South Seattle Community College Reviews | Glassdoor

South Seattle Community College Reviews

Updated Sep 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "organized events, contacted with legislators and school administrations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at South Seattle Community College part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    friendly, good campus experience, supportive

    Cons

    budget is not very much so there was not much funding for events or classes

    South Seattle Community College2019-08-14
  2. "GEC Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Gender Equity Center Coordinator in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at South Seattle Community College full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Laid back. You get to help students with personal and educational problems.

    Cons

    Administration is unsupportive and fake. If there are sexual harrassment or serious legal issues you need reported, do not report first to school. Get a lawyer and then talk to administration.

    South Seattle Community College2019-08-31
  3. "an educational institution that disrespects education"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at South Seattle Community College part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great people to work with

    Cons

    Students who do not even have an associate degree can get paid 16 dollars per hour, part-time office staff with master's degrees at advising positions at paid 20 dollars per hour!

    Advice to Management

    Differentiate pay based on education levels and experiences. KEEP THE GOOD PEOPLE YOU HAVE!

    South Seattle Community College2019-09-06
  4. "Its a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tutor in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at South Seattle Community College part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Staff is very friendly and always ready to help.

    Cons

    I have not experienced any cons so far.

    South Seattle Community College2019-03-06
  5. "Student Success Focus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at South Seattle Community College full-time

    Pros

    People are passionate about student success. Encouraged to innovate. Staff are super friendly.

    Cons

    Pay is not as competitive. We have a lean staff.

    South Seattle Community College2018-09-05
  6. "Tutor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at South Seattle Community College part-time

    Pros

    Challenge yourself to help students

    Cons

    Easy to feel bored when no one comes in.

    South Seattle Community College2018-07-23
  7. "Library"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at South Seattle Community College full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    English kill vastly improved over time

    Cons

    Everything here was awsome, great

    South Seattle Community College2018-06-28
  8. "Tutor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at South Seattle Community College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Helping students is so rewarding.

    Cons

    When no student need help, I felt bored.

    South Seattle Community College2018-06-13
  9. "Great community to work with!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at South Seattle Community College full-time

    Pros

    Wonderful, dedicated colleagues. I work with professional technical programs and its great to help folks get into training programs that will train them for a sustainable career for themselves and their families

    Cons

    Working for public education will never make you rich

    South Seattle Community College2018-04-30
  10. "Future?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at South Seattle Community College part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Students and the important work of learning and opportunities for all are what make me come to work each day. Many instructors are collaborative, passionate, and dedicated.

    Cons

    I have serious concerns about South's long-term vision for growing in the community. Some administrators are just waiting to retire as programs face serious budget and relevance issues. Others are struggling to keep their programs going with budget cuts and decreased state and federal support.

    South Seattle Community College2018-04-23
Found 40 reviews