Southern Glazer's Wine & Spirits Reviews

Updated May 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
65%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Southern Glazer's Wine & Spirits CEO Wayne Chaplin
Wayne Chaplin
388 Ratings
Pros
  • "Love SGWS cool company with great benefits(in 54 reviews)

  • "Good Benefits, Good pay, Great people(in 43 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours and can't take time off certain times of the year(in 35 reviews)

  • "Work life balance is pretty unmanageable(in 22 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Southern Glazer's Wine & Spirits and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years
      Featured Review

      Family values oriented company. Best Pace to work

      Feb 22, 2021 - Manager in Miramar, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Best place to work. Excellent work ethics and company takes care of the employees very well.

      Cons

      currently I don't see any cons .

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Good

      May 10, 2021 - Sales Representative in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Salary, hours as your are off on the week end.

      Cons

      It really depends on your portfolio

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Many benefits associated with being employed by Southern Glazer’s

      May 6, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Many opportunities for advancement and career growth at Southern Glazers! This is one benefit of being employed by a large company!

      Cons

      Left Southern Glazer’s for an opportunity outside the industry. If I was looking to remain in the wine and spirits industry then I would have absolutely stayed with SG!

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Southern Glazer's Wine & Spirits Response

      Human Resources

      Thank you so much for your review! We appreciate you acknowledging the many opportunities to grow your career here at Southern Glazer's. We wish you the best of luck in your new opportunity.

    4. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Good intentioned people

      Jan 11, 2021 - Sales Representative in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Flexible. Just make sure you hit your quotas. 2. Good souls are working there. These other reps are in the trenches with you so it’s nice. Middle management was great too. 3. Autonomy 3. Middle management was very understanding and cared about their reps. They would try to accommodate you if they could. 4. The health insurance was great

      Cons

      1. No standard salary (pay raise) increase in 2020 for sales reps. Usually get a 1%-4% increase to combat cost of living increases. 2. Capped commission, or “PFP” (pay for performance). There two pay scales. The one they are switching to is $1200 base/month and potential $2000 “pfp”/month (commission), not including incentives which may be like $0-$500 a month. You can make a little more on your PFP if you go sell more than your quota, but it’s not worth the loss in potential sales for next month. 3. Very hard to get time off. Can’t take time off if too many sales reps are off, which is understandable, but not ideal

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Southern Glazer's Wine & Spirits Response

      Human Resources

      We appreciate your honest feedback about your work experience at Southern Glazer's. We will consider this as we continue to work on providing the best experiences for our employees. Thanks for your review.

    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Large company with a small company feel.

      May 6, 2021 - District Sales Manager in Napa, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company is always trying to improve through new technology and continually training employees.

      Cons

      Navigating through the organizational chart can be challenging.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Southern Glazer's Wine & Spirits Response

      Human Resources

      We appreciate you taking the time to provide your review and feedback. We're proud of the significant investment we have made in IT as we strive to provide innovative solutions to our customers, suppliers, and employees. As we consider how to continue growing our teams we understand there is potential for more improvements. Your comments help us understand where to look for those opportunities.

    6. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Poor Covid Management and Bully Mentality

      May 7, 2021 - Sales Representative in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I'm just filling this box because I have to.

      Cons

      -At the beginning of the pandemic I was given gardening gloves and a face mask made out of an old T-shirt. No hazard pay even though all other vendors and grocery store employees received some. -Bully mentality, if someone with more seniority wants your sales route they'll take it from you. -Suppliers will go over your head with your accounts to satisfy their priories. -Salary of 30k and year + incentives = 55k-65k

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      It's getting better..

      Apr 28, 2021 - Sales Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They really do look out for the welfare of their employees and prefer to promote from within.

      Cons

      Some organizational changes are happening at the moment and priorities are a little unclear.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Amazing Company

      May 5, 2021 - Sales Consultant in Tucson, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great pay with added incentives and car allowance. Plenty of vacation, sick time, and floating holidays.

      Cons

      Little room for upward mobility due to low turnover rate

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Southern Glazer's Wine & Spirits Response

      Human Resources

      We appreciate your positive review and providing us with your feedback so we can look for ways to improve our employees' experiences.

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Company

      May 5, 2021 - Store Manager in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      SGWS is like family, everyone here is a piece to the puzzle.

      Cons

      The company is growing every year and some folks don't like that.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Southern Glazer's Wine & Spirits Response

      Human Resources

      Thank you for your positive review! We couldn't agree more that we have a family culture here and our employees all play a critical role.

    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good place

      May 2, 2021 - Warehouse Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Schedule on dayshift and guaranteed 40 hours

      Cons

      Corporation dictatorship and greed. While the top made millions. The Frontline didn't get to own or buy stock in company.

      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 897 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Southern Glazer's Wine & Spirits Job Seekers

    Sales Representative
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    On-Premise Sales Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Southern Glazer's Wine & Spirits? Share Your Experiences

    or