, since the company is a... product-oriented with big emphasis on keeping code open source. Hence the focus is on the product and using agile methodology throughout the teams as much as one can. On another hand, fantastic and smartest people to work with on uniquely innovative products and processes. And, the choice of tech stack is top notch: MacBooks, Apple peripherals, Atlassian, Google Apps/Gmail, GitHub, etc. No Microsoft Outlook or corporate products (though you may elect to receive Windows in lieu of a Mac if you'd like). Video calls are encouraged over audio whenever possible to maintain the "human" contact aspect even for remote workers! (At first this can be hard to get used to if you're camera shy, but in the long run it's definitely a better feeling).

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes there can be too much focus on the meetings and it's something that can be improved - at times productivity can be saved by skipping a few 'extra' meetings and managing time well. The benefits can certainly be improved too: especially no 401k matching / employer contribution available - which is pretty standard across companies these days. Some employers would contribute 3% anyway to your plan regardless... of your election while others would 'match' up to a certain percentage if you choose to vest.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the fantastic work! Maintain this open, friendly, technologically advanced culture we have. Refrain from making the culture more old-corporate style which is a no-no for tech.

    Sonatype2018-04-20
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Customer Success"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sonatype full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Coming to Sonatype from Corporate IT was a nerve-racking but ultimately very rewarding career decision. I was welcomed to the company and felt like I was joining a very tight night community. The company is a diverse company that supports their employees at work and at home. The companies flexible schedule and work ethic are a welcome relief from the grinder wheel of corporate America or other startups. As a... Veteran, they have continued to support my extracurricular activities and passions.

    Show More

    Cons

    With being an extrovert I do miss some of the interactions that came with going to an office.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to keep up the good momentum and listening to employees and customers. Work to keep the small company feel as we grow.

    Sonatype2018-03-19
Found 30 reviews