Sophos Reviews | Glassdoor

Sophos Reviews

Updated Jul 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 460 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Sophos CEO Kris Hagerman
Kris Hagerman
268 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Growth is very limited in Ahmedabad(in 15 reviews)

  • "The management team does not include engineers for team outings(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome innovator with a great leadership team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sophos full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Management team that is best in the industry Great innovation on products Impressive thought leadership

    Cons

    IT is a bit of a hassle but better than before

    Advice to Management

    Get our thought leadership into the public domain. We have some brilliant folks here and should be proud to show that to the rest of the world.

    Sophos2018-05-09
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Aging products and a leadership team who only watches out for themselves."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sophos full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    some very talented people who are delivering in-spite of the SMT

    Cons

    With a portfolio of last-gen products dragging the company down, the outlook isn't great. The company is not willing to let go of the past and is stuck in conservative thinking about how to grow.

    Advice to Management

    Leave! It is time for a fresh perspective from the Board, to the CEO to all of his directs. We can still make this company a huge success if you would only get out of the way

    Sophos2019-06-21
  3. "Good product"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pre-Sales Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sophos full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good EPP and Encryption products.

    Cons

    Lack of commitment to the enterprise. They are focused on mid market

    Advice to Management

    Stay focused on your core business. If you are going to release new products make sure they at least have the features of the product that you are replacing.

    Sophos2019-05-25
  4. "Learning a ton!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software/Systems Test Engineer in Burlington, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sophos full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to work on multiple cloud platforms, learning a lot

    Cons

    Suffers from a office politics

    Sophos2019-04-12
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Bad culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior QA Engineer in Burlington, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sophos full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Can attract sharp talent. - Good interview standard. - Better HR support

    Cons

    I worked at Sophos for a short time and I can clearly see the main issues within the company. Managers are given a free hand to treat their subordinates whatever way they like. Unfortunately, in my case it was pathetic experience. My manager expected me to work during the weekends and there was no comp off. Well, they argue that working from home & Doctor's apt compensate for your work during the weekends. The problem...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Start treating your employees with respect. Give more opportunities to the HR so that they can bring these kind of issues in the front.

    Sophos2019-03-14
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Rigorous ML research culture + massive product customer base = ideal security data science research job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Data Scientist in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sophos full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The data science team, which I'm on, has very smart, hard working folks who have genuine passion for machine learning, security, and cloud engineering. Friendly atmosphere with a good work life balance and a genuine concern for team members' happiness. Seeing our models get productized is very satisfying: tens of millions of customers are protected by our work.

    Cons

    Getting models into products can be a bit slow, but this is inevitable at a large public company, and the satisfaction we get from impacting millions of customers lives positively makes it worth it.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing

    Sophos2019-01-08
  7. "Software Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Intern in Burlington, MA

    I worked at Sophos

    Pros

    Excellent work atmosphere. Regular company outings.

    Cons

    Not much that I can think of.

    Sophos2018-12-17
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Big company, lots of moving parts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sophos full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - For the size of the company things are run pretty smoothly - There was promotion from within, which was great to see. The guys promoted 100% deserved those promotions, they were awesome people.

    Cons

    - They keep changing languages. They started off in Ruby on Rails, then Java, and the last I heard they were moving to .NET - My bosses boss said, "we don't fire people, we make working here so difficult that they want to leave. If that doesn't work, then we let them go."

    Sophos2018-11-13
  9. "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Burlington, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sophos full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good company, nice people, benefits are good.

    Cons

    too many products to sell, maintain and support. pay is average. quotas keep getting higher and more unreachable.

    Sophos2018-10-11
  10. "Security engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sophos full-time

    Pros

    Good atmosphere, fast paced, great location

    Cons

    average salary and pay, long hours,

    Sophos2018-09-24
Found 460 reviews