Cover image for Sonic (Internet and Phone)
Logo
See All Photos

Sonic (Internet and Phone)

Engaged Employer

Sonic (Internet and Phone)

Add a Review

Sonic (Internet and Phone) Reviews

Updated Oct 20, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 121 of over 124 reviews
3.9
64% Recommend to a Friend
Sonic (Internet and Phone) CEO Dane Jasper
92% Approve of CEO

Found 120 of over 124 reviews

3.9
64%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Sonic (Internet and Phone) CEO Dane Jasper
Dane Jasper
80 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Sonic (Internet and Phone) and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great work

    Sep 20, 2022 - Field Technician in Santa Rosa, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great experience I learned a lot. Everyone I worked with was helpful and very knowledgeable.

    Cons

    Lots of commute time but that’s a given for the work.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Amazing Co Workers - Lacking Management

    Oct 14, 2022 - Manager in Santa Rosa, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Dane is one of the best people I've met, he truly loves his company and cares for his employees. The people you work with are fantastic, they make the company. Surprise... surprise.... this is no different than most other companies. Most departments at Sonic have a hybrid or remote work option. Great company if you have just graduated and need to gain experience for your resume. Sonic likes to and will promote from within, but this becomes a double edge sword I'll explain below.

    Cons

    Middle management is grossly lacking the skills necessary to effectively and efficiently execute their job. When Sonic promotes from within, the people that obtain promotions while good at their job, are not given the training or freedom they need to succeed. Nor are they empowered by upper management to actually be effective at their job. There's a new culture shift happening with the immense pressure all are under but the pressure lacks direction and standard operating procedures. As a result, cross-department coworkers are finger pointing and becoming cut throat towards one another instead of working toward a common goal.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Sonic (Internet and Phone) team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Pros and Cons

    Aug 30, 2022 - Field Sales Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Crème de la crème product and supportive management. The compensation scheme is fair and encourages top performers to give their all. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Success is largely beholden to the assigned territory. High frequency visits annoy prospects and are akin to reaping fields that haven't had an opportunity to regrow. Going to the same neighborhoods over and over again is mentally taxing. Sales contests are sometimes unfair because certain teams are working in saturated markets while others are in brand new territory.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Awesome people, but long days

    Apr 21, 2022 - Fiber Installation Technician in Santa Rosa, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everyone at the company is very friendly and wants you to succeed. They provide a work vehicle that you can take every day to and from the job sites and they pay for gas, so no extra miles or gas expenses during the work week. It’s relatively quick to get promoted as long as you’re doing a good job. If you’re efficient, you can even make extra money from doing more jobs than is expected.

    Cons

    Very long days with mandatory overtime. Oftentimes you’ll be working 12+ hour days, so say goodbye to much free time out of work. To add insult to injury, we don’t receive PTO hours on anything past the first 8 hours, so that cuts even more into any free time you could have. The tools that they provide are ok, but I’ve gone through countless drills in the year I’ve been here because they’re all used and abused before we even get them. I understand saving money and using tools until they done work, but when I get a “new” drill and it can barely drill through a stucco wall, it adds a lot of time to the job, which in turn affects any raises or promotions you might get.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Okay but Could Be Better

    Oct 6, 2022 - Network Provisioning Technician in Santa Rosa, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The benefits are great and you will work with fantastic individuals. They train on site so you'll learn something new everyday. You'll be apart of something that is really needed in our country. Growth within the company is difficult but it is still there.

    Cons

    Communication between employees and upper management could use some work, this goes with between departments as well. They are quick with write ups. The pay for the immediate area isn't favorable.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Very inconsistent

    Oct 10, 2022 - Construction Worker 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Company seems to have a lot of potential and generally people are happy to see our trucks in their neighborhood.

    Cons

    The underground construction department lacks opportunities and there’s a lack of professionalism. Management seems to prefer to hire 2 inexperienced people rather than invest in hiring recruiting/retaining 1 quality employee.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    I love it here!

    May 19, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I love helping spreading a fiber optic network that is directly competing with the current ISP monopolies. From a historical standpoint, I know I will be able to look back on my career and know I made a difference in how our country and the world communicates.

    Cons

    The company is having a hard time keeping up with its growth. We need more people to help with the build out of our fiber network.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Don’t work here

    Oct 20, 2022 - Accounts Payable Specialist in Santa Rosa, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    None since Covid ruined the company and the owner became all about making money for himself.

    Cons

    Covid hit and everything change.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Good

    Aug 23, 2022 - Management 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Sometimes it was an okay day

    Cons

    Honestly not many cons included

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great place to work

    Apr 8, 2022 - Technical Support Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very independent work and great support/training. I only ever worked remote from home so felt very independent in my ability to do work. The support leads/managers were always available if I needed any help though. They advertise career advancement and as long as you perform your share of the work, they are more than welcome to give you the opportunity to move up.

    Cons

    The pay could be better compared to other tech support positions

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 120 Reviews
</>Embed

Sonic (Internet and Phone) Reviews FAQs

Sonic (Internet and Phone) has an overall rating of 3.9 out of 5, based on over 124 reviews left anonymously by employees. 64% of employees would recommend working at Sonic (Internet and Phone) to a friend and 75% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 2% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Sonic (Internet and Phone) employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.5 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Sonic (Internet and Phone). This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

64% of Sonic (Internet and Phone) employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Sonic (Internet and Phone) 3.5 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.0 for culture and values and 3.6 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Sonic (Internet and Phone) to be management, career development, benefits and the cons to be senior leadership, compensation.

Popular Careers with Sonic (Internet and Phone) Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Sonic (Internet and Phone)? Share Your Experiences

or

Sonic (Internet and Phone) Careers

Cover image for Sonic (Internet and Phone)

For over 28 years, Sonic has been committed to changing the way people think about the internet. We’re revolutionizing the industry by...More

  • Values
  • History
  • Careers
  • Press
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

Sonic (Internet and Phone)

87 days ago

Events
Sonic has celebrated a birthday! 28 years of providing the best customer service and fastest connection possible to the home.
Shared image - Sonic
Sonic
www.facebook.com
See all

Sonic (Internet and Phone) Photos

+ Add Photo
Sonic (Internet and Phone) photo of: Front desk
Sonic (Internet and Phone) photo of: Sonic lobby
Sonic (Internet and Phone) photo of: Checking in
Sonic (Internet and Phone) photo of: Employees
Sonic (Internet and Phone) photo of: Cube art
Sonic (Internet and Phone) photo of: We take Ping Pong seriously around here
Sonic (Internet and Phone) photo of: Arcade break room
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Sonic (Internet and Phone) Job Seekers Also Viewed

Sonic Logo
Sonic

3.2

5,358 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 124 Sonic (Internet and Phone) reviews submitted anonymously by Sonic (Internet and Phone) employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Sonic (Internet and Phone) is right for you.