Sounds True Reviews | Glassdoor

Sounds True Reviews

Updated Jul 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
53%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Sounds True Founder and CEO Tami Simon (no image)
Tami Simon
22 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Sales and Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sounds True full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great community, team atmosphere, amazing mission and products, positive and encouraging coworkers, great benefits and pay

    Cons

    Just a few outdated processes that need refining- they are more than open to reinvent and make old processes more efficient though!

    Sounds True2018-09-18
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Dysfunctional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Sounds True full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    People, dogs, location near Boulder

    Cons

    Management lack of integrity, disgusting work environment

    Advice to Management

    Promote from within invest in the people you hire, we're not disposable

    Sounds True2019-07-15
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Going down the tubes fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sounds True full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really great people work there.

    Cons

    The owner is burning the business to the ground. People are leaving throughout the company, and others are being let go. It's pretty clear that we're about to be sold, and the owner just wants to leave and not have this burden anymore.

    Advice to Management

    This is a sinking ship, get out as soon as you can.

    Sounds True2019-06-14
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Great people, great work, great environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sounds True full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people at Sounds True are happy to be there and they put their heart and soul into the work. The company pursues many different initiatives and is young enough that a motivated person can easily make their presence known and establish themselves. Plus, it's a dog friendly business which is awesome.

    Cons

    Leadership can feel a bit out of touch sometimes. Changes can seem to come in "over the wall" which is discombobulating and can be very frustrating when you're constantly having to adapt to new internal structures and processes. Perhaps just a growing pain.

    Sounds True2019-02-14
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Easy distracted by shiny things"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Louisville, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sounds True full-time

    Pros

    Your co-workers will become some of your best friends, culture is amazing. You can gain experience that'll be useful in your next job. Some departments enjoy relative stability, job security.

    Cons

    Amateur leaders control projects at a micro level. Value external consultants more than internal expertise. Flippant about firing people, here one day gone the next. A culture of "yes-ma'am" for the CEO and the leadership team as a whole. Don't say "no" too many times or your gone. Constant changes in direction and old process lead to long hours and a frustrating lack of direction.

    Advice to Management

    Already spent too much time trying : EOM

    Sounds True2018-12-08
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Great place !"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Event Coordinator in Louisville, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sounds True full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I really liked my team. Good management. Fun events to plan and awesome authors/musicians to work with. I loved the materials we were publishing and promoting.

    Cons

    Not so great office. Cubicles. I was swamped with work often and didn't feel the compensation matched the amount of work output that was expected of me. There was a fair amount of cattyness and weird office politics that went on behind the scenes.

    Sounds True2018-09-19
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work if you are not a pessimist."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sounds True full-time

    Pros

    Some great people, good benefits, and work-life balance.

    Cons

    High turnover rate makes things feel slippery.

    Advice to Management

    Maybe don't hire new managers that work across the nation. There are plenty of talented individuals locally, you just need to take a closer look.

    Sounds True2018-06-01
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Lovely people, amazing job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sounds True full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Sounds True is a workplace that actually cares about people and is always working toward becoming a more conscious business, both on the individual and organizational level. I really love working with my teammates and there are lots of interesting projects for me to sink my teeth in here. I love, love, love that we're truly a mission-driven company.

    Cons

    There has been a lot of growth (which is also a positive) so we're in the process of digesting that growth, and organizing in ways that will allow us to scale for the future. While this has been painful at times, I'm optimistic about our future.

    Advice to Management

    Consider upping the pay scales and bonusing people based on performance, and not just a blanket bonus program.

    Sounds True2018-01-10
  9. Helpful (10)

    "Do not work here!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sounds True full-time

    Pros

    Good genuine people for the most part, benefits are good.

    Cons

    Lots of drama, big time egos, double standard and low pay. Worst place I ever worked....it's a toxic environment......

    Advice to Management

    My advice to management is YOU F'ING SUCK! Worst place I ever worked in over 20 years. uhhh........

    Sounds True2018-02-16
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Sounds True - Could Use a Dose of What They're Selling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sounds True full-time

    Pros

    Lovely people, dogs at work, stellar content and mission

    Cons

    Awful management, confused culture, antiquated 9-5 office hours, high expectations and low pay. Almost zero promotion from within.

    Sounds True2017-12-13
Found 32 reviews