South Jersey Industries Reviews | Glassdoor

South Jersey Industries Reviews

Updated Jul 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 35 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
South Jersey Industries CEO Mike Renna (no image)
Mike Renna
12 Ratings
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - LNG Operator 
    Recommends

    I have been working at South Jersey Industries full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Co-Workers and Management, They really work together well to get whatever is needed done.

    Cons

    Pay rate for union employees is different depending on year hired.

    South Jersey Industries2019-07-30
  2. "Overall a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant in Folsom, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at South Jersey Industries full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and work life balance.

    Cons

    Company is going through a business transformation causing many employees to leave either willingly or by eliminating positions.

    Continue reading
    South Jersey Industries2019-07-25
  3. "Once a great company, not anymore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at South Jersey Industries full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I enjoyed my earlier years there. My dissatisfaction was with how the company did a complete 360 in my time there.

    Cons

    Was a great company with a positive work atmosphere, but that is long gone. The new motto is let the long term employees leave at all cost and spread work around to whoever is left until they are completely maxed out and leave. Company started to shift when new ceo started. Employees that are left are walking on eggshells. My last 2 years we had a firing or layoff every week, it became the norm of the company. A lot of the top executives were forced to leave early, I am sure sji gave them no choice. New acquisitions, bad deals or whatever the people are still the backbone of the company. Doesn’t matter to SJI anymore they would rather outsource jobs and have consultants work there so they do not have to pay medical benefits. At the same time they want to appear like they are a great company to work for an example is the new AC building. How many jobs needed to be cut to fund this building? That is the real question. What stood out as one of the best companies to work for in South Jersey is long gone, now it is the completely opposite. I don’t think anybody there can say they are proud to work there in today’s world. Do yourself a favor and stay away. Maybe they can recover someday, but it will take a change of leadership and many years to do so. Until they are out of their massive debt they will cut every cost for employees. No bonuses, no raises, next will be higher medical, and no 401k match.. Whatever it takes, it’s a real shame.

    South Jersey Industries2019-06-13
  4. "Absolutely Toxic!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Folsom, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at South Jersey Industries full-time

    Pros

    Strong internship program Average pay / benefits

    Cons

    Where to begin...the organization is antiquated, and despite claims that they are refreshing their approach and modernizing, the same leadership that has been with the organization for years is incapable of delivering on that promise. Most of the senior leadership team has been with SJI exclusively, resulting in both younger and more tenured leaders lacking any meaningful progressive experience outside of SJI to drive change or help the organization mature. The product is a company that is running in place, throwing ideas at the wall and seeing what sticks, devoid of any long term strategic direction. The culture demonizes competition, and innovation is stagnant as a result. There is a high level of tolerance for incompetence thanks to a long tradition of nepotism, and many critical functions (Org Effectiveness, HR, etc.) spend a lot of time throwing around cliche buzz words at the expense of executing. Haphazard decision making is a constant, and leads to issues like rushed, poorly planned and even more poorly executed organizational changes. A complete lack of stability leaves employees constantly in limbo, with positions, even newly created ones, being eliminated or reorged regularly, even multiple times in the course of a year. Executive communication, when existent, is inconsistent and often misleading, and adds to a toxic environment. Couple that with a poor vacation policy and complete disregard for work life balance and you have a total bust.

    Continue reading
    South Jersey Industries2019-06-02
  5. "Worth it if given the chance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Internet Engineer in Hammonton, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at South Jersey Industries part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    3 vacation days as an intern (1 a month)

    Cons

    Service in buildings is not good

    South Jersey Industries2019-01-23
  6. Helpful (9)

    "A Polished Turd"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at South Jersey Industries full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are decent, but not great

    Cons

    Pay is below standards Micromanaging is OUT OF CONTROL! HR is only there in name The Good Old Boy Network Nepotism & Favoritism Toxic, toxic, toxic

    Continue reading
    South Jersey Industries2018-09-26
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Unethical environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at South Jersey Industries full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Categorically innovative, great portfolio potential

    Cons

    Leadership lacking in holistic expertise, appropriate business behavior across female management and staff.

    Continue reading
    South Jersey Industries2018-08-22
  8. Helpful (2)

    "A work in progress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Associate in Hammonton, NJ
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at South Jersey Industries full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, 401(k) match, flextime.

    Cons

    Working to change their culture.

    Continue reading
    South Jersey Industries2018-05-31
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at South Jersey Industries full-time

    Pros

    Excellent corporate culture and vision.

    Cons

    Relatively small company, so therefore advancement is very competitive.

    South Jersey Industries2017-09-27
  10. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at South Jersey Industries full-time

    Pros

    Good culture- learned a lot

    Cons

    I dont have any cons

    South Jersey Industries2017-06-06
Found 35 reviews