Southern Company "great benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

Southern Company Employee Reviews about "great benefits"

Updated Sep 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
79%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Southern Company CEO Thomas A. Fanning
Thomas A. Fanning
260 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Zero work/life balance, not a lot of promotion or movement within the company(in 22 reviews)

  • "I am a computer engineer so the nuclear scene wasn't as attractive as I thought(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Southern Company full-time

    Pros

    Great Benefits. Secure and stable job.

    Cons

    Massive Company-sometimes can cause inefficiencies.

    Southern Company2018-09-03
  2. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computer Systems Analyst in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southern Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    People are great to work with, company is stable. Great benefits.

    Cons

    Some of the technology is behind the times.

    Continue reading
    Southern Company2019-09-03
  3. ""Stable" work environment with wonderful people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Project Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Southern Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people, great benefits. Fantastic internal programs, onsite gym, free parking garage parking.

    Cons

    Slow, overly conservative culture that makes it hard for new ideas to materialize. I've seen people get let go, which shows that no company, even southern is without risk.

    Southern Company2019-08-26
  4. "Service Center Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Call Center Customer Service Representative in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Southern Company full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits and bonus plan.

    Cons

    Very hard to promote, even with great qualifications. Its a who you know and who knows you environment. Your skills do not really matter.

    Continue reading
    Southern Company2019-08-23
  5. "Not the same company that I started with 20 years ago"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Southern Company full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits, especially the health insurance

    Cons

    Not loyal to workers. Dishonest upper management. No clear direction or leadership. Extremely politically correct.

    Southern Company2019-07-03
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Southern Company full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits and work environment

    Cons

    Pay is under national average

    Southern Company2019-04-02
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Changing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Southern Company full-time

    Pros

    The company offers great benefits as long as employed

    Cons

    Company changes are not as supportive of employees as their "southern style" motto says.

    Continue reading
    Southern Company2018-12-18
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Head Count Reduction Seemilngly Happening"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Systems Analyst in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Southern Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Structured environment with great benefits

    Cons

    Performance reviews seem to being used for "under the radar layoffs" for enterprise overhead no longer needed due to divestitures. Older workers bypassed for any advancement opportunities in deference to young new college grads. Older workers seemingly higher number of "layoffs" target.

    Continue reading
    Southern Company2018-09-27
  9. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Southern Company full-time

    Pros

    Great company with great benefits.

    Cons

    Company values education over experience.

    Southern Company2018-08-29
  10. "Climb the Ladder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Southern Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits. 6% 401k match, moderately priced health care, good price of LTD. Normal 8-5 work day with no calls outside of work hours. You can do the bare minimum and get paid.

    Cons

    You're working for the man. Pay is based on year experience, not performance.

    Continue reading
    Southern Company2017-10-03
Found 61 reviews