Sonus Networks Reviews

Updated May 3, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
92%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Sonus Networks President and CEO Raymond P. Dolan
Raymond P. Dolan
143 Ratings
  1. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Supply Chain Engineer

    Dec 10, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great People Dynamic/exciting work environment feedback taken and evaluated

    Cons

    Middle of Merger/Acquisition - downsizing everywhere lack of communication from upper levels aging workforce

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Good People coupled with new technologies

    Jan 18, 2019 - Engineer in Westford, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good People coupled with new technologies

    Cons

    Relying on metrics that ultimately results in lower quality not higher.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Senior support role

    Jan 4, 2019 - SSR - Support Services Representative in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good group of people to work with

    Cons

    Loss of direction in an effort to grow larger through mergers

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee

    People are key

    Dec 3, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people - not sure how the change with Ribbon worked out

    Cons

    Mergers never easy - not sure how things went with the Ribbon merger

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great place to work

    Sep 18, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very knowledgeable company and workers.

    Cons

    Slow to promote within the company.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Do Not Waste Your Time Here

    May 15, 2015 - Sales 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    No pros left. When started it was an amazing place to work... then tanked real fast. The culture went from enthusiastic and fun to hate life and no direction whatsoever.

    Cons

    Downsides: Everything. The money is okay, but the quota the leadership team gave was ridiculously unattainable so commissions were poor. Do not waste your time here because you will soon be very disappointed. HR does a good job with benefits and outlining what they have in order, but once you get to work, you will have no clue what you're supposed to do. No matter how many times you ask leadership, they don't know. Or they'll explain it in a passive way that makes no sense. I think the leadership team is unhappy themselves but they won't quit because who would when they make as much as they do? They do not communicate with the employees well or at all. If you make the mistake in joining this company, advice is to ride the wave until you get let go. But if you want to be happy somewhere for the long haul, go somewhere else. Trust me.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Technical Writer

    Feb 1, 2016 -  in Westford, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great team in Fremont. These guys really know the market and are some of the best VoIP/SIP engineers on the planet. The west coast operation has a very open culture with absolutely NO siloing. Great products and services.

    Cons

    Sonus was (while I was there) unable to really capture the market. Other competitors, with inferior products, have been able to execute in the market where Sonus hasn't. For the most part, people are just commodities to be bought, sold, and traded. Very little recognition for anyone except managers, directors, VPs, or if you have managed to secure a patent.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Look No Further

    Apr 15, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Westford, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The roles offered within Sonus Networks are quite challenging, but very satisfying and rewarding. The company is on the upswing and things look fantastic. The people who work here are smart and energetic. I cannot think of another company I've worked for, were I've felt so proud at the end the day. Truly lucky to have found such a great company to work for.

    Cons

    Still dealing with growing pains from past rocky years but things are getting better. Workloads are slightly on the heavier side. Trying to squeeze in 50 hours worth of work into 40 hr work week, but it is quite manageable.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Former Employee

    It was the best place on earth to work for

    Aug 9, 2010 - Senior Software Engineer in Westford, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    When I joined Sonus in 2005, I was the best decision I made. The company was having issues with SEC filings. However the engineers were top-notch. The technology was simulating. And managers were considerate. I learnt a lot from co-workers, and was able to have great work-life balance. I was given raises according to my performance, and never thought of leaving the place.

    Cons

    Come the recession of 2009, and the things went downhill very fast. The leadership changed, and outsourcing began in full swing. While I am not against the idea of finding the best talent in the world for the corporation, I was perplexed by the way the management got rid of old-timers. The SEC filing woes continued, and so did the rumors of takeover. I had bid the place farewell, although I am still in touch with the great people I met there.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good people. Okayish work. Not challenging, but once in a while product complexity will give you a kick and fun. I have done maybe 3 challenging cool projects in 10years, which is not bad. But it's people with whom you will spend 8hrs that will and has so far kept me here for last 10yrs. Not everyone is a gem, but mostly reasonable folks and few gems in every team.

    Cons

    New benefits are Genband inspired and simply suck. They are so bad, mid level employees are easily down with $10k per year of salary towards avg medical costs. In future they are going to suck more. HR is totally Genbandis and cheaper cost is their only objective.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
Viewing 11 - 20 of 298 Reviews

Popular Careers with Sonus Networks Job Seekers

Senior Software Engineer
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Sonus Networks? Share Your Experiences

Sonus Networks logo
or