Southeastern University Reviews | Glassdoor

Southeastern University Reviews

Updated Jul 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
69%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Southeastern University CEO Kent Ingle
Kent Ingle
8 Ratings
  1. "Higher Education with Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Lakeland, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Southeastern University

    Pros

    Southeastern has a community of employees that truly cares for the students and strives to provide the best possible services for them. The atmosphere is physically appealing, as well as being warm and friendly. If you make an effort, it is easy to love working here amongst some of the best coworkers you could ask for.

    Cons

    Everyone has a bottom line; if you can fulfill your financial obligations on your take home pay, then it can be worth it since the benefits really make up a significant portion of the compensation.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to build a culture of communication throughout the university; it is on the way, but there is still a distance to go.

    Southeastern University2016-01-19
  2. "Low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Southeastern University full-time

    Pros

    People and students are wonderful

    Cons

    Academic departments and colleges are always strapped for cash, and they can't pay their employees well. However, student life and admission are always flush with cash. It goes to show the priority of a school of "higher education." Nepotism is also rampant at this school, and the example is set from the very top.

    Advice to Management

    Stop the nepotism. Don't complain that you don't have the budget because we can all see that certain departments get plenty more than others. You can pay your other workers a higher, livable wage by better spreading the budget. Oh, and stop the nepotism.

    Southeastern University2015-12-17
  3. "Ambassador"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Ambassador in Lakeland, FL
    Recommends

    I have been working at Southeastern University for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing community, and environment. Super understanding , and flexible.

    Cons

    None! I love the culture and this school!

    Southeastern University2015-10-20
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends

    I have been working at Southeastern University

    Pros

    Close-knit community, commitment to life-work balance, meal benefits

    Cons

    This is a great place to work. I have no complaints.

    Southeastern University2015-10-13
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Okay place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Southeastern University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You can be a regular FT employee and adjunct at the same time. Lunch is included as a benefit. Free healthcare

    Cons

    The pay is horrible. They make you contribute to their annual fundraiser (you do not have a choice) Parking is horrific. Students can part in staff spots but staff cant park in student spaces.

    Advice to Management

    Increase pay

    Southeastern University2015-10-06
  6. "Admissions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    College Recruiter/Customer Service Representative in Lakeland, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Southeastern University for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good environment to work in. Free tuition was great

    Cons

    Didn't pay employees well. Most had to live with roommates

    Advice to Management

    None

    Southeastern University2015-08-11
  7. "Adjunct Instructor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Adjunct Faculty in Lakeland, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Southeastern University for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Christian environment to work within!

    Cons

    I have no cons at this time.

    Advice to Management

    A willingness to diversify staff and faculty.

    Southeastern University2015-07-16
  8. "Great Place to Work in the Polk County Area"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Southeastern University part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Southeastern University has continued to grow with innovative leadership, new programs and dedicated employees. The university is a desired place to work in the area and offers many opportunities for employment to the community and to students after graduation.

    Cons

    Promotion is not always based on longevity, performance or skill set. Salaries are not always in line with responsibilities and industry standards.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to keep God at the center of the Southeastern University. Recognize the value of each employee and develop each employee to reach their fullest potential and keep those with talents and experience by promoting within the organization.

    Southeastern University2015-06-18
  9. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Graphic Designer in Lakeland, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Southeastern University for more than a year

    Pros

    Caring leadership & staff. Free lunch during the school year.

    Cons

    No lunch during the summer months.

    Southeastern University2015-05-19
  10. "Great environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends

    I have been working at Southeastern University

    Pros

    Being a student and working part time was great for my faith.

    Cons

    Nothing that I can really think of.

    Southeastern University2015-02-22
Found 47 reviews