South University Reviews | Glassdoor

South University Reviews

Updated Sep 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 209 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
32%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
South University CEO Steven Yoho (no image)
Steven Yoho
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good folks here when EDMC perks 401K good pay(in 13 reviews)

  • "Good Benefits PTO many paid holidays(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management will scream at your admissions manager right in front of you(in 13 reviews)

  • "ALL of upper management including the Director and HR are good buddies so don't fool yourself into thinking you will get to move up(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good Atmosphere, Fair Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enrollment Counselor in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at South University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay, atmosphere, good training.

    Cons

    New insurance provider is kind of weird. No 401k match.

    South University2019-01-18
  2. "Great Students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Adjunct 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at South University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Prepared students and friendly staff

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    South University2019-09-18
  3. "Private not for profit university stabilizing and improving under independent management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Director in Round Rock, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at South University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Enjoy close interactions teaching my students on campus with small class sizes. I know my students very well and they know I am available to meet with them and assist them toward successful program completion and graduation. Enjoy interacting and working with PD colleagues and upper management in online meetings working together on administrative issues and ongoing projects.

    Cons

    Student tuition getting better but still higher than many competing state universities in local area of Central Texas and multiple online programs competing for same student population. Wearing lots of different hats difficult to get all required administration tasks completed along with a lot of ongoing weekly courses preparation and planning for recruiting and hiring experienced Adjunct faculty every Quarter,... very difficult to find and slow hiring process, due to no additional Full-time faculty positions in my department.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Better communication with faculty and staff from Administration to keep informed of various upcoming changes from corporate. This is getting much better recently.

    South University2019-08-30
  4. "Neutral Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at South University full-time

    Pros

    Excellent physical environment. Easy access for students.

    Cons

    Low salaries and lack of communication between departments. Lots of turmoil due to ownership changes.

    Advice to Management

    More strategic planning and open communication from the top

    South University2019-07-17
  5. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant 

    I worked at South University full-time

    Pros

    Consistent pay and overall routine.

    Cons

    Hierarchy shifts in the ownership of the school

    South University2019-07-09
  6. "Working fo South University"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Academic Program Director in West Palm Beach, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at South University full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good Salary no so good benefits

    Cons

    Unstable institution due to ownership transitions

    Advice to Management

    Enhance your communication with the employees and listen to their ideas and opinion

    South University2019-07-07
  7. "Pleased with employment experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant 
    Recommends

    I have been working at South University full-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedules, closed for holidays, friendly staff

    Cons

    Training for new employees could be more thorough.

    South University2019-06-12
  8. "No room for growth but great temporary job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Columbia, SC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at South University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good flexibility with your schedule

    Cons

    No room for growth in this position

    South University2019-06-05
  9. "Brutal and Heartless - 400 people lost their job on the same day!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Enrollment Counselor in Chandler, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at South University full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    My salary and overtime pay kept me working here longer than I should have.

    Cons

    Campus closed without warning. 400 people looking for work all at the same time.

    Advice to Management

    Hire Senior staff who are able to run the business effectively and prevent bankruptcy.

    South University2019-05-24
  10. "Beware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professor in Richmond, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at South University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Ok pay for the area

    Cons

    2nd buyout in 2 years everything in flux

    Advice to Management

    Recognize your workers for goodness sake! So disconnected

    South University2019-04-06
Found 209 reviews