Sony Pictures Animation Reviews | Glassdoor

Sony Pictures Animation Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
Bob Osher
4 Ratings
  1. "Love this place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Modeler in Culver City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sony Pictures Animation

    Pros

    Very low politics level. Respect is given and salary is very good - commensurate with the other big studios.

    Cons

    The commute. Other than that, nothing so far.

    Advice to Management

    Keep being awesome!

    Sony Pictures Animation2016-08-25
  2. "Great Place to Work (If You Don't Mind Not Having Much Input)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Video Editor in Culver City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sony Pictures Animation full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, friendly people, employees are respected.

    Cons

    - I was respected, but not necessarily trusted to do my job the right way. Was mostly a set of hands. - Most of the movies are not great. Not too proud to work on them. - Upper-level politics among executives create a TON of problems (particularly at SPE, not SPA).

    Advice to Management

    Focus on creating better movies. Trust your artists to create art.

    Sony Pictures Animation2019-01-17
  3. "Love my job; Studio has much room for improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Sony Pictures Animation full-time

      Pros

      My experience working here has been very positive. I love the people and enjoy the work. I feel supported and have opportunities to learn and grow.

      Cons

      Still feels like a new studio (which can be a good thing), but it comes with growing pains, especially with its recent expansion.

      Advice to Management

      Trust in the talent (directors/artists) to create new, unique, diverse stories and fight hard for these stories to get made. It's already starting to happen but keep fighting.

      Sony Pictures Animation2018-02-12
    • Helpful (2)

      "Production Coordinator"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Production Coordinator in Culver City, CA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Sony Pictures Animation full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      401k Great Medical & Dental Location Nice people Creative environment

      Cons

      Cliques No room for advancement; have to leave and come back to get a higher position.

      Advice to Management

      Fire the EVP of Production

      Sony Pictures Animation2017-07-11
    • Helpful (1)

      "Decent Internship Program"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Intern in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Sony Pictures Animation for more than a year

      Pros

      -You get to work alongside some of the most creative professionals in the industry -On-site cafeteria + walking distance from Trader Joes and various restaurants -Free movie screenings

      Cons

      -Lack of structure: Work consists mostly of getting food and drinks for everyone. Aside from that, you're pretty much on your own.

      Advice to Management

      Give production interns a more structured program that allows them to participate in film production beyond getting food and drinks.

      Sony Pictures Animation2016-08-30
    • Helpful (2)

      "Good Job, but opportunities are inconsistent"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Sony Pictures Animation

        Pros

        Small business/intimate environment feel in a large, global company. Proven success in animated films. Salaries are higher than competitors. Annual bonus! Good location.

        Cons

        Production teams can be cliquey and make it challenging for newcomers to assimilate. Staffing needs fluctuate greatly, so it's hard to determine possible job security, regardless of performance. Opportunities for career growth are limited. Perks are inferior, compared to competitor studios (gym, commissary, company discounts, health insurance).

        Sony Pictures Animation2016-01-20
      • Helpful (1)

        "None"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Culver City, CA

          I worked at Sony Pictures Animation

          Pros

          Excellent location and work environment

          Cons

          No downside I can think of.

          Advice to Management

          Continue the commitment to animation and television.

          Sony Pictures Animation2015-05-14
        • Helpful (1)

          "Okay while it lasted"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Culver City, CA
          Recommends
          Negative Outlook
          Disapproves of CEO

          I worked at Sony Pictures Animation full-time for more than 9 years

          Pros

          Occasionally get to work on interesting projects

          Cons

          All the work is now being outsourced or will be

          Advice to Management

          you're next

          Sony Pictures Animation2014-02-05
        • Helpful (3)

          "Great people to work with and fun job but no growth"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - APM in Culver City, CA

          I have been working at Sony Pictures Animation

          Pros

          Fantastic co-workers who are highly talented and care about their work Good benefits

          Cons

          No growth, no communication from the Sr. management

          Advice to Management

          Communicate better with your teams about long range plans

          Sony Pictures Animation2012-02-23
        • "A éviter si vous avez une éthique"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Coordinator in Vancouver, BC
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook

          I worked at Sony Pictures Animation full-time for more than 2 years

          Pros

          Bonne couverture médicale, bonne organisation de travail.

          Cons

          Une compétition rude entre collègues, pas d'entraide et pas de bonne ambiance.

          Sony Pictures Animation2018-05-31
        Found 10 reviews