South Carolina Federal Credit Union "401k match" Reviews | Glassdoor

South Carolina Federal Credit Union Employee Reviews about "401k match"

Updated Jan 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.9
Pros
Cons
  • "I have no cons to give at this time(in 18 reviews)

  • "(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "401k match"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at South Carolina Federal Credit Union full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great 401K match, great employee benefits - education, gym, PTO, etc. People really do care about each other here, and take care of each other. Many employees who have been here +15 years, more than most places. Financially stable, which provides a nice level of security.

    Cons

    Limited dress code so if your fashion comes first, might not be your thing.

    Continue reading
    South Carolina Federal Credit Union2020-01-23

    South Carolina Federal Credit Union Response

    January 28, 2020Human Resources Team

    Really appreciate you taking a few minutes to share your feedback. We love that you highlighted not only our benefits but also the culture, where employees feel heard, valued, and cared for. While our blue brandwear may limit some of your wardrobe options, it is nice that there are so many styles (from dressy to casual) in our brandwear store, including polos, button-downs, cardigans, vests, and blouses, so team members can dress it up or dress it down to their liking. While we think you all look fabulous in BLUE, we know that there are days when employees need to express their passion for fashion; that's why we love brandwear-free days, which are awarded regularly for company-wide accomplishments and celebrations. :) Thanks again for sharing a review and for your 10+ years of loyalty and service. We'll be sure to send your feedback to senior management, as we do with all reviews.

    Continue reading
  2. "Top Notch Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in North Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at South Carolina Federal Credit Union full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Competitive salary, benefits, 401k match, career development and progression

    Cons

    I honesty have no cons

    Continue reading
    South Carolina Federal Credit Union2019-11-06

    South Carolina Federal Credit Union Response

    November 8, 2019Human Resources Team

    Thank you for highlighting some of our favorite benefits! As with all other reviews, we will also share this one with Senior Management. We appreciate your continued service to your members, and we thank you for sharing feedback about your credit union experience.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Best Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Service and Support Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at South Carolina Federal Credit Union full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits are great!!! Generous PTO, 401K match, diversity, People Helping People, Work/life balance, Competitive Salary, continuous learning.... Best of all the CEO is very involved and knows all employees by name.

    Cons

    Great advancement opportunities in larger areas, however remote Financial Centers have little room for advancement unless willing to relocate.

    Continue reading
    South Carolina Federal Credit Union2019-05-22

    South Carolina Federal Credit Union Response

    May 28, 2019Vice President of Regional Sales

    Thrilled to see another five-star review! Thank you for bleeding blue for 10+ years and for taking the time to tell others about your employee experience at South Carolina Federal. We love the pros you listed… We're so proud to be able to offer so many outstanding benefits, both traditional and non-traditional, to employees. It is true that there are more advancement opportunities in the Charleston area, where we are headquartered. Some of that is due to location, and some is due to tenure. Low turnover like we experience can be a great thing for the organization, but it unfortunately can limit some opportunities for promotion. Fortunately, we have seen an uptick in the number of promotions in remote areas this year, particularly in the Columbia area. While we understand the importance of keeping the financial centers staffed with top talent, we never want to discourage employees from growing and promoting into any position – back office roles included - particularly if the role is in an area they are passionate about. We have an intense focus on career growth and development, so it's important for us as an organization to encourage that growth, even if it means the financial centers lose an employee to a support role. It is also just as important that we compensate our employees well. For that reason, our HR team conducts a thorough assessment of each job description annually and uses a third-party compensation vendor to price jobs. They compare the credit union's roles with similar jobs in our industry and in the South Carolina market. This is done to ensure we are paying our employees at or above market. Thank you again for taking the time to submit an anonymous review and for 'bringing your passion' to help others every day!

    Continue reading
  4. "Love my work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at South Carolina Federal Credit Union part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Truly care for physical and mental health of their employees. PTO Benefits are superb. 401K match is the highest rate I've ever seen. Constantly supporting the community physically and financially. Open door policies allow you to share your thoughts and how you think processes can be improved or eliminated. Great employee rate discounts.

    Cons

    High detectable health insurance. Product rates are competitive and affordable, but tend to fall just short of what other large credit unions or banks can offer.

    Continue reading
    South Carolina Federal Credit Union2019-05-04

    South Carolina Federal Credit Union Response

    May 10, 2019Talent Acquisition Representative

    Thank you for your five-star review and for taking the time to tell others about many of the reasons you enjoy working at South Carolina Federal. We think it's awesome that you highlighted our mental health initiative (the Employee Assistance Program) and our 'people helping people' philosophy, among other benefits. Regarding your concern about medical insurance, we offer an HSA, along with a comprehensive medical insurance plan. We currently pay 100% of employee premiums and 50% of dependent premiums, resulting in an almost 60% reduction in costs for employees, and we provide $1,000 per year as seed money into employees' HSAs to help offset additional medical expenses for employees. We also offer an alternative tele-medicine provider and a robust wellness program to assist employees with their overall health goals. Additionally, employees who use in-network providers pay a discounted fee for services. Our HR team continues to monitor the healthcare market and strives to find the best healthcare option for all employees. Our HR Benefits Specialist is available for a one-on-one consultation to help you understand all of your employer-provided healthcare options. Feel free to reach out to her with any questions you may have. You also mentioned our rates... We strive to offer competitive interest rates and dividend rates, and we constantly monitor the markets we serve to ensure our rates offer value to our membership. Thank you again for the time you put into this review. As always, we appreciate your feedback and will share it with senior management.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Overworked Underpaid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at South Carolina Federal Credit Union full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You get a paycheck. The 401K match & PTO.

    Cons

    This place has truly gone down. Management does not care about their employees' well being. You have to stand up all day and when it's busy forget having a lunch (which happens often). They want you to work like a robot and don't want to give you your full break. The insurance also sucks, so despite standing all day and not having a full break don't go to the doctor because it will cost you a fortune. They also say to talk to management about any problems, but management never does anything about it. The pay is not good for all they require you to do. Work-life bakance is not good either because after being overworked all day you don't have the energy to do anything after.

    Continue reading
    South Carolina Federal Credit Union2019-01-03

    South Carolina Federal Credit Union Response

    January 9, 2019Vice President, Retail Sales and Service

    Yikes! It sounds like you're pretty unhappy at the credit union. We hate to hear that! As an Employer of Choice organization, we're disappointed to read that you would not recommend working at the credit union to others, but we'd welcome the opportunity to address your concerns. It's true that our member-facing employees on the Teller line do stand during the workday. Because of this physical requirement, employees are allowed to wear sneakers daily if they choose. If standing on your feet is problematic, perhaps you'd be interested in exploring an opportunity in the contact center, where representatives interact with members over the phone while seated. Our Talent Team would be happy to speak with you about this position, if desired. While you may be very busy during the workday, we never want you to skip lunch. That doesn't support our employee culture, and it's not the employee experience we want you to have. We ask managers to give employees one hour for lunches. If you are regularly being asked to shorten your lunch period – or to skip your lunch altogether – we want to know about it. Please reach out directly to your VP Retail Sales or to Human Resources today to discuss further. Regarding your concern about medical insurance, we offer an HSA, along with a comprehensive medical insurance plan. We currently pay 100% of employee premiums and 50% of dependent premiums, resulting in an almost 60% reduction in costs for employees, and we currently provide $1,000 per year as seed money into employees' HSAs to help offset additional medical expenses for employees. We also offer an alternative tele-medicine provider and a robust wellness program to assist employees with their overall health goals. Additionally, employees who use in-network providers pay a discounted fee for services. Our HR team continues to monitor the healthcare market and strategizes to find the best healthcare option for all employees. Our HR Benefits Specialist is available for a one-on-one consultation to help you understand all of your employer-provided healthcare options. Feel free to reach out to her with any questions you may have. Our HR team also conducts a thorough assessment of each job description annually and uses a third-party compensation vendor to price jobs. This is done to ensure we are paying our employees at or above market. Regarding work/life balance, we believe that life is what happens when you're not at work, and we encourage our team to enjoy every minute of it. For that reason, employees enjoy ample time off (18+ days per year in addition to 10 paid holidays), and Financial Center employees get their nights and weekends free. They also have several opportunities to earn additional personal time off through our wellness and volunteer programs. As you may know, we have an open-door policy. If you're not getting the answers you're seeking from your immediate manager, we'd encourage you to reach out to any level of management - to include senior leaders - to discuss your concerns. Thank you for taking the time to provide a review.

    Continue reading
  6. "Financial Support Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at South Carolina Federal Credit Union full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Generous PTO, 401k match, feels like I work with family, like a real team!

    Cons

    Understaffed, but I do believe it’s being worked on. Communication when it comes to growth.

    Continue reading
    South Carolina Federal Credit Union2018-12-06

    South Carolina Federal Credit Union Response

    December 12, 2018Vice President, Retail Sales and Service

    Thank you for another five-star review and for your 5+ years of service to your members! We love that you spotlighted the family atmosphere that employees enjoy – definitely a perk of working here! Thanks also for the feedback to management. We have shared your thoughts with senior leaders. We are absolutely working diligently to get all financial centers fully staffed. Additionally, we have several measures in place to address communication among all levels of employees. Aside from communication delivered by your leadership team, these measures include our BlueTube digital screens, our company intranet, social media, and detailed presentations from communications meetings which are shared via team huddles. If you have specific ideas about how we could improve further in the area of communication, please share those with your manager and/or your area director, or submit a Quality Idea. With regard to the Net Promotor Score (NPS) surveys, the credit union values the feedback that members provide. As a member-owned cooperative, member feedback is critical to our success. Of the six questions on the NPS member survey, only one of them affects employees personally. That one question – which asks if the representative was personally engaged while serving the member – is the only question that the representative can personally control, so that's the only one you're held fully accountable for. The other five questions affect your managers and/or the credit union as a whole. Additionally, member-facing employees are trained to encourage member feedback through the NPS survey, but they are never trained to ask members for a particular score. In fact, asking for a ten is discouraged. Employees should instead focus on the behaviors that will result in a favorable score from the member. If you have additional questions about the NPS survey, we'd encourage you to reach out to Bridget Lewis, your Member Experience Manager. Thanks again for taking the time to complete a Glassdoor review.

    Continue reading
  7. "Financial Service Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at South Carolina Federal Credit Union full-time

    Pros

    401K match, Health Insurance and PTO.

    Cons

    Poor management. This was the worst experience I have ever had with an employer.

    Continue reading
    South Carolina Federal Credit Union2019-01-09

    South Carolina Federal Credit Union Response

    January 14, 2019Talent Acquisition Representative

    Thank you for leaving a review. As an Employer of Choice organization and a Glassdoor Best Place to Work, it's unsettling to read a review like this. We're sorry to hear that your experience working here was not what you had envisioned. As with all reviews - positive and negative - we have shared your thoughts with senior management, and we wish you well as you seek new career opportunities. We hope you find one that makes you happy! Thanks again!

    Continue reading
  8. "Best Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in North Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at South Carolina Federal Credit Union full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I absolutely love working at the Credit Union for so many reasons. I’m coming up on a big anniversary next year and am so blessed to be where I am in my career. Not only does South Carolina Federal offer amazing traditional benefits like an unheard of 401k match, a generous paid time off plan, work-life balance, tuition reimbursement, adoption assistance, and much more, they also offer discounts to local businesses and really care about your health, wellness, and development. All that being said, it’s important to me that I connect with my manager and have growth opportunities in my career but also spend as much quality time with my family as possible. At South Carolina Federal, all of that is possible (and more)!

    Cons

    I have no cons to talk about!

    Continue reading
    South Carolina Federal Credit Union2018-12-03

    South Carolina Federal Credit Union Response

    December 4, 2018Talent Acquisition Representative

    What a wonderful review! It's incredible to read all of the things you love about working at South Carolina Federal. Can't thank you enough for sharing such detailed information about your employee experience with others.

    Continue reading
  9. "Truly A Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Information Technology in North Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at South Carolina Federal Credit Union full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Been here a little over a year now and it has been great. When I was interviewing I wondered what it would be like to work at a place that year after year wins "Best Place to Work" awards. I figured how much better could it be then some of my favorite past jobs that never won. After my time here, it is clear to me why SCFCU wins, it truly is a great place to work. Management is very supportive and invest in their employees. The benefits are by far the best I have ever had with a generous 401K match, generous PTO, and they even put money into your HSA account just for signing up for the insurance.

    Cons

    None that come to mind.

    Continue reading
    South Carolina Federal Credit Union2018-10-01

    South Carolina Federal Credit Union Response

    October 2, 2018Talent Acquisition Representative

    This is wonderful! Thank you for highlighting some of the things you love about working here. We're so glad to hear that you are happy in your role and that your management team is supporting your work and your goals. As with all employee reviews, we'll be sharing yours with senior management. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience with others.

    Continue reading
  10. "Financial sales representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at South Carolina Federal Credit Union full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pto, benefits, 401k match is fantastic

    Cons

    Goal pressure can be tough

    South Carolina Federal Credit Union2018-10-03

    South Carolina Federal Credit Union Response

    October 4, 2018Vice President, Retail Sales and Service

    Thanks so much for taking some time to tell others about your employee experience. So glad to read that you are pleased with the benefits you receive. We agree with you about the PTO and the 401k match... likely the best around! Regarding our sales and service culture, it is true that employees in our financial centers have goals to meet and member service survey scores to attain. We teach employees that selling with integrity begins with a service mentality. Helping our members to become financially successful involves connecting with them, providing exceptional service, and introducing them to products and services that they may not even know exist. When employees view this model as a valued service to our members, it’s a win-win for our membership. If you're struggling in the area, please seek some assistance from your management team, or reach out to the Learning Center staff to inquire about additional training that may be available to you. We want to see you to succeed! Thanks again for your review!

    Continue reading
Found 26 reviews