South Carolina Federal Credit Union Reviews | Glassdoor

South Carolina Federal Credit Union Reviews

Updated Apr 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.9
  1. "Compassionate Leadership; Career Growth Encouraged"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in North Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at South Carolina Federal Credit Union full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Leaders are approachable, really care about employees, and want them to succeed. 401(k) and volunteer opportunities are incredible. Innovative in approach to employee retention and commitment to developing and promoting employees. In general, a fun place to work where people genuinely enjoy each other.

    Cons

    Not the place to work if you are a "my way or the highway" kind of person. You have to be committed to making life better for our members and other co-workers.

    Continue reading
    South Carolina Federal Credit Union2019-04-18

    South Carolina Federal Credit Union Response

    April 18, 2019Talent Acquisition Representative

    Thank you for such thorough detail in your review. You really highlighted a lot of wonderful benefits and perks that the credit union provides for employees. We love that you mentioned our retention efforts and our commitment to employee development. Both are essential to creating a best place to work environment. As accountability is a core value here, we will definitely be sharing your advice to management with senior leaders. We're sure they will view this feedback as a gift. Thank you again!

    Continue reading
  2. "Best Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Support Representative in Columbia, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at South Carolina Federal Credit Union full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Amazing benefits Very active in the community Great pay Paid holidays

    Cons

    No cons at this time.

    South Carolina Federal Credit Union2019-04-16

    South Carolina Federal Credit Union Response

    April 18, 2019Talent Acquisition Representative

    Fantastic to hear you are so happy in your role at the credit union. Keep bleeding blue!

    Continue reading
  3. "Definitely a Best Place to work in SC!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Service and Support Manager in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at South Carolina Federal Credit Union full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Work life balance -Generous 401 K plan

    Cons

    -I have no cons to give at this time!

    South Carolina Federal Credit Union2019-04-15

    South Carolina Federal Credit Union Response

    April 18, 2019Talent Acquisition Representative

    Thanks so much for the positive review and feedback! As with all other Glassdoor reviews, we're sharing your feedback with senior leaders.

    Continue reading
  4. "Promotes growth opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in North Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at South Carolina Federal Credit Union full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I love that growth is such a big part of employment here. There are so many areas to choose from finding your career path is easy. Our Career Development Leaders are amazing at drilling down to what your interest are and fitting you into a roll that will help you thrive. The training here is way beyond what some of my friends and family have available at their own jobs. My favorite perk right now is the Educational reimbursement provided for those interested in continued education. Life got in the way of me finishing my degree but with this program and the support and guidance I have here I am on my way to getting my bachelors!!

    Cons

    I don’t have any concerns at this time.

    South Carolina Federal Credit Union2019-03-18

    South Carolina Federal Credit Union Response

    March 19, 2019Talent Acquisition Representative

    Fantastic news! Congrats on working towards your Bachelor's degree! Thank you for providing some details about the things you love about working at South Carolina Federal. We're so glad you feel supported in your role here by both management and the HR/Training team. As with all reviews, we'll share your feedback with Senior Management. Thanks again!

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (3)

    "One of the most stressful places i have ever worked at."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at South Carolina Federal Credit Union for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent salary starting out and the 401k was decent at the time.

    Cons

    Way too much micromanagement and multiple bosses in each department who will constantly try to tell you how to do your job. It never stops. Lots of back stabbing from employees who are close to the bosses as well.

    Continue reading
    South Carolina Federal Credit Union2019-04-15

    South Carolina Federal Credit Union Response

    April 22, 2019VP of Human Resources, SHRM-SCP

    It's disappointing to read an employee review like this one. We're sorry to hear that you were not happy in your role at South Carolina Federal. You mentioned that our 401k "was decent at the time." We offer a dollar-for-dollar match up to 10% of employee salaries. Based on standards across all industries, we have found this to be exceptional. It's unfortunate that you felt micromanaged in your role here. Our senior leaders have a philosophy of hiring good people and then stepping back to allow them to do their jobs. We're sorry to hear that your employee experience did not mirror that expectation and only wish we could have known about this before your employment ended. No organization is perfect, but we do take great pride in making improvements based on the feedback we receive from employees, so we'll be sure to pass this feedback along to senior management to examine any areas where we can make adjustments. We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. Best wishes in finding a position and an organization that better meets your needs.

    Continue reading
  6. "I'm glad I stuck it out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at South Carolina Federal Credit Union full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    401k, Co-workers, PTO, Location, food trucks

    Cons

    Pay, upper management, technology, Branches are mistreated.

    Continue reading
    South Carolina Federal Credit Union2019-03-19

    South Carolina Federal Credit Union Response

    March 22, 2019Vice President, Retail Sales and Service

    Thank you for providing some feedback about your employee experience and for your 5+ years of service to our members. We appreciate you highlighting some of the things you like about the organization and the benefits we provide. As an Employer of Choice organization, It's disappointing to hear that an employee is not as happy as he or she could be at the credit union, but we'd welcome the opportunity to address your concerns. Regarding pay, our HR team conducts a thorough assessment of each job description annually and uses a third-party compensation vendor to price jobs. They compare the credit union's roles with similar jobs in our industry and in the South Carolina market. This is done to ensure we are paying our employees at or above market. We're always open to suggestions! If you have specific concerns about technology or ideas on how to improve in this area, please speak with your manager, submit a Quality idea to your Quality Team, or provide feedback directly to your IT team or to your CEO through an anonymous Woods Wire. Regarding your other concerns, it's difficult for us to provide specific feedback if we have limited details. Your senior management team strives to provide an environment where every employee feels valued and heard, so we'd encourage you to speak to your manager or to someone on your Human Resources team about these issues. Thank you again for taking the time to provide a review.

    Continue reading
  7. "Awesome generous company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in North Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at South Carolina Federal Credit Union full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Plenty of PTO; pleasant work environment, people and office overall; new employee training was very well done; I feel like my job description, after a year, was 100% successfully conveyed at the beginning and throughout this past year. The company also supports lots of training resources to hep me succeed at my job and management is very supportive. Looking forward to many more years at South Carolina Federal :)

    Cons

    I cannot think of any that affect my day to day experience.

    South Carolina Federal Credit Union2019-02-28

    South Carolina Federal Credit Union Response

    March 1, 2019Talent Acquisition Representative

    What a wonderful review to kick off our Friday! Our management, training, and talent teams will also be thrilled to receive your kind feedback. We're so happy you enjoy your role at the credit union, and we appreciate you telling others about your employee experience. Thanks for bleeding BLUE!

    Continue reading
  8. "Great Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in North Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at South Carolina Federal Credit Union full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I really enjoyed working with the people at SC Federal. I enjoyed what the organization represent and how they value their internal and external members.

    Cons

    Work hours conflicts with real life hours. If you are a full time employee and life changes for you the company does not work well with changes much. Especially if you are in a sales position.

    Continue reading
    South Carolina Federal Credit Union2019-02-14

    South Carolina Federal Credit Union Response

    February 19, 2019Vice President, Retail Sales and Service

    Thank you for a five-star review and for 10+ years of service to our members. Definitely appreciate you highlighting the people you worked with, as well as how the credit union treats employees and members alike. We're sorry you feel the schedule didn't quite work out for you. Unfortunately, it's important that our hours of operation are consistent with our members' needs. As you know all too well, that's typically Monday through Friday, 9am – 6pm. We personally hear that most employees love the work/life balance the credit union offers (several weeks of PTO each year, paid holidays, plus the opportunity to earn extra time off through our wellness and volunteer programs) and the fact that our Financial Center employees get nights and weekends off to spend time with their family and friends. Regarding the shift from full-time to reduced full-time hours, we certainly try to keep our finger on the pulse of employee needs while balancing the needs of our members and our financial centers. We have many employees whom we have been able to accommodate with reduced hours. Alternatively, we also have several part-time employees who have sought extra hours. Fortunately, we've almost always been able to eventually make that work for them. We believe that working with employees is important for morale and talent retention, but we also have to ask for some flexibility on the side of the employees so that we can continue to provide the best possible service to our members. Thanks again for your feedback.

    Continue reading
  9. "A Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at South Carolina Federal Credit Union full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have worked for South Carolina Federal Credit Union for two years. I am truly impressed with how much this company cares about our community and members. Employees are generous towards many local charities; giving both time and money. There is also an employee relief fund. It is important to management to train and promote from within. There is a lot of room for growth. Work/life balance is great. My boss is flexible with schedules and trusts our team to get our job done. There are many ways to earn extra time-off above above the standard PTO. This is the best company that I have worked for and I feel blessed to work with so many wonderful people.

    Cons

    I have no negative feedback

    South Carolina Federal Credit Union2019-02-11

    South Carolina Federal Credit Union Response

    February 11, 2019Talent Acquisition Representative

    This is fantastic! Thank you for the five-star review and for highlighting all the things you love about working here. We appreciate you sharing your employee experience with others!

    Continue reading
  10. "Just celebrated my 5 year anniversary with my amazing credit union!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Education Program Development Manager in North Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at South Carolina Federal Credit Union full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Family environment, great benefits, career opportunities, amazing leadership!

    Cons

    That I did not start working for this credit union sooner!

    Continue reading
    South Carolina Federal Credit Union2019-02-07

    South Carolina Federal Credit Union Response

    March 20, 2019Talent Acquisition Representative

    What a wonderful review! Thank you so much for the feedback and for bleeding BLUE for 5+ years!

    Continue reading
Found 150 reviews