Southern Graphic Systems Reviews

Updated May 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
41%
Recommend to a Friend
22%
Approve of CEO
Southern Graphic Systems CEO Piyush Chaudhari
Piyush Chaudhari
4 Ratings
Pros
  • "SGS had positive values which were lived by in their operations(in 12 reviews)

  • "Lots of great people there that bring a lot of knowledge to their jobs(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "The best way I could describe my time at SGS would be a deplorable waste of time as my talents could have been utilized elsewhere(in 14 reviews)

  • "No raises, not for merit or for cost-of-living(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent Benefits"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Marietta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Southern Graphic Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company has best benefits I've ever seen! My manager was amazing and always took care of her employees. We were not micro-managed, but trusted to do our jobs well.

    Cons

    Turn time on jobs was super fast and caused some stress at times.

    Southern Graphic Systems2019-05-16
  2. "Producing work at any facility around country"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Southern Graphic Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Can balance work at facilities across country

    Cons

    Communication is lost between operator and job requester

    Continue reading
    Southern Graphic Systems2020-05-21
  3. "Was once a great place to work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Southern Graphic Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    My co-workers. The best group of people I've worked with in my career. This includes the site manager and team leaders.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, I can't say the same about the corporate management.

    Continue reading
    Southern Graphic Systems2020-05-13
  4. "Loved My Job"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Office Coordinator in Louisville, KY

    I worked at Southern Graphic Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with the people at the Louisville location. Everyone worked as a team and truly cared about each other.

    Cons

    The result of Covid-19 causing massive layoffs.

    Southern Graphic Systems2020-05-11
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Ok place to work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Southern Graphic Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people. You will learn a lot from everyone you work with.

    Cons

    Lack of transparency, despite how much they talk about it's importance. Previous CEO ran the company into the ground, now lay offs are happening. I was assured my job was stable, so I refused job offer at another company, then they laid me off. If they were actually transparent, I'd have a job right now. Stop lying to your employees!

    Continue reading
    Southern Graphic Systems2020-04-29
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Would not recommend"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Southern Graphic Systems full-time

    Pros

    Good colleagues and work space

    Cons

    The company exhibited poor compensation and communication

    Southern Graphic Systems2020-05-11
  7. Helpful (1)

    "I learned a lot at SGS"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Production Artist in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Southern Graphic Systems full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Worked on a team of highly knowledgeable artists and CSR's. Had the pleasure of working with many clients and gaining experience in all aspects of print. Our local office was closed by upper management, otherwise I'd still be employed. Had no plans on leaving, all in all it was a good place to work.

    Cons

    Upper management makes decisions based off numbers alone, not talent or dedication.

    Continue reading
    Southern Graphic Systems2020-03-09
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Faulty Hiring Practices"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources in Louisville, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Southern Graphic Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I do not see any pros for working for this company aside from the interview process going quickly for a job that was eliminated soon after.

    Cons

    The office environment is not pleasing to the eye as it is a strict corporate structure and co-workers are not friendly. Management will create a position and then decide to eliminate that position soon after, which forces the employee to leave a stable job only to be laid off. The HR team is not transparent with its staff and this information is coming from someone who worked amongst the HR team. The best way I could describe my time at SGS would be a deplorable waste of time as my talents could have been utilized elsewhere.

    Continue reading
    Southern Graphic Systems2020-02-24
  9. Helpful (1)

    "I worked at SGS as a Production Artist"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Staff in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Southern Graphic Systems full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Managers didn't micro manage employees.

    Cons

    Not enough work to go around.

    Continue reading
    Southern Graphic Systems2020-01-17
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Very Uneven and Rudderless Company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Configuration Management Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Southern Graphic Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pto is nice Pay is decent Nice people

    Cons

    No solid direction Constant changes

    Southern Graphic Systems2020-01-13
Found 163 reviews