Southern Nevada Health District Reviews | Glassdoor

Southern Nevada Health District Reviews

Updated Aug 31, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 reviews

2.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
34%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Southern Nevada Health District CEO Joseph P. Iser
Joseph P. Iser
1 Ratings
  1. "worked one month under the mature job service with AARP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - File Clerk in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Southern Nevada Health District part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    interesting, staff needs help, staff ere thankful for any help

    Cons

    Staff needs help with paper work, releases them to connect with client

    Southern Nevada Health District2019-06-13
  2. "Ever had a job where you found coworkers crying in the corners of rooms on repeat occasions? I have"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Epidemiology and Disease Surveillance 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Southern Nevada Health District full-time

    Pros

    -Starting pay, benefits are excellent -Majority of staff genuinely care about clients and community (I think) -On the job training has practical applications to job

    Cons

    -Extremely cliquey -Unprofessional, inappropriate behavior during meetings is rewarded -Performance evals are contradictory and not useful -Poor morale across entire organization

    Advice to Management

    In a market that is 30% Hispanic, why is the hiring and retention rate of Spanish speaking employees so poor? In the time I worked there, 3 of the 6 Spanish speakers in a department of 60+ were terminated, or transferred to other departments.

    Southern Nevada Health District2019-09-01
  3. "Usually love it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Southern Nevada Health District full-time

    Pros

    Most folks are very nice and my department has a distinct family feel.

    Cons

    Some staff are disgruntled. Some upper management are not effective. Labor union makes it sound like everyone’s unhappy, but not everyone is.

    Southern Nevada Health District2018-05-12
  4. "Government Drama"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Southern Nevada Health District full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent Health Insurance Excellent Pay Easy Work

    Cons

    A lot of government bull

    Advice to Management

    Make your

    Southern Nevada Health District2018-04-02
  5. "Southern Nevada Health District"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Information Technology Trainer/Training Program Manager in Las Vegas, NV

    I have been working at Southern Nevada Health District full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Co-workers are knowledgeable and hard-working.

    Cons

    Management is not always responsive.

    Southern Nevada Health District2017-02-18
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Amazed at the treatment of employees and how they are blamed for the failures that are sparked from the top."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Southern Nevada Health District full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Line staff care about the communities and public they serve. Great benefits and pay. Company appears to be operating in the black now.

    Cons

    Management lack emotional intelligence. Could have been a great place to work but unfortunately even pay and benefits at times cannot mask dissatisfaction.

    Advice to Management

    Selflessness usually works best.

    Southern Nevada Health District2017-02-20
  7. "Accreditation coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Southern Nevada Health District full-time

    Pros

    Engaging with the community.

    Cons

    Scattered direction, weak infrastructure, inconsistency in actions

    Southern Nevada Health District2017-01-02
  8. "bad emplyoyer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Environmental Health Specialist in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Southern Nevada Health District for more than 5 years

    Pros

    few employees are good and friendly

    Cons

    Very poor management 95% of staffs are women and lack diversity Too much Gossips

    Southern Nevada Health District2016-12-08
  9. "Case Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Case Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Southern Nevada Health District

    Pros

    Excellent Benefits. Area is in a central location.

    Cons

    Very behind on technology, and thinking. Not progressive at all. I was recruited from another state because there are not enough qualified people. A lot of down time,which makes it a great place for lazy people. The lazy people benefit for sure, because they can get away with 8 hours a day of doing absolutely nothing and still getting benefits, and they keep advancing. I guess that comment can be considered a... "pro" for some.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Start looking towards successful public health agencies in other states and follow their patterns. If there is not enough work for some people, then downsize and pay the employees that remain more in terms of salary.

    Southern Nevada Health District2016-05-12
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Cut Throat Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Manager in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Southern Nevada Health District full-time

    Pros

    Government job with all of the government job perks. Many employees are extremely dedicated, sincerely care about the health of the public, and work very hard to do a good job. For these reasons I reluctantly give my review one star.

    Cons

    There are employees who have been there way too long, and because of the labor contract, make way too much money for doing a lot of nothing. Used to be a decent place to work but upper management is a complete mess and has been for several years. Back stabbing, unethical and immature behavior at the top is very prevalent and trickles down and affects the behavior of employees in the overall work environment. ... Never have I worked in a more negative and toxic environment inspired from the top down.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    No point to it. To the BOH - wise up and get rid of the people at the top and replace them with professionals.

    Southern Nevada Health District2016-05-23
Found 16 reviews