South Carolina Federal Credit Union Reviews | Glassdoor

South Carolina Federal Credit Union Reviews

Updated Apr 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.9
  1. "It's a Privilege to Work Here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at South Carolina Federal Credit Union full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Our culture is built on our core values of professionalism, sharing the vision, honesty, accountability, positive attitude, and teamwork. While some companies give only lip service to core values, they are truly alive here. My colleagues are amazing --seeing people bring their passion to work each day is inspiring. My role is fascinating and challenging. The credit union is thoughtful about the human elements of business, from thinking about employees and their families to members (customers) and the communities in which we operate. The benefits package is incredible and speaks to how much employees are valued. I'm proud of the work we do. I can't say enough about our CEO and the executive team. This place is led with integrity and wisdom. A career at South Carolina Federal is meaningful and rewarding.

    Cons

    There's no such thing as perfect, but I really can't come up with any cons.

    Continue reading
    South Carolina Federal Credit Union2020-04-09
  2. "Employee Centric Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at South Carolina Federal Credit Union

    Pros

    Employees and members come first. Strong, authentic leadership. Great benefit package.

    Cons

    I don’t have any cons.

    Continue reading
    South Carolina Federal Credit Union2020-04-09
  3. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Service Representative in Summerville, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at South Carolina Federal Credit Union full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Positive environment, supportive environment, great benefits, alot of charity work.

    Cons

    You have to be flexible. Able to work at other branches if needed .

    South Carolina Federal Credit Union2020-04-08
  4. "Awesome place to belong"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at South Carolina Federal Credit Union full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits, family feel, and work-life balance top notch

    Cons

    None to share at this time

    Continue reading
    South Carolina Federal Credit Union2020-04-01

    South Carolina Federal Credit Union Response

    April 3, 2020Human Resources Team

    Appreciate you leaving a review and highlighting some of your favorite things about working here. Thank you for your 10+ years of service!

    Continue reading
  5. "Best Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at South Carolina Federal Credit Union full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    SC Federal truly practices what is preached and makes employees a priority. The theme is "People Helping People" and that happens daily.

    Cons

    There is nothing I can think of!

    South Carolina Federal Credit Union2020-04-01

    South Carolina Federal Credit Union Response

    April 3, 2020Human Resources Team

    Proud to deliver a 'people helping people' promise! Thank you for sharing the vision in giving back to our members and communities.

    Continue reading
  6. "Best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Director in Columbia, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at South Carolina Federal Credit Union full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Leadership, from the board to executives to upper Management, SCFCU places more emphasis on employee well-being and advancement opportunities than any I’ve seen. Their response during these troubling times has amazed and encouraged me. I’m proud to be a member of Team Blue!

    Cons

    our culture may not be a perfect fit for everyone as it requires a selfless and collaborative approach

    Continue reading
    South Carolina Federal Credit Union2020-04-01

    South Carolina Federal Credit Union Response

    April 3, 2020Human Resources Team

    Thank you for leaving a review and telling others about our emphasis on career growth and employee wellness. Absolutely love your comment about our culture! We're always seeking top talent with a passion for doing more together and giving back to our communities. We're proud to be able to take care of employees during this trying time.

    Continue reading
  7. "The best career move I've made thus far."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at South Carolina Federal Credit Union full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, pay, working conditions, leadership, advocacy for both the employees and the membership, stability, training opportunities, our presence in the community for giving back (volunteering), communication and feeling like I belong and feel valued (contributions are recognized and ideas/suggestions taken seriously)

    Cons

    This is just feedback for future consideration: some procedures are too controlled and leaders at certain levels are not empowered enough to create win-win solutions (balancing member service with risk mitigation) based on facts and circumstances. I personally have an appreciation and understanding of the need for Process Flows. Process Flows should be treated at "guides" or "aids" to help employees conduct complicated or infrequent tasks or transactions rather than set-in-stone policies whereby there is no empowerment to override based on extenuating circumstances. When calling a support department for assistance, they often ask, "did you look at the process flow?" I don't always have time to to search for a process flow, there is not a process flow for EVERY situation and sometimes we need to rely on employees' best judgment in order to make things happen. Not everything fits in the box nicely and neatly; this is where employee and/or manager empowerment is effective.

    Continue reading
    South Carolina Federal Credit Union2020-04-01

    South Carolina Federal Credit Union Response

    April 3, 2020Human Resources Team

    Thank you for your thorough five-star review, as well as your continued loyalty and service to the credit union and our members. We love your long list of favorites. You really emphasized so many things that make the credit union a great place to work. We also appreciate your kind words about the care we've taken with employees during trying times. As you stated, suggestions are taken seriously, so your feedback about process flows and empowering managers to make decisions will absolutely be forwarded along to senior management. Feedback is indeed a gift, so we appreciate you sharing your concerns so that we can look for ways to improve the employee experience for everyone. Thank you again!

    Continue reading
  8. "Love my Employer, and they love me!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at South Carolina Federal Credit Union full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very caring, genuine, Family focused, community driven employer who is by far above the norm when it comes to walking the walk and talking the talk. Great benefits, caring management, constant feedback and nurturing for growth. Always looking for ways to enhance our footprint in the communities and SC as a whole.

    Cons

    Can’t think of one con

    South Carolina Federal Credit Union2020-03-27

    South Carolina Federal Credit Union Response

    April 1, 2020Human Resources Team

    Wonderful to read! Thanks so much for leaving a review, and thank you for your 10+ years of loyalty and service to your members!

    Continue reading
  9. "Amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Administrator in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at South Carolina Federal Credit Union full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work-life balance and incredible benefits.

    Cons

    Not a single one I can think of.

    Continue reading
    South Carolina Federal Credit Union2020-03-10

    South Carolina Federal Credit Union Response

    March 10, 2020Human Resources Team

    Fantastic to hear you're happy in your role here at the credit union! Thank you for leaving a review so others can learn more about your employee experience.

    Continue reading
  10. "Great company, great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service and Support Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at South Carolina Federal Credit Union full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Awesome 401k, they give away PTO like candy, truly do look to promote from within

    Cons

    While promotions do happen internally often, it is a very competitive landscape. SCFCU hires the best, so you are competing against the best of the best for promotions.

    Continue reading
    South Carolina Federal Credit Union2020-02-26

    South Carolina Federal Credit Union Response

    March 2, 2020Human Resources Team

    Thanks so much for your review and for highlighting your favorite benefits! Internal promotions do happen frequently. We're proud to have promoted 75 employees in 2019! But you're right... that does mean plenty of competition for those coveted spots. That's why we're happy to have lots of resources for employees to help prepare for those next opportunities, including interview/resume workshops, mock interview sessions, leadership development book clubs, and more. Appreciate your thoughts about interview feedback. Our Talent Team is committed to providing as much feedback as possible to candidates, but there's always room for improvement, so we'll be sure to share this feedback with them. As always, if you have specific suggestions on how we can improve, please reach out to HR and/or your manager. Thanks again!

    Continue reading
Found 150 reviews