Sonepar Reviews | Glassdoor

Sonepar Reviews

Updated Oct 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
Sonepar CEO Philippe Delpech
Philippe Delpech
0 Ratings
Pros
  • "Paga corretamente, reconhece o trabalho executado, tem oportunidade de crescimento, est(in 11 reviews)

  • "Fretado, convenio, restaurante, ambiente de trabalho, as pessoas(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Falta de plano de carreira, acredito que a empresa poderia se mais franca com o funcion(in 15 reviews)

  • "A falta de um plano de carreira bem definido e divulgado para todos os colaboradores(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Love my job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sale & Operations Trainee in Jackson, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sonepar full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Sonepar is and the Sales and Operations Program has been an incredible experience. The company is driven by innovation that pours training and development into all of its associates from top to bottom. The work environment is inclusive, diverse and as a current employee I’m thankful to where be apart of an organization with such high morale.

    Cons

    Working for such a large organization with so many employees and locations can sometimes be challenging.

    Advice to Management

    Improvement of driving down communications to lower levels company wide.

    Sonepar2019-06-06
  2. "Staff Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Accountant in Maitland, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sonepar full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture oriented family oriented atmosphete

    Cons

    Sttessful overwhelming underpaid stressful underpaid

    Advice to Management

    More benefits more incentives .more bonus

    Sonepar2018-08-08
  3. "Human Resources"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sonepar full-time

    Pros

    Great family company with a global reach. Really care about their people.

    Cons

    Long hours and sometimes there are to many projects going on.

    Advice to Management

    Keep trusting your teams and managers

    Sonepar2018-01-22
  4. "A job to pay the bills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Charleston, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sonepar full-time

    Pros

    At times it could be a fun work environment. Your direct-line manager really has the most impact on whether it's more of a pro or a con. I had one from each category.

    Cons

    There was not a great work life balance when I worked there. We would go through implementation once every three months or so of bringing another company under the Sonepar umbrella. Perhaps things have changed?

    Advice to Management

    Really know who your top performers are. While you get a lot of information from your line supervisors, I'd encourage mid-line managers to know a little about the individual contributors directly so that you can have your own opinion and determine if there are skewed management perceptions. Not all managers have their teams best interest.

    Sonepar2017-02-10
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Okay company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounts Payable Administrator in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sonepar full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, they offer different benefit packages that accommodates most family situations Plenty of vacation and sick days. Lots of fun people l.

    Cons

    I was with this company for 8 years so there are not that many cons that I can think of except the lack of advancement for growth. Although I enjoyed my job for the 8 years I was there I had the same position.

    Advice to Management

    Open more opportunities for your employees.

    Sonepar2016-08-25
  6. "Inventory Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Sonepar full-time

    Pros

    Good team to work with

    Cons

    You have to work in an open place

    Sonepar2016-08-08
  7. "Sonepar"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Sonepar full-time

    Pros

    Great culture & working environment. Training & self-growth. Large footprint & opportunities.

    Cons

    No downsides in my personal opinion.

    Sonepar2016-02-23
  8. "Communication"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Africa, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Sonepar full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Updates are given on a regularly basis by top management. Town hall Meetings...

    Cons

    Trade secrets or information protected by employer contracts.

    Sonepar2015-01-23
  9. "Fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sonepar full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Autonomy, opportunity, training, technology, fun

    Cons

    Sometimes the support was lacking

    Sonepar2019-07-24
  10. "Good Culture, and Good Company To Gain Experience From"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outside Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sonepar full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Strong culture where everyone helps eachother out once you get to know them. -The upper management was some of the best I have seen at any company. -Big digital push to keep up with the changing times

    Cons

    I’m opposed to any company having people in management with no formal source of education and Gescan is no acception to this . To me it shows the company is just going for the lowest paid person they can find for the position and not the best candidate. Because of this the front line managers often lack in basic time management or people skills that would make everyone’s lives much easier. This is also not the... highest of paying companies which does not reflect poorly on Gescan but more the Electrical Wholesale Industry itself. With that said, Gescan is known to run lean which makes everyone stretched to the point where one person taking a day/week off has a huge impact on everyone in the branch that day.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Have more structure in place because it seemed like a free for all more times then not. I understand the need for flexible employees who wear multiple hats but it was hard to know who exactly to deal with for certain things. This also created the issue of when someone was not doing their job it was all to easy for them to pass it onto someone else and depending on your individual manager they could basically make... you do 10 different roles instead of getting to focus on what you were hired and interviewed for.

    Show More
    Sonepar2019-06-21
Found 105 reviews