Cover image for Southern Poverty Law Center
Logo

Southern Poverty Law Center

Is this your company?

Southern Poverty Law Center

Add a Review

Southern Poverty Law Center Reviews

Updated Apr 28, 2023

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 95 of over 104 reviews
2.5
29% Recommend to a Friend
35% Approve of CEO

Found 95 of over 104 reviews

2.5
29%
Recommend to a Friend
35%
Approve of CEO
Southern Poverty Law Center President and CEO Margaret Huang (no image)
Margaret Huang
27 Ratings

The latest conversations about Law

Join the conversation on

Law

141.1K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/law/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Southern Poverty Law Center~16443
Join the conversation on

Got a burning question about Southern Poverty Law Center? Just ask!

On Fishbowl, you can share insights and advice anonymously with Southern Poverty Law Center employees and get real answers from people on the inside.

What's Fishbowl
Ask a Question

What are your colleagues talking about?

Find your private company bowl on Fishbowl, join the hottest conversation with your colleagues anonymously.
Join the Conversation

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Benefits are good.(in 23 reviews)
  • "Union, committed colleagues, important work(in 5 reviews)
  • "Great people, good environment, they genuinely care about you understanding what's happening(in 5 reviews)
  • "workers, and decent pay.(in 4 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Southern Poverty Law Center and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Wonderful Place to Work

    Apr 28, 2023 - Anonymous Employee in Montgomery, AL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Most employees are great. They're committed to the work we do and you can feel their passion. Pay and benefits are out of this world fantastic.

    Cons

    Union representation is overly and unnecessarily negative.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Getting better

    Apr 3, 2023 - Director of IT Operations in Atlanta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    SPLC has definitely taken steps towards the improvement of the employee experience. Various different programs are in flight to capture feedback, input, and action items. They are making the investment and change is underway.

    Cons

    I would say for those who may have had a less-than-ideal experience, a shift in the leadership for good was in the works

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Southern Poverty Law Center team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Some moments of light — but overall a dark, harmful environment

    Jul 10, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I met many incredible people during my time at the center, and I had some awesome opportunities. Also, one of my supervisors who had been at SPLC for several years was absolutely wonderful, a great leader and communicator, and someone who actually saw me as a human (something I didn't experience from upper management or my other supervisor and some former colleagues). The benefits are decent, but are sometimes unclear--as are the policies and procedures.

    Cons

    I had one supervisor who was absolutely horrendous, never acknowledged her position of power, got defensive anytime I tried to have an honest conversation with her, and caused my mental health to deteriorate for months on end. Also, several managers and folks in upper management commonly lies, gaslights, and is inconsistent and harmful to many people. The stories I've heard from colleagues throughout the center (many of whom who left due to mental health reasons and/or were essentially forced out) are heart wrenching. I spoke to many of these concerns during my exit interview. And the HR person's response was completely rude, dismissive, and—of course—straight up gaslighting. SPLC management cares about their own image and money from rich donors. Their employees? Not so much.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Extremely toxic

    Apr 7, 2023 - Attorney 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are no pros for being there.

    Cons

    Racist; sexist; classist; just awful.

    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Legal

    Mar 14, 2023 - Litigation Paralegal in Atlanta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Has really good employee benefits

    Cons

    Does not pay the employees enough

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    I'm sorry I worked here - lesson learned

    Nov 21, 2022 - Administrative in Montgomery, AL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I liked many of my colleagues.

    Cons

    Things were so bad, the employees formed a union. Unfortunately, things are not much better now. Management still has all the power and employees are scapegoated and treated poorly. I would not recommend working here to anyone.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    One needs to hire an SPLC to sue the SPLC for mistreating their employees

    Feb 15, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Wonderful colleagues Good cause Good benefits

    Cons

    Where do I start? This is the place where morale, trust and ambition die. Lying in your face is the norm from management and HR. If you are one of the few lucky ones with a competent and honest supervisor and did not run into issues with HR (their processes -lack thereof- and responses to concerns are notoriously arbitrary), then you'll be fine, the overall toxicity and terrible leadership will demoralize you sometimes but it won't crush your soul. If you are one of very many who are cursed with an incompetent manager, who covers up for their incompetence with lies, this place will give you serious trauma and shock that such chaotic and corrupt place can ever be in business. I read the many terrible reviews when I was interviewing but I thought things can't be that bad at this pioneering civil rights organization. I wish I listened; the distrust and cynicism that result from such corrupt environment scarred me deep. I will be taking long time off before I'm ready to trust any manager again. If you read this I hope you take all the red flags waiving high here seriously and you stay away.

    14 people found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee

    horrible

    Nov 15, 2022 - Legal 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    horrible management, horrible teams, horrible culture. there are no pros.

    Cons

    everything was a con. it was a truly traumatizing experience to work there

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Turmoil

    Jul 13, 2022 - Office Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Excellent benefits with a retirement plan, salary for the position was above market for the city

    Cons

    Turmoil, so much infighting related to marginalized staff being treated worse than the communities they were there to serve

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  11. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Toxic culture

    Oct 3, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Colleagues who do amazing work.

    Cons

    Management/leadership is very toxic and the culture was terrible

    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 95 Reviews
</>Embed

Southern Poverty Law Center Reviews FAQs

Southern Poverty Law Center has an overall rating of 2.5 out of 5, based on over 104 reviews left anonymously by employees. 29% of employees would recommend working at Southern Poverty Law Center to a friend and 34% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 10% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Southern Poverty Law Center employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.2 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Southern Poverty Law Center. This rating has improved by 3% over the last 12 months.

29% of Southern Poverty Law Center employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Southern Poverty Law Center 2.7 out of 5 for work life balance, 2.2 for culture and values and 2.3 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Southern Poverty Law Center to be career development, coworkers, benefits and the cons to be diversity and inclusion, senior leadership, management.

Popular Careers with Southern Poverty Law Center Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Southern Poverty Law Center? Share Your Experiences

Southern Poverty Law Center logo

Southern Poverty Law Center

or

Reviews by Job Title

Southern Poverty Law Center Photos

+ Add Photo
Southern Poverty Law Center photo of: SPLC Montgomery Office
Southern Poverty Law Center photo of: SPLC Civil Rights Memorial and Center
Southern Poverty Law Center photo of: SPLC Montgomery Office
Southern Poverty Law Center photo of: SPLC Montgomery Office
Southern Poverty Law Center photo of: SPLC Montgomery Office
Southern Poverty Law Center photo of: SPLC Montgomery Office

Have you worked here?

See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Southern Poverty Law Center Job Seekers Also Viewed

American Civil Liberties Union Logo
American Civil Liberties Union

3.6

327 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 104 Southern Poverty Law Center reviews submitted anonymously by Southern Poverty Law Center employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Southern Poverty Law Center is right for you.