KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Southeastern Grocers

Is this your company?

Southeastern Grocers

Add a Review

Southeastern Grocers Reviews

Updated Jul 17, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 235 of over 250 reviews

3.6
66%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Southeastern Grocers President and CEO Anthony Hucker
Anthony Hucker
69 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fun work environment and the people there were very nice(in 9 reviews)

  • "Work life balance, lots of free food, and very nice people(in 8 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Roads close to the job are very confusing and sometimes upper management were a bit rude(in 11 reviews)

  • "At first it was work life balance but they have improved greatly in this area by listening to the associates(in 10 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Place to Work

      Jun 22, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Culture, culture, culture. While grocery retail is high sales and low margin, the company makes up for the fast-paced work schedule by showing it truly cares for its associates.

      Cons

      Grocery retail is 24/7 and survives on very thin margins, so it's a constant battle to reinvigorate sales and capture more customers all while saving money.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Outstanding company that cares about their associates

      Jun 10, 2021 - Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Management works with associates (part and full time) to schedule associates for work taking into account the associates personal lives. Very accommodating if you don’t try to take advantage. If you try to take advantage of management then you need to find another line of work.

      Cons

      Some of the customers can be rude like in any business but we try to satisfy them and make them happy so they continue to shop with SEG.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      I love working here

      Mar 3, 2021 - Staff Accountant in Jacksonville, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The culture is very modern. Lots of emphasis on including everyone and not discriminate. They have a lot of groups within the company that are like clubs for LGBTQ+, African American, women, and many others. If you want to join any of them you can, or start your own. I think the pay here is pretty average, but the people I work with are wonderful. Also, we get a lot of free food from vendors showcasing their products!

      Cons

      We've had a lot of layoffs, and I think it's creating a bit of anxiety. A lot of my coworkers, and myself, have gone through a couple of mass layoffs and it's super depressing. With the closing of a large branch of our company (BiLO stores) we are expecting another one, but there will be no warning.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Great team but poor work/life balance

      Jul 17, 2021 - Regional Asset Protection Manager in Tampa, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great team and partners to work with

      Cons

      No work/life balance. On call 24/7 and expected to drop everything at any time

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company overall, experience will depend on your Manager

      Jun 4, 2021 - Proofing Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Opportunities to grow within the company Very focused on team growth and collaboration Good sense of company pride Leadership is transparent with employees on next steps for the company

      Cons

      Day to day experience depends heavily on the team you are on Longer tenured employees don't always take to younger employees well Lacks in diversity in upper management roles

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Transitioning

      Apr 1, 2021 - Store Merchandising Manager in Jacksonville, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      As the title states, my company is currently transitioning. By that I mean, we have gone from "maintaining" to "growing", and that has been a long time coming. Growth creates opportunities for advancement, although it is my belief that Covid has hindered finding and developing the right people, the opportunities still remain. Pay - I believe pay to be in correct alignment. Yes, part time pay isn't the best, but if you perform well enough, promotion remains the best way to improve your income. And as stated above the opportunities are there for advancement. How bad do you want it? A training program has produced good results helping associates transition to new roles.

      Cons

      Covid has put quite a strain on the daily operations. Labor constraints

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great Company with Exceptional Leadership

      Jun 14, 2021 - Category Manager in Jacksonville, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Extremely successful business model and associates are great to work with high morale and winning attitudes

      Cons

      Not sure what will happen with current remote working

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Good pay, top-heavy & disorganized.

      Mar 9, 2021 - Assistant Store Manager in Columbia, SC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay, PTO, 401(k) match

      Cons

      Financial missteps, uncompetitive labor budgets, lack of interest in local connections.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      You earn your pay

      May 29, 2021 - Grocery Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Usually flexible schedule, depending on number of associates

      Cons

      Few full time positions, and low part time wages

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Current Employee

      It's a good starting job

      Jun 10, 2021 - Fresh Produce Associate in Orlando, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible scheduling and you're able to help out within other parts of the store.

      Cons

      Work is either too much or too little can run out of things to do.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 235 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Southeastern Grocers Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Southeastern Grocers? Share Your Experiences

    Southeastern Grocers logo
    or